Slacker Logo



Fantasia Barrino may have won the third season of American Idol with "I Believe," but it was her passionate take on George Gershwin's "Summertime" that had everyone talking for weeks. Confident to a degree that she could be considered brash, Barrino at first glance seemed an unlikely candidate to take the teen-oriented show's title, but with her dynamic gospel-tinged voice that never failed her, she not only became the Idol judges' obvious favorite, but the American public's, too. She debuted with a platinum album and remained with a major label longer than most other Idol stars and R&B singers. Born and raised in High Point, North Carolina, Barrino fell in love with music through the recordings of Monica, Brandy, Aretha Franklin, P!nk, and -- in keeping with her diversity -- Aerosmith. Being a 19-year-old single mother and an Idol finalist had some of the media mumbling and sneering, but the always certain Barrino paid no mind. Becoming a mother at the age of 17 focused Barrino and gave her the strength and drive to audition for the show in Atlanta. Out of 70,000 hopefuls, Barrino earned her way to the top by adjusting her style to whatever genre was thrown at her. Upon beating runner-up Diana DeGarmo, Barrino's first words as American Idol 2004 were "I broke my shoe!" Numerous appearances on talk shows and a cameo on the television show American Dreams -- playing the role of her beloved Aretha Franklin -- followed. Barrino made history when she became the first artist ever to debut at number one with her first single, "I Believe" -- written by Idol alum Tamyra Gray. J Records released her full-length debut, Free Yourself, in November 2004. Also featuring two Top Five R&B/Hip-Hop hits, it went platinum, and its lead single won a Billboard Music Award for Top Selling Single of the Year. Barrino was also nominated for three Grammy Awards. A year later her autobiography, Life Is Not a Fairy Tale, appeared and was turned into a film directed by Debbie Allen; it premiered on the Lifetime cable network in 2006. Her sophomore effort, simply titled Fantasia, landed that December. It debuted at number 19 on the Billboard 200 and eventually went gold. Back to Me, released in August 2010, was led by a pair of Chuck Harmony-produced singles in "I'm Doin' Me" (number 11, Hot R&B/Hip-Hop) and the Grammy-winning "Bittersweet" (number seven, Hot R&B/Hip-Hop). She gave birth to her second child, a son, in December 2011. The singer's fourth album, Side Effects of You, was released in April 2013. Big K.R.I.T., Kelly Rowland, and Missy Elliott made guest appearances on the set, driven by the Commodores-sampling "Lose to Win." In July 2016, following a co-headlining tour with Anthony Hamilton, Barrino released The Definition Of..., her fifth album. ~ David Jeffries
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    R&B Smooth Jams

    R&B Smooth Jams
    2 songs

    '00s R&B

    '00s R&B
    6 songs

    '00s Pop

    '00s Pop
    1 song

    Grammy Awards 2014

    Grammy Awards 2014
    3 songs

    R&B and Soul Mix

    8 songs

    Traditional Gospel

    1 song

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   When I See U
  3.   Free Yourself
  4.   Truth Is
  5.   Without Me
  6.   Bittersweet
  7.   I Nominate U
  8.   Hood Boy
  9.   Supernatural featuring Big K.R.I.T.
  10.   No Time for It
  11.   I Made It by Tye Tribbett
  12.   Lose to Win
  13.   Collard Greens & Cornbread
  14.   I'm Doin' Me
  15.   Only One U
  16.   Baby Mama
  17.   I Believe
  18.   Get It Right
  19.   Sleeping with the One I Love
  20.   Ain't Gon' Beg You
  21.   Got Me Waiting
  22.   Teach Me
  23.   When I Met You
  24.   Summertime
  25.   The Thrill Is Gone
  26.   It's All Good
  27.   Side Effects of You
  28.   Bump What Ya Friends Say
  29.   Two Weeks Notice
  30.   Man of the House
  31.   Even Angels
  32.   I Feel Beautiful
  33.   Good Lovin'
  34.   You Were Always on My Mind
  35.   Wait for You
  36.   Supernatural Love by Big K.R.I.T.
  37.   I'm Here
  38.   Not the Way I Do
  39.   Sunshine
  40.   This Is Me
  41.   Ugly
  42.   In the Middle of the Night
  43.   Trust Him
  44.   Falling In Love Tonight
  45.   Baby Makin' Hips
  46.   'Til My Baby Comes Home
  47.   Selfish (I Want U 2 Myself)
  48.   So Blue
  49.   Worthy Worthy
  50.   Who's Been Lovin' You
  51.   Move On Me
  52.   I'm Not That Type
  53.   Uneligible
  54.   Surround U
  55.   Don't Act Right
  56.   I Wish featuring Patti LaBelle
  57.   Vamos a Bailar
  58.   What Christmas Means to Me
  59.   Lonely Legend
  60.   Roller Coasters by Aloe Blacc
  61.   Stay Up by Stacy Barthe
  62.   Go on and Dance to the Music
  63.   Emi O Yin Jesu
  64.   Forward Ever
  65.   Arabaribiti
  66.   Moji Layo
  67.   To the Heavens
  68.   In Deep
  69.   Change Your Mind
  70.   Ain't All Bad
  71.   Cervecita Blanca
  72.   Girl Talk (Interlude)
  73.   Crazy
  74.   Sweet, Sweet City Rhythm
  75.   Fantasia Carnival Medley
  76.   Haunted featuring Al Sherrod Lambert
  77.   End of Me
  78.   Lighthouse
  79.   Chain of Fools
  80.   Alice Street
  81.   Jesu La O Ma Sin
  82.   Congratulations
  83.   So Much to Prove
  84.   If I Was a Bird
  85.   Bore Me (Yawn)