Slacker Logo


Future Islands

Led by crooning frontman Samuel T. Herring, the members of Future Islands started out making electropop music together in 2003 while attending East Carolina University's art program. Along with Herring, the initial members of the group were Adam Beeby, William Cashion, Gerrit Welmers, and Kymia Nawabi, and they played shows around campus as Art Lord & the Self-Portraits. In 2006, after the band split, Herring, Cashion, and Welmers continued under the name Future Islands and picked up the Kickass bassist Erick Murillo to fill out their sound on an electronic drum kit. The band released a few CD-Rs, splits, and cassettes, then began work on their debut album with producer Chester Endersby Gwazda. After the album was recorded, but before it was released, the band, minus Murillo, relocated to Baltimore. Wave Like Home was released in 2008 for the Upset the Rhythm label. Future Islands toured steadily, built up a fan base, and continued refining their sound. They signed to Thrill Jockey and released two records in 2010, the In the Fall EP and the In Evening Air album. After some conflict over their next album, 2011's On the Water, the group left Thrill Jockey and went underground. Herring worked on his hip-hop side project, Hemlock Ernst, and the group quietly began work on another album. They released a single for old friends Upset the Rhythm in 2012, then in 2013 signed with 4AD. Their first album for the label, 2014's Singles, was a streamlined, very accessible synth pop album produced by Chris Coady. They caused a splash in the indie rock community when their performance of one of the album's highlights, "Seasons (Waiting on You)," on Late Night with David Letterman left the host dazzled and nearly speechless. The band toured extensively, appeared at Glastonbury in 2015, and that same year released a single, "The Chase"/"Haunted by You." In the interim between albums, Herring kept very busy. He popped up as a guest vocalist on tracks by Clams Casino, Du Blonde, and BadBadNotGood, formed a hip-hop duo called Trouble Knows Me with producer Madlib, and appeared on numerous tracks using his Hemlock Ernst hip-hop alter ego. Amidst this flurry of activity, Herring and the rest of Future Islands found time to make their sixth album. Working with producer John Congleton, they added a layer of studio sheen to their trademark sound, while calling in Blondie's Debbie Harry to guest on a track. The resulting record, The Far Field, was issued by 4AD in early 2017. ~ Jason Lymangrover
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Future Islands

    Top Alternative

    Top Alternative
    1 song

    Alternative Mix

    Alternative Mix
    1 song

    Pop Rock

    Pop Rock
    1 song

    Top Indie

    Top Indie
    3 songs

    Indie Party

    3 songs

    Indie Rock Mix

    3 songs

    Adult Alternative

    1 song

    Adult Rock

    1 song

    Coffeehouse Corner

    2 songs


    1 song

Albums by
Future Islands

Top Songs by
Future Islands

  1.   Song
  2.   Seasons (Waiting on You)
  3.   Ran
  4.   Cave
  5.   Fall From Grace
  6.   Doves
  7.   Inch of Dust
  8.   The Chase
  9.   Sun in the Morning
  10.   Escape Artist
  11.   Beach Foam
  12.   Aladdin
  13.   A Song for Our Grandfathers
  14.   Seasons (Waiting On You) [BADBADNOTGOOD Reinterpretation]
  15.   Day Glow Fire
  16.   Light House
  17.   A Dream of You and Me
  18.   Heart Grows Old
  19.   Walking Through That Door
  20.   An Apology
  21.   Shadows
  22.   Beauty of the Road
  23.   Time on Her Side
  24.   Pretty Riffy
  25.   Vireo's Eye
  26.   Long Flight
  27.   As I Fall
  28.   Tin Man
  29.   The Fountain
  30.   Flicker & Flutter
  31.   Little Dreamer
  32.   Black Rose
  33.   Candles
  34.   Ancient Water
  35.   North Star
  36.   Through the Roses
  37.   Haunted by You
  38.   Like the Moon
  39.   Back in the Tall Grass
  40.   Spirit
  41.   Tomorrow
  42.   Balance
  43.   Nu Autobahn
  44.   Take It Back
  45.   Changing Your Life
  46.   Follow Me
  47.   The Happiness of Being Twice
  48.   Pinnochio
  49.   Swept Inside
  50.   In Evening Air
  51.   Old Friend
  52.   Pangea
  53.   Seize a Shark
  54.   I Don't Know Why
  55.   Wave Like Home

Artists Related to Future Islands

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |