Slacker Logo



Along with Black Flag and the Circle Jerks, Fear helped define the sound and style of L.A. hardcore. Although they actually formed during the first wave of punk back in 1977, Fear didn't release an album until five years later, by which time they'd honed a blistering, thrashy attack that, for all its fury, was surprisingly tight and sometimes even intricate. Which is to say that, musically, the band wasn't as crude as frontman Lee Ving's outrageous, humorously offensive lyrics, which were geared to piss off anyone within earshot, particularly women and homosexuals; his vulgarity was equaled only by his sincere love of beer. Fear's original incarnation fell apart after just two albums, but Ving began touring with new lineups again in the '90s. Fear were formed in Los Angeles by vocalist Lee Ving (whose past is shrouded in mystery, though he's rumored to be a Vietnam veteran), with the rest of the original lineup including lead guitarist Philo Cramer, bassist Derf Scratch, and drummer Johnny Backbeat. Rhythm guitarist Burt Good became a member for a short time in 1978, but became unnecessary when Ving decided to take up the instrument. The same year, Backbeat was replaced by Spit Stix. Fear issued their debut single, I Love Livin' in the City, at the beginning of 1978 on Criminal Records. They were in no rush to record an album, however, and spent the next few years without a record deal; instead, they mostly played punk clubs around the Los Angeles area, cultivating a volatile, confrontational stage presence. Fear's explosive appearance in director Penelope Spheeris' punk chronicle The Decline of Western Civilization cemented their legend, and they found a devoted fan in comedian John Belushi, who talked Saturday Night Live into having the band on as a musical guest for the Halloween episode in 1981. Not a band to behave in a public forum, Fear invited a pack of skinhead slam-dancers on-stage for their performance, resulting in costly studio damage and a bit of on-mike profanity. Now notorious on a national level, Fear finally landed a record contract with Slash in 1982, and released their debut album, The Record, which most critics still agree was their best and funniest outing. Scratch left the band later on in the year, and was replaced first by Eric "Kitabu" Feldman (who appeared on the late-1982 single Fuck Christmas), then the Red Hot Chili Peppers' Flea; in 1984, Flea was in turn replaced by the Dickies' Lorenzo Buhne. Fear took some time off for side projects in 1983; Stix went to Europe and joined Nina Hagen's band, Cramer formed a band called M'Butu Ngawa, and Ving pursued a successful acting career, playing assorted tough guys in films like Flashdance (the strip club owner) and Streets of Fire, among others. In 1985, Fear released their second album, More Beer, but soon drifted apart into other projects; they disbanded in 1987. In 1991, most of Fear's prime lineup -- Ving, Cramer, and Stix, plus new bassist Will "Sluggo" McGregor -- reunited and began playing concerts again. Live...For the Record was released later that year. Cramer and Stix both quit in 1993, ending the reunion; Ving began touring with another group, Lee Ving's Army, which included guitarist Sean Cruse, former Frank Zappa bassist Scott Thunes, and drummer Andrew Jaimez. This group eventually became the new Fear lineup, and entered the studio in 1995 to record the band's first album of new material in a decade, Have Another Beer with Fear, which was released by Sector 2. Over the next few years, Thunes was replaced by Mondo Lopez, and Cruse by Richard Presley; in 2000, the revamped Fear returned on the Hall of Records label with American Beer, another all-new album. After a poor public response and fed up with legal disputes, Ving spent the ensuing years resting on his laurels, while touring the old hits under the Fear name with a rotating lineup. Eventually, in 2012, he delivered the ultimate middle-finger salute to the music industry bigwigs with The Fear Record, a completely unnecessary but otherwise inspired re-recording of the band’s iconic The Record, released on indie label The End. ~ Steve Huey
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    Classic Punk

    Classic Punk
    4 songs

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   I Don't Care About You
  3.   Gimme Some Action
  4.   Let's Have a War
  5.   New York's Alright If You Like Saxophones
  6.   I Love Livin' in the City
  7.   The Mouth Don't Stop (The Trouble with Women Is)
  8.   The Bud Club
  9.   What If God's Not One of Us
  10.   Welcome to the Dust Ward
  11.   Demons Sticking Pitchforks in My Brain
  12.   Responsibility
  13.   Give Me Some Action
  14.   New York's All Right
  15.   And the Spiders Crawl
  16.   Cat Fight
  17.   Drink Some Beer
  18.   Now Your Dead
  19.   Waiting for the Meat
  20.   Null Detector
  21.   More Beer
  22.   Surgery
  23.   Getting the Brush
  24.   Hey
  25.   We Gotta Get Outa This Place
  26.   "Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas"/"Another Christmas Beer"
  27.   We Destroy the Family
  28.   Foreign Policy
  29.   Camarillo
  30.   Beef Bologna
  31.   What Is Best in Life
  32.   Another Christmas Beer
  33.   Beer: 30
  34.   Beerfight
  35.   Honor and Obey
  36.   Chaos
  37.   Ugly as You
  38.   Bad Day
  39.   *uck Christmas
  40.   Bomb the Russians
  41.   I Am a Doctor
  42.   I Don't Care Without You
  43.   U.S.A.
  44.   Strangulation
  45.   Beef Boloney
  46.   No More Nothing
  47.   Fresh Flesh
  48.   We Gotta Get Out of This Place
  49.   33rd & 3rd
  50.   Hard "Cotto" Salami
  51.   Beerheads
  52.   Free Beer
  53.   Public Hangings
  54.   Untermenschen
  55.   Meat and Potatoes
  56.   Legalize Drugs
  57.   I Believe I'll Have Another Beer
  58.   Have a Beer with Fear
  59.   Disconnected
  60.   (I'm Your) Hoochie Coochie Man
  61.   Lost in Los Angeles
  62.   Back into Battle Again
  63.   F-You Let's Rodeo
  64.   What Are Friends For?
  65.   Let's Have a War - 2009
  66.   Fear Anthem
  67.   Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
  68.   We Got to Get Out of This Place
  69.   Jimi Burns the Phone Down
  70.   Neighbors

Artists Related to Fear

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |