Slacker Logo



Fantasia Barrino may have won the third season of American Idol with "I Believe," but it was her passionate take on George Gershwin's "Summertime" that had everyone talking for weeks. Confident to a degree that she could be considered brash, Barrino at first glance seemed an unlikely candidate to take the teen-oriented show's title, but with her dynamic gospel-tinged voice that never failed her, she not only became the Idol judges' obvious favorite, but the American public's, too. She debuted with a platinum album and remained with a major label longer than most other Idol stars and R&B singers. Born and raised in High Point, North Carolina, Barrino fell in love with music through the recordings of Monica, Brandy, Aretha Franklin, P!nk, and -- in keeping with her diversity -- Aerosmith. Being a 19-year-old single mother and an Idol finalist had some of the media mumbling and sneering, but the always certain Barrino paid no mind. Becoming a mother at the age of 17 focused Barrino and gave her the strength and drive to audition for the show in Atlanta. Out of 70,000 hopefuls, Barrino earned her way to the top by adjusting her style to whatever genre was thrown at her. Upon beating runner-up Diana DeGarmo, Barrino's first words as American Idol 2004 were "I broke my shoe!" Numerous appearances on talk shows and a cameo on the television show American Dreams -- playing the role of her beloved Aretha Franklin -- followed. Barrino made history when she became the first artist ever to debut at number one with her first single, "I Believe" -- written by Idol alum Tamyra Gray. J Records released her full-length debut, Free Yourself, in November 2004. Also featuring two Top Five R&B/Hip-Hop hits, it went platinum, and its lead single won a Billboard Music Award for Top Selling Single of the Year. Barrino was also nominated for three Grammy Awards. A year later her autobiography, Life Is Not a Fairy Tale, appeared and was turned into a film directed by Debbie Allen; it premiered on the Lifetime cable network in 2006. Her sophomore effort, simply titled Fantasia, landed that December. It debuted at number 19 on the Billboard 200 and eventually went gold. Back to Me, released in August 2010, was led by a pair of Chuck Harmony-produced singles in "I'm Doin' Me" (number 11, Hot R&B/Hip-Hop) and the Grammy-winning "Bittersweet" (number seven, Hot R&B/Hip-Hop). She gave birth to her second child, a son, in December 2011. The singer's fourth album, Side Effects of You, was released in April 2013. Big K.R.I.T., Kelly Rowland, and Missy Elliott made guest appearances on the set, driven by the Commodores-sampling "Lose to Win." In July 2016, following a co-headlining tour with Anthony Hamilton, Barrino released The Definition Of..., her fifth album. ~ David Jeffries
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    R&B Smooth Jams

    R&B Smooth Jams
    3 songs

    '00s R&B

    '00s R&B
    6 songs

    '00s Pop

    '00s Pop
    1 song

    Grammy Awards 2014

    Grammy Awards 2014
    3 songs

    R&B and Soul Mix

    8 songs

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   When I See U
  3.   Free Yourself
  4.   Truth Is
  5.   Without Me
  6.   Bittersweet
  7.   I'm Doin' Me
  8.   I Nominate U
  9.   Hood Boy
  10.   Supernatural featuring Big K.R.I.T.
  11.   No Time for It
  12.   Collard Greens & Cornbread
  13.   Only One U
  14.   Lose to Win
  15.   I Believe
  16.   Baby Mama
  17.   Get It Right
  18.   Sleeping with the One I Love
  19.   Ain't Gon' Beg You
  20.   Two Weeks Notice
  21.   So Blue
  22.   I Feel Beautiful
  23.   Got Me Waiting
  24.   In the Middle of the Night
  25.   Falling In Love Tonight
  26.   Even Angels
  27.   Bump What Ya Friends Say
  28.   Good Lovin'
  29.   Side Effects of You
  30.   Move On Me
  31.   Don't Act Right
  32.   Man of the House
  33.   This Is Me
  34.   Chain of Fools
  35.   Teach Me
  36.   You Were Always on My Mind
  37.   It's All Good
  38.   Selfish (I Want U 2 Myself)
  39.   Ugly
  40.   The Thrill Is Gone
  41.   I'm Here
  42.   'Til My Baby Comes Home
  43.   Uneligible
  44.   Haunted featuring Al Sherrod Lambert
  45.   Supernatural Love by Big K.R.I.T.
  46.   Summertime
  47.   End of Me
  48.   Surround U
  49.   Bore Me (Yawn)
  50.   In Deep
  51.   Lighthouse
  52.   Sunshine
  53.   To the Heavens
  54.   So Much to Prove
  55.   Girl Talk (Interlude)
  56.   If I Was a Bird
  57.   Ain't All Bad
  58.   Who's Been Lovin' You
  59.   Baby Makin' Hips
  60.   I'm Not That Type
  61.   Not the Way I Do
  62.   Change Your Mind
  63.   Cervecita Blanca
  64.   Trust Him
  65.   I Wish featuring Patti LaBelle
  66.   Alice Street
  67.   Moji Layo
  68.   Worthy Worthy
  69.   Arabaribiti
  70.   Congratulations
  71.   Sweet, Sweet City Rhythm
  72.   Forward Ever
  73.   Fantasia Carnival Medley
  74.   Jesu La O Ma Sin
  75.   Go on and Dance to the Music
  76.   Emi O Yin Jesu
  77.   Dreams
  78.   [Ringtone]
  79.   Lapiz
  80.   Hood Boy
  81.   Visions of Love
  82.   Free Yourself by Missy Elliott
  83.   Crazy
  84.   When I Met You
  85.   Stay Up by Stacy Barthe
  86.   Wait for You
  87.   Roller Coasters by Aloe Blacc
  88.   Lonely Legend
  89.   I Made It by Tye Tribbett