Slacker Logo


Gavin DeGraw

Years before "I Don't Want to Be" propelled him to pop/rock success, songwriter Gavin DeGraw began honing his piano skills at the age of eight, followed by his participation in several cover bands with his older brother in upstate New York. After a brief stint at the prestigious Berklee School of Music -- where he rubbed shoulders with future singer/songwriter contemporary John Mayer -- DeGraw decided to take his original songs to New York City. He arrived during the late '90s and steadily expanded his audience with a series of buzzworthy shows, one of which was captured on the concert recording Gavin Live. The steady buzz led to offers from major labels, and DeGraw eventually signed a record deal with Clive Davis and his J Records imprint (home of Santana, as well as R&B mainstays Alicia Keys and Angie Stone). DeGraw's debut album, Chariot, arrived during the summer of 2003. Like the singer's early days in New York City, Chariot slowly built momentum and earned the young DeGraw a small but fervent following. By 2004, the leadoff single "I Don't Want to Be" had become a Top Ten hit, and the album itself was soon re-released in expanded form under the title Chariot + Chariot Stripped. DeGraw's next single, the titular "Chariot," was also met with positive response and climbed the charts in 2005, pushing the album to double platinum sales. DeGraw took five years to release a self-titled sophomore album, which appeared in 2008, initially charting higher than Chariot but failing to spawn any comparable singles (although "In Love with a Girl" did peak at number 24). DeGraw shifted gears for his next release, the looser and seemingly less labored Free, which appeared only a few months later in early 2009. DeGraw took more time to release his fourth album. Co-writing with other artists for the first time, he spent two years workshopping the songs eventually featured on Sweeter. The album was released in fall 2011, several months after "Not Over You" -- a song co-written with Ryan Tedder -- returned DeGraw to the charts. "Not Over You" was DeGraw's biggest hit since "I Don't Want to Be," and it helped send Sweeter into the Billboard Top Ten upon its release. Over the next year, DeGraw supported the album with promotional appearances and a tour, the latter of which was documented on the live album Sweeter: Live, released in December of 2012. DeGraw returned in October of 2013 with Make a Move, and in 2016 he issued Something Worth Saving, his sixth studio long-player. ~ Wade Kergan & Steve Leggett
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Gavin DeGraw

    Lite Hits

    Lite Hits
    3 songs

    Shuffle Hits

    Shuffle Hits
    2 songs

    Adult Alternative

    Adult Alternative
    1 song

    Adult Rock

    Adult Rock
    1 song

Albums by
Gavin DeGraw

Top Songs by
Gavin DeGraw

  1.   Song
  2.   Not Over You
  3.   I Don't Want to Be
  4.   Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
  5.   In Love with a Girl
  6.   Chariot
  7.   The Christmas Song
  8.   She Sets the City on Fire
  9.   Belief
  10.   Fire
  11.   Best I Ever Had
  12.   Just Friends
  13.   Sweeter
  14.   (Nice to Meet You) Anyway
  15.   We Are the Champions
  16.   Crush
  17.   Finest Hour
  18.   Soldier
  19.   Radiation
  20.   Make a Move
  21.   Follow Through
  22.   Annalee
  23.   More Than Anyone
  24.   You Got Me
  25.   Kite Like Girl
  26.   I Have You to Thank
  27.   Something Worth Saving
  28.   Where You Are
  29.   Why Do the Men Stray
  30.   Indian Summer
  31.   We Belong Together
  32.   Stay
  33.   Making Love With the Radio On
  34.   Everything Will Change
  35.   Next to Me (Wait a Minute Sister)
  36.   Say I Am
  37.   Harder to Believe
  38.   Different for Girls
  39.   I'm Gonna Try
  40.   You Know Where I'm At
  41.   Spell It Out
  42.   Candy
  43.   Mountains to Move
  44.   Cop Stop
  45.   Cheated On Me
  46.   Chemical Party
  47.   New Love
  48.   How Lucky Can a Man Get
  49.   Leading Man
  50.   Who's Gonna Save Us
  51.   Untamed
  52.   She Holds a Key
  53.   Medicate the Kids
  54.   Young Love
  55.   Silver Bells
  56.   Meaning
  57.   Over-Rated
  58.   Relative
  59.   You Make My Heart Sing Louder
  60.   Every Little Bit
  61.   I Need a Dollar/Chemical Party
  62.   Stealing
  63.   Run Every Time
  64.   Waterfall
  65.   Lover Be Strong
  66.   Free
  67.   Let It Go
  68.   Jealous Guy
  69.   Dancing Shoes
  70.   Glass
  71.   Heartbreak
  72.   Need
  73.   Get Lost
  74.   I Don't Wanna Be
  75.   Album Version
  76.   Stripped Version
  77.   W.B.T
  78.   And I Love Her
  79.   Interview

Artists Related to Gavin DeGraw