Slacker Logo


Frank Ocean

Frank Ocean was one of the more fascinating and polarizing R&B artists of the 2010s. Born Christopher Edwin Breaux in Long Beach, California, he moved with his family to New Orleans, Louisiana at the age of five. The aspiring songwriter and singer had just moved into his dorm at the University of New Orleans when Hurricane Katrina hit. With his future under water, Ocean immediately left the academic life behind and moved to Los Angeles to give music a shot. He cut some demos at a friend's home studio, shopped them around town, and eventually landed a songwriting deal that led to work for Justin Bieber, John Legend, and Brandy. Some of this writing was done beside Christopher "Tricky" Stewart, a fellow songwriter and producer who convinced Ocean to sign a solo artist deal with Def Jam in late 2009. It was also around this time that Ocean met Odd Future and began writing for the crew while making guest appearances on their mixtapes. In February 2011, as Odd Future were making waves, Ocean broke out on his own with the Nostalgia, Ultra mixtape, issued through his Tumblr blog. Later in the year, he appeared on Tyler, the Creator's Goblin ("She," "Window"), Beyoncé's 4 ("I Miss You"), and Jay-Z and Kanye West's Watch the Throne ("No Church in the Wild," "Made in America"). Def Jam's plan for the release of Nostalgia, Lite -- an EP-length version of the mixtape -- was scrapped, yet the songs "Novacane" (produced by Stewart) and "Swim Good" (MIDI Mafia) were released as singles with accompanying videos. The former reached number 17 on Billboard's Hot R&B/Hip-Hop chart. The latter peaked at number 70. By the end of the year, several publications listed Nostalgia, Ultra as one of 2011's best releases. Ocean proceeded with the making of his official debut album, working beside the likes of Malay, Om'Mas Keith, and Pharrell Williams as fellow producers. The album, Channel Orange, was previewed for journalists at a handful of listening events. Some writers alleged that certain lyrics on the album revealed Ocean's bisexuality. Ocean subsequently published a screen shot of a TextEdit file (entitled "thank you's") that included details of a romantic relationship, his first love, with a man. On July 10, 2012, six days after the post, Channel Orange was released by Def Jam as a download. The CD version followed a week later. Along with featured appearances from Earl Sweatshirt, John Mayer, and André 3000, the album involved material about unrequited love, as well as class and drug dependency -- all delivered with Ocean's descriptive storytelling and understated yet expressive vocals. Channel Orange received nearly universal critical acclaim and landed on the Billboard 200 chart at number two. Ocean was subsequently nominated in six Grammy categories and took the award for Best Urban Contemporary Album. As Channel Orange was on its way to gold certification, Ocean began work on a follow-up. Various recording details were reported across a period of over three years, and Ocean dropped hints that led to much speculation. Meanwhile, he made appearances on Beyoncé's self-titled album, Kanye West's The Life of Pablo, and James Blake's The Colour in Anything. In August 2016, a video of him building a staircase, accompanied by instrumentals, was streamed on his website. Later that month, he released Endless, a 45-minute visual album that featured additional construction footage and a stream of full-blown songs written primarily by Ocean alone. Jazmine Sullivan, Jonny Greenwood, and Blake were among the contributors to the new material, which was bookended by sound art from Wolfgang Tillmans. The following day, Ocean released the skeletal and sprawling Blond, a proper album, for streaming. Copies of Ocean's magazine, distributed at pop-up locations, included a compact disc version with a shorter track list. A multi-genre festival's worth of "album contributors," ranging from many of his previous associates to the likes of David Bowie and Yung Lean, was listed in the pages of the publication. Blond replaced Drake's Views at the top of the Billboard 200. ~ Andy Kellman & David Jeffries
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Frank Ocean

    Coffeehouse Corner

    Coffeehouse Corner
    2 songs


    3 songs

    Top R&B

    Top R&B
    1 song

    R&B and Soul Mix

    R&B and Soul Mix
    1 song

    Top Jams [Clean]

    1 song

Albums by
Frank Ocean

Top Songs by
Frank Ocean

  1.   Song
  2.   Thinkin' Bout You
  3.   Novacane
  4.   Pyramids
  5.   Lost
  6.   Super Rich Kids by Earl Sweatshirt
  7.   Sweet Life
  8.   Bad Religion
  9.   Swim Good
  10.   Forrest Gump
  11.   Sierra Leone
  12.   Pink Matter
  13.   Crack Rock
  14.   Strawberry Swing
  15.   We All Try
  16.   Lovecrimes
  17.   Can't Be the Last Time
  18.   Bedtime Story
  19.   Kamikaze, Thinking of You 2 (Frank Ocean)
  20.   Pilot Jones
  21.   Thinking About You
  22.   Standing Still
  23.   Pink + White
  24.   Nikes
  25.   Focus
  26.   White Ferrari
  27.   Nights
  28.   Self Control
  29.   Monks
  30.   Ivy
  31.   Try
  32.   Start
  33.   If I'm in Love
  34.   White
  35.   Denim
  36.   Be Yourself
  37.   Sucker for Love Pt. 2
  38.   Lights
  39.   One Look
  40.   Solo
  41.   Wise Man, WiseMan Pt. 2 (Frank Ocean)
  42.   Stay If You Go
  43.   End/Golden Girl
  44.   Godspeed
  45.   Seigfried
  46.   Close to You
  47.   Skyline To
  48.   Goldeneye
  49.   Good Guy
  50.   Taste
  51.   Rocket Love
  52.   Ohh in Love
  53.   No Love
  54.   Bricks and Steel
  55.   Dust
  56.   Futura Free
  57.   Bitches Talkin'
  58.   Simply
  59.   Ready
  60.   Overload
  61.   Miss You So
  62.   Lost Angel
  63.   Greedy Love
  64.   Dying for Your Love
  65.   Not Just Money
  66.   Fertilizer
  67.   Pretty Sweet
  68.   Songs for Women
  69.   Facebook Story
  70.   Electric Feel
  71.   Together
  72.   She Won't Say Hello
  73.   Quickly
  74.   Streetfighter
  75.   Soul Calibur
  76.   There Will Be Tears
  77.   Time Machine
  78.   Holly Baby
  79.   Go Up
  80.   Rewind That

Artists Related to Frank Ocean


Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |