Slacker Logo


Felix da Housecat

Second-wave Chicago house impresario Felix da Housecat entered the elite via his recordings (as himself, Thee Maddkatt Courtship, Aphrohead, and Sharkimaxx) as well as his ownership of Radikal Fear Records, one of the premier Chicago labels of the 1990s. An introduction to Chicago legend DJ Pierre during the mid-'80s gave the 15-year-old Felix Stallings, Jr. the kickstart he wanted, and with some help from Pierre, he produced his first single, "Phantasy Girl," in 1987. His parents discouraged his growing club lifestyle, however, and after high-school graduation Stallings left the scene entirely to attend Alabama State College. Over the course of a few years, he lost all interest in house music, though his girlfriend got him back into it. After calling DJ Pierre (who had moved to New York's Strictly Rhythm label), Felix began mixing and producing again. By 1992, he had a hit with the single "Thee Dawn" on Guerilla Records. His popularity soared in Europe, and the following year's "By Dawn's Early Light" and "Thee Industry Made Me Do It" cemented his reputation. Not long after Stallings formed Radikal Fear Records, the label became one of the top house imprints in the world, thanks to releases from Mike Dunn, DJ Sneak, and Armando, as well as Felix himself. During 1995 he released his debut full-length, Alone in the Dark (as Thee Maddkatt Courtship) on Deep Distraxion. Hot on its heels came the label collection Radikal Fear: The Chicago All Stars and a Housecat DJ album titled Clashbackk Compilation Mix. Another production LP, Metropolis Present Day? Thee Album, followed in 1998. One year later, Stallings appeared extra busy; in addition to his first album as Aphrohead, he also released another Maddkatt Courtship LP, the highly praised I Know Elektrikboy. The year 2001 saw the release of Kittenz and Thee Glitz, a breakthrough LP that helped him gain mainstream exposure through articles in glossy magazines across the globe -- not to mention remix work for the likes of Madonna and Kylie Minogue. While working on a proper follow-up, Stallings put together a pair of mix albums (2002's Excursions and 2003's A Bugged Out Mix); Devin Dazzle & the Neon Fever arrived in 2005. During this time, Stallings was nominated twice for the the Grammy Award for Best Remixed Recording, Non-Classical, first for his reworking of <<rinôçérôse>>'s "Lost Love" in 2003 and again in 2005 for his remix of Iggy Pop's "Motor Inn." After collaborating with the likes of Thom Yorke and Sean Combs, Stallings released Virgo Blaktro & the Movie Disco in 2007. Two years later, he returned with He Was King, which also traded in danceable synth pop with a heavy Dirty Mind/Controversy-era Prince influence. Stallings' next album, Son of Analogue, was released free with the April 2011 issue of Mixmag magazine. Over the next few years, the wild lifestyle and grueling schedule of a DJ on the road influenced Felix to "hit the reset button" and get sober. Considering himself "Thee Former Mezcalateer," he returned to the scene in 2013 with a series of electro-disco EPs, including Sinner Winner, co-released by his own label Rude Photo and the Brooklyn imprint No Shame. For 2015's introspective Narrative of Thee Blast Illusion, Felix collaborated with dub legend Lee "Scratch" Perry. ~ John Bush
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Felix da Housecat


    3 songs

Albums by
Felix da Housecat

Top Songs by
Felix da Housecat

  1.   Song
  2.   Silver Screen Shower Scene by Ministry of Sound
  3.   Madame Hollywood
  4.   Burn the Disco by
  5.   Kickdrum
  6.   Silver Screen Shower Scene
  7.   Watching Cars Go By
  8.   Nina
  9.   Magic Fly
  10.   It's Your Move
  11.   Harlot (Intro)
  12.   Zaman
  13.   We
  14.   LA Ravers
  15.   Night Tripperz
  16.   I Saw the Future/Blaktroman
  17.   Your Touch featuring Lori
  18.   Let Your Mind Be Your Bed
  19.   Rocket Ride
  20.   Somekinda Special
  21.   Sequel2sub
  22.   Pray for a Star
  23.   Machine
  24.   Trippin on a Trip
  25.   Submarine
  26.   I Just Want to Be a Lesbian
  27.   Sinner Winner
  28.   Thee Anthem
  29.   Cycle Spin !
  30.   We All Wanna Be Prince
  31.   Turn Me on a Summer Smile
  32.   Spank U Very Much
  33.   Plastik Fantastik
  34.   Elvi$
  35.   Lookin' My Best
  36.   Tweak
  37.   Future Calls the Dawn
  38.   Moviedisco
  39.   Like Something 4 Porno!
  40.   Radio
  41.   Sweetfrosti
  42.   Mad Sista
  43.   Do Me What I Do
  44.   Hunting Season
  45.   Romantique
  46.   Ready 2 Wear
  47.   Intro
  48.   Anotha Level
  49.   Footsteps of Rage
  50.   B4 Wuz Them
  51.   She Lives
  52.   What Does It Feel Like?
  53.   Voicemail
  54.   Zeka's Solar Device
  55.   Marine Mood
  56.   Thee Dawn
  57.   He Was King
  58.   Runaway Dreamer
  59.   Thee Enter View Inside Thee Glitz
  60.   Pete Tong & Felix Da Housecat - All Gone Ibiza 11
  61.   Jungle Kisses
  62.   Metropolis
  63.   Walk With Me
  64.   Everyone Is Someone in La
  65.   Analog City
  66.   Zaman by Thee Nese Djouma Projesi
  67.   TAI Felix
  68.   Do We Move Your World
  69.   Do Not Try This at Home
  70.   I Seem 2 Be the 1
  71.   It's Been a Long Time
  72.   Virgo Arrival
  73.   Devin Dazzle
  74.   Little Bloo
  75.   Control Freaq
  76.   She's So D*mN Cool
  77.   Nitelife Funworld
  78.   Happy Hour
  79.   Shakedown by High Caliber
  80.   Neon Human
  81.   What She Wants
  82.   Pretty Girls Don't Dance
  83.   Glitz Rock
  84.   Circle Spin!
  85.   Short Skirts
  86.   Monkey Cage