Slacker Logo



Foxygen began as the classic rock-leaning experimental pop project of multi-instrumentalists Sam France and Jonathan Rado. The two grew up in the Los Angeles suburb of Westlake Village and started the band in 2005 as 15-year-old high school freshmen. Apart from sharing a voracious love of classic albums from the Ramones to Led Zeppelin, the two bonded over a shared inspiration after watching the rockumentary Dig together. Learning that Anton Newcombe, mastermind behind the Brian Jonestown Massacre and key subject of the film, played up to 75 different instruments on his band's albums inspired the youths to learn as many different instruments as possible themselves. The pair worked on about ten home-recorded, self-distributed albums in their high school days, eventually parting ways when it was time to go off to college. France went west to Olympia and Rado to New York, and they both played in other bands, feeling mostly unsatisfied with their new projects. France made a brief trek out to the East Coast in 2011 and Foxygen constructed the schizophrenic and Stones-steeped Take the Kids Off Broadway. The album saw release in the summer of 2012 on mega indie label Jagjaguwar. A more realized full-length followed in early 2013 in the form of the Richard Swift-produced We Are the 21st Century Ambassadors of Peace & Magic. The album was met with great reviews and Foxygen soon found themselves touring non-stop internationally, with France developing a reputation for antagonistic and sometimes violent stage antics. Foxygen followed up their critically lauded first few albums in late 2014 with the densely stuffed double album ...And Star Power. The duo returned in 2016 with their fourth official release, Hang. The record was accompanied by a symphony orchestra during recording, and featured guest contributions from the Lemon Twigs and the Flaming Lips' Steve Drozd. ~ Fred Thomas
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    Top Indie

    Top Indie
    2 songs

    Indie Rock Mix

    Indie Rock Mix
    2 songs

    Indie Party

    Indie Party
    2 songs

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Shuggie
  3.   San Francisco
  4.   Make It Known
  5.   No Destruction
  6.   Follow the Leader
  7.   How Can You Really
  8.   On Lankershim
  9.   On Blue Mountain
  10.   I Don't Have Anything/The Gate
  11.   Abandon My Toys
  12.   Wally's Farm
  13.   Star Power Airlines
  14.   Teenage Alien Blues
  15.   Rise Up
  16.   Upon a Hill
  17.   Hang
  18.   Everyone Needs Love
  19.   Talk
  20.   Brooklyn Police Station
  21.   Cannibal Holocaust
  22.   Flowers
  23.   666
  24.   Mattress Warehouse
  25.   Star Power IV: Ooh Ooh
  26.   Star Power I: Overture
  27.   Oh No 2
  28.   In the Darkness
  29.   Take the Kids Off Broadway
  30.   Freedom II
  31.   Cosmic Vibrations
  32.   Waitin' 4 U
  33.   Avalon
  34.   Why Did I Get Married?
  35.   The Game
  36.   We Are the 21st Century Ambassadors of Peace & Magic
  37.   Star Power II: Star Power Nite
  38.   You & I
  39.   Bowling Trophies
  40.   Oh Yeah
  41.   Mrs. Adams
  42.   Can't Contextualize My Mind
  43.   Hot Summer
  44.   Where's The Money?
  45.   Star Power III: What Are We Good For
  46.   Trauma
  47.   America
  48.   Cold Winter/Freedom
  49.   Middle School Dance (Song for Richard Swift)
  50.   Coulda Been My Love

Artists Related to Foxygen

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |