Slacker Logo


Frank Ocean

Frank Ocean was one of the more fascinating and polarizing R&B artists of the 2010s. Born Christopher Edwin Breaux in Long Beach, California, he moved with his family to New Orleans, Louisiana at the age of five. The aspiring songwriter and singer had just moved into his dorm at the University of New Orleans when Hurricane Katrina hit. With his future under water, Ocean immediately left the academic life behind and moved to Los Angeles to give music a shot. He cut some demos at a friend's home studio, shopped them around town, and eventually landed a songwriting deal that led to work for Justin Bieber, John Legend, and Brandy. Some of this writing was done beside Christopher "Tricky" Stewart, a fellow songwriter and producer who convinced Ocean to sign a solo artist deal with Def Jam in late 2009. It was also around this time that Ocean met Odd Future and began writing for the crew while making guest appearances on their mixtapes. In February 2011, as Odd Future were making waves, Ocean broke out on his own with the Nostalgia, Ultra mixtape, issued through his Tumblr blog. Later in the year, he appeared on Tyler, the Creator's Goblin ("She," "Window"), Beyoncé's 4 ("I Miss You"), and Jay-Z and Kanye West's Watch the Throne ("No Church in the Wild," "Made in America"). Def Jam's plan for the release of Nostalgia, Lite -- an EP-length version of the mixtape -- was scrapped, yet the songs "Novacane" (produced by Stewart) and "Swim Good" (MIDI Mafia) were released as singles with accompanying videos. The former reached number 17 on Billboard's Hot R&B/Hip-Hop chart. The latter peaked at number 70. By the end of the year, several publications listed Nostalgia, Ultra as one of 2011's best releases. Ocean proceeded with the making of his official debut album, working beside the likes of Malay, Om'Mas Keith, and Pharrell Williams as fellow producers. The album, Channel Orange, was previewed for journalists at a handful of listening events. Some writers alleged that certain lyrics on the album revealed Ocean's bisexuality. Ocean subsequently published a screen shot of a TextEdit file (entitled "thank you's") that included details of a romantic relationship, his first love, with a man. On July 10, 2012, six days after the post, Channel Orange was released by Def Jam as a download. The CD version followed a week later. Along with featured appearances from Earl Sweatshirt, John Mayer, and André 3000, the album involved material about unrequited love, as well as class and drug dependency -- all delivered with Ocean's descriptive storytelling and understated yet expressive vocals. Channel Orange received nearly universal critical acclaim and landed on the Billboard 200 chart at number two. Ocean was subsequently nominated in six Grammy categories and took the award for Best Urban Contemporary Album. As Channel Orange was on its way to gold certification, Ocean began work on a follow-up. Various recording details were reported across a period of over three years, and Ocean dropped hints that led to much speculation. Meanwhile, he made appearances on Beyoncé's self-titled album, Kanye West's The Life of Pablo, and James Blake's The Colour in Anything. In August 2016, a video of him building a staircase, accompanied by instrumentals, was streamed on his website. Later that month, he released Endless, a 45-minute visual album that featured additional construction footage and a stream of full-blown songs written primarily by Ocean alone. Jazmine Sullivan, Jonny Greenwood, and Blake were among the contributors to the new material, which was bookended by sound art from Wolfgang Tillmans. The following day, Ocean released the skeletal and sprawling Blond, a proper album, for streaming. Copies of Ocean's magazine, distributed at pop-up locations, included a compact disc version with a shorter track list. A multi-genre festival's worth of "album contributors," ranging from many of his previous associates to the likes of David Bowie and Yung Lean, was listed in the pages of the publication. Blond replaced Drake's Views at the top of the Billboard 200. ~ Andy Kellman & David Jeffries
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Frank Ocean

    Coffeehouse Corner

    Coffeehouse Corner
    2 songs


    3 songs

    Top R&B

    Top R&B
    1 song

    R&B and Soul Mix

    R&B and Soul Mix
    1 song

    Top Jams [Clean]

    1 song

Albums by
Frank Ocean

Top Songs by
Frank Ocean

  1.   Song
  2.   Thinkin' Bout You
  3.   Novacane
  4.   Pyramids
  5.   Lost
  6.   Super Rich Kids by Earl Sweatshirt
  7.   Sweet Life
  8.   Bad Religion
  9.   Swim Good
  10.   Forrest Gump
  11.   Sierra Leone
  12.   Pink Matter
  13.   Crack Rock
  14.   Strawberry Swing
  15.   We All Try
  16.   Lovecrimes
  17.   Bedtime Story
  18.   Can't Be the Last Time
  19.   Kamikaze, Thinking of You 2 (Frank Ocean)
  20.   Pilot Jones
  21.   Pink + White
  22.   Thinking About You
  23.   One Look
  24.   Nights
  25.   Nikes
  26.   White
  27.   Stay If You Go
  28.   Holly Baby
  29.   Try
  30.   Ivy
  31.   Self Control
  32.   Monks
  33.   Start
  34.   Go Up
  35.   Solo
  36.   Be Yourself
  37.   Lights
  38.   Quickly
  39.   White Ferrari
  40.   Wise Man, WiseMan Pt. 2 (Frank Ocean)
  41.   Sucker for Love Pt. 2
  42.   Simply
  43.   Rewind That
  44.   End/Golden Girl
  45.   Godspeed
  46.   Close to You
  47.   Skyline To
  48.   Bricks and Steel
  49.   Seigfried
  50.   Good Guy
  51.   Taste
  52.   Rocket Love
  53.   Ohh in Love
  54.   No Love
  55.   Goldeneye
  56.   Futura Free
  57.   Ready
  58.   Miss You So
  59.   Lost Angel
  60.   Greedy Love
  61.   Dying for Your Love
  62.   Not Just Money
  63.   Fertilizer
  64.   There Will Be Tears
  65.   Soul Calibur
  66.   Songs for Women
  67.   Dust
  68.   Pretty Sweet
  69.   Bitches Talkin'
  70.   Together
  71.   Overload
  72.   Streetfighter
  73.   Facebook Story
  74.   Time Machine
  75.   Standing Still
  76.   She Won't Say Hello
  77.   Focus
  78.   Denim
  79.   If I'm in Love
  80.   Electric Feel

Artists Related to Frank Ocean


Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |