Slacker Logo


God Forbid

God Forbid forges the gritting, teeth-baring bile of American death metal together with the melodic overtones of the so-called "New Wave of Swedish Death Metal" promulgated by bands like In Flames, Arch Enemy, and the late, lamented, and legendary At the Gates. Equal parts Pantera, Hatebreed, and early Sepultura, the central New Jersey based band have carved out a name for themselves touring with the formidable likes of Cradle of Filth, Nile, and Candiria, and playing gigs with bands as diverse as Sevendust, Sick of it All, Soul Brains, and Shadows Fall. God Forbid's music cuts a clear, brutal path through metal's inter-genre barriers as swiftly as the band's diverse ethnic makeup cuts across color lines. The men of God Forbid -- hulking, imposing vocalist Byron Davis; bassist Beeker; drummer Corey Pierce; and the brotherly guitar team of Doc Coyle and his older sibling Dallas -- first emerged with the Out of Misery EP in 1998. Their debut full-length album, Reject the Sickness, followed in 2000 through the small but fierce indie imprint 9 Volt Records. The album received a ton of spins on New Jersey/New York-area metal radio powerhouse WSOU, and eventually garnered the attention of the L.A. offices of Century Media Records, who quickly signed God Forbid to a worldwide deal. The result was 2001's Determination album, a sharp, crisp, and incredibly focused effort showcasing the band's songwriting talents and penchant for diverse musical interplay and technical wizardry. Subsequent touring with some of the biggest acts in metal and hardcore music followed, solidifying God Forbid's position as an up-and-coming contender for a highly regarded position amongst metal's most elite. Even Cradle of Filth vocalist Dani Filth was suitably impressed, reveling in the band's intensity and commenting on it nightly from the stage while touring across the States alongside them. That same year, the Reject the Sickness EP was reissued with extra tracks as the band embarked on tours with Opeth and crossed the pond for sold-out U.K. and European shows. ~ Ryan J. Downey
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
God Forbid

    Metal Mosh Pit

    Metal Mosh Pit
    10 songs


    1 song

Albums by
God Forbid

Top Songs by
God Forbid

  1.   Song
  2.   Better Days
  3.   Anti-Hero
  4.   Into the Wasteland
  5.   Chains of Humanity
  6.   Living Nightmare
  7.   Shallow
  8.   Force-Fed
  9.   War of Attrition
  10.   Divinity
  11.   Nothing
  12.   Go Your Own Way
  13.   Habeeber
  14.   Divide My Destiny
  15.   Dead Words on Deaf Ears
  16.   Wicked
  17.   Soul Engraved
  18.   Determination, Pt. 1
  19.   Constitution of Treason
  20.   To The Fallen Hero
  21.   Broken Promise
  22.   This Is Who I Am
  23.   Scraping the Walls
  24.   My Rebirth
  25.   Stockholm Syndrome (Muse)
  26.   Empire of the Gun
  27.   The Discovery
  28.   Weather the Storm
  29.   Crucify Your Beliefs
  30.   Lonely Dead
  31.   The End of the World
  32.   Gone Forever
  33.   Inside
  34.   N2
  35.   Reject The Sickness
  36.   A Reflection of the Past
  37.   Dawn of the Millenia
  38.   Move On
  39.   Cornered
  40.   Overcome
  41.   Equilibrium
  42.   Conquer
  43.   A Few Good Men
  44.   Earthsblood
  45.   Walk Alone
  46.   The Rain
  47.   Master Killer
  48.   The Century Fades
  49.   Heartless
  50.   Dark Waters
  51.   Assed Out
  52.   Amendment
  53.   Welcome To the Apocalypse (Preamble)
  54.   Judge the Blood
  55.   Washed-Out World
  56.   Precious Lie
  57.   No Sympathy
  58.   Nosferatu
  59.   Madman
  60.   Mind Eraser
  61.   Gods Last Gift
  62.   Out Ta Get Me
  63.   Where We Come From
  64.   Awakening
  65.   Don't Tell Me What to Dream
  66.   Gaia (The Vultures)
  67.   Bat The Angels
  68.   The New Clear