Slacker Logo



If history is kind to Fugazi, their records won't be overshadowed by their reputation and methods of operation. Instead of being known for their community activism, five-dollar shows, ten-dollar CDs, and resistance to mainstream outlets, they will instead be known for their intelligent songwriting and undeniably proficient musicianship, which drew from their roots in Washington, D.C. hardcore, as well as post-punk and dub reggae. Songs like "Waiting Room" and "Suggestion," as well as albums such as Repeater and Red Medicine, are considered post-hardcore benchmarks. Drummer Brendan Canty, bassist Joe Lally, and guitarists/vocalists Ian MacKaye, and Guy Picciotto formed Fugazi in 1987. Initially a trio, Picciotto was added to the lineup after the band's first live shows. Prior to forming, the members already had deep roots in the D.C. punk scene. Dischord labelhead MacKaye, who had previously been in the Teen Idles and Minor Threat, had just come from Embrace. For better or worse, Embrace, along with Picciotto and Canty's better Rites of Spring, kick-started the emo sub-genre that reached prominence years later. After further honing their cathartic live act and expanding their material, their first EP, Fugazi, was released in late 1988. More an extension of Rites of Spring's thick, dynamic, varied-tempo soul-bearing than anything else, the EP featured "Suggestion," which became the band's most well-known song. Though the course of rock history shows that loud music created by angry men tends to be of a predatory nature, "Suggestion" was an anomaly. MacKaye spoke from a woman's point of view and railed against objectification. The similarly Margin Walker EP followed the next year and was later coupled with Fugazi on CD as 13 Songs. Repeater, the band's first proper album, was released in 1990. A toughened and refined progression, it's generally regarded as a classic. Steady Diet of Nothing, issued in 1991, it was clearly the band's most challenging material to that point. Two years passed until In on the Killtaker, an abrasive set that registered on Billboard's main album chart, the Billboard 200, at number 153. While major labels were interested in signing the band and even linking with Dischord, a label that had lost Jawbox to Atlantic and Shudder to Think to Epic, they were turned away. As the increasing responsibilities of adulthood and outside musical involvements increased, Fugazi's recordings and tours became more sporadic during the latter half of the '90s. Both Red Medicine (1995) and End Hits (1998) were looser and more exploratory than the band's earliest recordings. Instrument (1999), a documentary video directed by Jem Cohen, was released with an accompanying soundtrack and included live performances and interviews. The soundtrack featured demos, jams, and incidental cutting room scraps. Fugazi's sixth proper album, The Argument (2001), was simultaneously issued with the three-song Furniture EP. Outside Fugazi, both MacKaye and Picciotto helped other bands with production. MacKaye continued to operate Dischord, and Lally began his own label, Tolotta. Picciotto also ventured into filmmaking. Though they never officially disbanded, Fugazi remained dormant as the years spun on, MacKaye touring and recording more with the Evens, his band with Amy Farina. In 2011, Dischord launched the Fugazi Live Series, an online archive that grew to house recordings of various qualities of every one of the band's more than 1,000 shows. When the series reached it's goal of complete documentation of the band's live work, Dischord marked the end of the phase with the release of First Demo, a re-mastered issue of the band's preveiously unreleased ten song demo recording from 1988. ~ Andy Kellman
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    Punk U

    Punk U
    7 songs

    Top Indie

    Top Indie
    1 song

    Indie Rock Mix

    Indie Rock Mix
    1 song

    Indie Party

    Indie Party
    1 song

    '80s Alternative

    1 song

    Classic Punk

    1 song

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Waiting Room
  3.   Smallpox Champion
  4.   Great Cop
  5.   Repeater
  6.   Blueprint
  7.   Bed For the Scraping
  8.   Target
  9.   Give Me the Cure
  10.   Suggestion
  11.   Merchandise
  12.   Two Beats Off
  13.   Reclamation
  14.   Sweet and Low
  15.   Styrofoam
  16.   Burning Too
  17.   Song #1
  18.   Promises
  19.   Lockdown
  20.   Reprovisional
  21.   And the Same
  22.   Joe #1
  23.   Strangelight
  24.   Latin Roots
  25.   Brendan #1
  26.   Argument
  27.   Ex-Spectator
  28.   Oh
  29.   The Kill
  30.   Life and Limb
  31.   Epic Problem
  32.   Full Disclosure
  33.   Cashout
  34.   [Untitled Track]
  35.   Kyeo (Live)
  36.   Runaway Return
  37.   Long Distance Runner
  38.   Downed City
  39.   Back to Base
  40.   Fell, Destroyed
  41.   Forensic Scene
  42.   Latest Disgrace
  43.   Do You Like Me
  44.   Provisional
  45.   Bad Mouth
  46.   Rend It
  47.   Returning the Screw
  48.   Bulldog Front
  49.   Margin Walker
  50.   Steady Diet
  51.   Shut the Door
  52.   Greed
  53.   Turnover
  54.   Nightshop
  55.   Dear Justice Letter
  56.   Exit Only
  57.   By You
  58.   Combination Lock
  59.   Burning
  60.   Walken's Syndrome
  61.   Cassavetes
  62.   23 Beats Off
  63.   Public Witness Program
  64.   Facet Squared
  65.   Last Chance For a Slow Dance
  66.   Instrument
  67.   Sieve-Fisted Find
  68.   Break-In
  69.   Nice New Outfit
  70.   Stacks
  71.   Long Division
  72.   Polish
  73.   Glue Man
  74.   Birthday Pony
  75.   Version

Artists Related to Fugazi

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |