Slacker Logo


God Forbid

God Forbid forges the gritting, teeth-baring bile of American death metal together with the melodic overtones of the so-called "New Wave of Swedish Death Metal" promulgated by bands like In Flames, Arch Enemy, and the late, lamented, and legendary At the Gates. Equal parts Pantera, Hatebreed, and early Sepultura, the central New Jersey based band have carved out a name for themselves touring with the formidable likes of Cradle of Filth, Nile, and Candiria, and playing gigs with bands as diverse as Sevendust, Sick of it All, Soul Brains, and Shadows Fall. God Forbid's music cuts a clear, brutal path through metal's inter-genre barriers as swiftly as the band's diverse ethnic makeup cuts across color lines. The men of God Forbid -- hulking, imposing vocalist Byron Davis; bassist Beeker; drummer Corey Pierce; and the brotherly guitar team of Doc Coyle and his older sibling Dallas -- first emerged with the Out of Misery EP in 1998. Their debut full-length album, Reject the Sickness, followed in 2000 through the small but fierce indie imprint 9 Volt Records. The album received a ton of spins on New Jersey/New York-area metal radio powerhouse WSOU, and eventually garnered the attention of the L.A. offices of Century Media Records, who quickly signed God Forbid to a worldwide deal. The result was 2001's Determination album, a sharp, crisp, and incredibly focused effort showcasing the band's songwriting talents and penchant for diverse musical interplay and technical wizardry. Subsequent touring with some of the biggest acts in metal and hardcore music followed, solidifying God Forbid's position as an up-and-coming contender for a highly regarded position amongst metal's most elite. Even Cradle of Filth vocalist Dani Filth was suitably impressed, reveling in the band's intensity and commenting on it nightly from the stage while touring across the States alongside them. That same year, the Reject the Sickness EP was reissued with extra tracks as the band embarked on tours with Opeth and crossed the pond for sold-out U.K. and European shows. ~ Ryan J. Downey
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
God Forbid

    Metal Mosh Pit

    Metal Mosh Pit
    8 songs

Albums by
God Forbid

Top Songs by
God Forbid

  1.   Song
  2.   Better Days
  3.   Anti-Hero
  4.   Living Nightmare
  5.   Chains of Humanity
  6.   Into the Wasteland
  7.   Divinity
  8.   Nothing
  9.   Go Your Own Way
  10.   Force-Fed
  11.   Walk Alone
  12.   Precious Lie
  13.   War of Attrition
  14.   Gods Last Gift
  15.   Lonely Dead
  16.   This Is Who I Am
  17.   Cornered
  18.   Equilibrium
  19.   Divide My Destiny
  20.   Conquer
  21.   Broken Promise
  22.   Where We Come From
  23.   Awakening
  24.   Overcome
  25.   A Few Good Men
  26.   My Rebirth
  27.   Gaia (The Vultures)
  28.   Earthsblood
  29.   Dark Waters
  30.   Amendment
  31.   The End of the World
  32.   Gone Forever
  33.   Washed-Out World
  34.   Mind Eraser
  35.   Dead Words on Deaf Ears
  36.   Determination, Pt. 1
  37.   Wicked
  38.   Dawn of the Millenia
  39.   Pages
  40.   Don't Tell Me What to Dream
  41.   Bat The Angels
  42.   The Rain
  43.   Crucify Your Beliefs
  44.   Constitution of Treason
  45.   Welcome To the Apocalypse (Preamble)
  46.   To The Fallen Hero
  47.   Under This Flag
  48.   No Sympathy
  49.   Madman
  50.   Habeeber
  51.   N2
  52.   Reject The Sickness
  53.   Judge the Blood
  54.   Nosferatu
  55.   Determination, Pt. 2
  56.   Shallow
  57.   A Reflection of the Past
  58.   Move On
  59.   Scraping the Walls
  60.   Stockholm Syndrome (Muse)
  61.   Empire of the Gun
  62.   The Discovery
  63.   The Century Fades
  64.   Weather the Storm
  65.   Heartless
  66.   Ashes of Humanity (Regret)
  67.   Assed Out
  68.   Soul Engraved
  69.   Inside
  70.   Network
  71.   The New Clear
  72.   Master Killer

Artists Related to God Forbid

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |