Slacker Logo


Frightened Rabbit

Playing clever but purposefully naïve pop in the manner of the Vaselines, the Twilight Sad, and the Clean, Frightened Rabbit sound a good bit bolder than their moniker would suggest, though it suits their lively but nervous musical personality. Frightened Rabbit was founded in Glasgow, Scotland, in 2004, when guitarist Scott Hutchison and his brother Grant, a percussionist who -- like his sibling -- prefers to keep his last name a secret, began recording demos of songs they had written. Encouraged by friends and family, the brothers added a second guitarist, their friend Billy, and the trio began making the rounds of Glasgow's pubs and music venues. Slowly but surely gaining a reputation for their music, Frightened Rabbit began work on their first album, initially planning to record at the home studio where they'd done their original demos but eventually opting to record at Glasgow's Diving Bell Studio with Marcus Mackay instead. The band released Sing the Greys through their own label, Hits the Fan Records, in mid-2006. Reviews were enthusiastic, and Universal picked up the disc for distribution in the U.K. and the U.S. through the independent label Fat Cat. The group's reputation enjoyed a considerable boost in America after they played a well-received showcase at the 2007 South by Southwest Music Conference in Austin, Texas, and the U.S. release of Sing the Greys only increased Frightened Rabbit's popularity. The band's sophomore release, Midnight Organ Flight, arrived in April 2008. Keyboard player Andy Monaghan was added to the lineup shortly before the release of the album. The live album Quietly Now!, also known as Liver! Lung! FR!, appeared in 2009; meanwhile the band was working on its third studio album, The Winter of Mixed Drinks, which introduced fifth bandmember Gordon Skene. A lush, uplifting set of songs, The Winter of Mixed Drinks arrived early in 2010. A Frightened Rabbit EP was released in July 2011 and was only available on their subsequent tour (the band later made the EP available for their newsletter subscribers and as a limited 7”). In preparation for their fourth album, they released the EP State Hospital in September 2012, featuring a guest appearance by Aidan Moffat. The first release through Atlantic Records -- the major label the band left Fat Cat for in 2010 -- the EP harked back to the lyrical prowess of their earlier material, which proved to be a taster for Pedestrian Verse, the full-length that arrived in February 2013. Produced by Leo Abrahams, the album was a triumph, full of affecting, often anthemic material. It was also their first album written fully collaboratively, the others having been primarily the work of frontman Hutchison. While enjoying this new creative process, to the extent that he stated he would "never [again] write a Frightened Rabbit record in the way I used to," he also wanted to continue writing solo, and to this end he created the Owl John project, releasing an eponymous album in 2014. Monaghan and touring guitarist Simon Liddell helped him out with the recording. Later that year, Skene left the band over musical differences and was permanently replaced by Liddell. In 2015, they decamped to New York to record their second album for Atlantic, with the National's Aaron Dessner producing. Entitled Painting of a Panic Attack, the album saw the band continue with the collaborative process they had employed on The Winter... Featuring the elegiac single "Death Dream," it was scheduled for release in April 2016. ~ Mark Deming
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Frightened Rabbit

    Top Indie

    Top Indie
    4 songs

    Indie Rock Mix

    Indie Rock Mix
    4 songs

    Indie Party

    Indie Party
    4 songs

    Top Alternative

    Top Alternative
    1 song

    Alternative Mix

    1 song

    Pop Rock

    1 song

    Alt Country

    1 song

Albums by
Frightened Rabbit

Top Songs by
Frightened Rabbit

  1.   Song
  2.   Swim Until You Can't See Land
  3.   Nothing Like You
  4.   Fast Blood
  5.   The Loneliness and the Scream
  6.   I Feel Better
  7.   Floating in the Forth
  8.   Living In Colour
  9.   The Wrestle
  10.   Good Arms vs. Bad Arms
  11.   Late March, Death March
  12.   It's Christmas So We'll Stop 2008
  13.   The Woodpile
  14.   The Greys
  15.   Backyard Skulls
  16.   Be Less Rude
  17.   Poke
  18.   Get Out
  19.   Death Dream
  20.   Lump Street
  21.   Extrasupervery
  22.   Old Old Fashioned
  23.   The Modern Leper
  24.   Who'd You Kill Now?
  25.   Keep Yourself Warm
  26.   The Twist
  27.   Backwards Walk
  28.   Bright Pink Bookmark
  29.   Holy
  30.   Head Rolls Off
  31.   Music Now
  32.   Dead Now
  33.   I Wish I Was Sober by Mike McCready
  34.   An Otherwise Disappointing Life
  35.   Go-Go-Girls
  36.   Nitrous Gas
  37.   The First Incident
  38.   Woke Up Hurting
  39.   I Wish I Was Sober
  40.   Radio Silence
  41.   December's Traditions
  42.   Off
  43.   Boxing Night
  44.   Snake
  45.   Square 9
  46.   Behave!
  47.   The Wreck
  48.   Blood Under the Bridge
  49.   Wait 'Til the Morning
  50.   Wedding Gloves
  51.   Break
  52.   Yawns
  53.   It's Christmas so We'll Stop
  54.   Die Like a Rich Boy
  55.   Still Want to Be Here
  56.   Candlelit
  57.   Don't Go Breaking My Heart
  58.   The Oil Slick
  59.   Acts of Man
  60.   State Hospital
  61.   Soon Go
  62.   Learned Your Name
  63.   Man/Bag of Sand
  64.   Fun Stuff
  65.   Things
  66.   Architect
  67.   Housing (In)
  68.   400 Bones
  69.   The Second Incident
  70.   Yes, I Would
  71.   Little Drum
  72.   Set You Free
  73.   A Lick of Paint
  74.   Skip the Youth
  75.   Home from War
  76.   Default Blues
  77.   The Final Incident
  78.   Footshooter
  79.   Not Miserable