Slacker Logo



The solar-powered space pop combo Grandaddy were formed in 1992 in Modesto, California, by singer/guitarist/keyboardist Jason Lytle, bassist Kevin Garcia, and drummer Aaron Burtch. Although a noisy, lo-fi approach characterized early recordings like 1994's Complex Party Come Along Theories, the addition of guitarist Jim Fairchild and keyboardist Tim Dryden in 1995 expanded the band's sound exponentially, fueling such subsequent efforts as the unreleased Don't Sock the Tryer and the 1996 EP A Pretty Mess by This One Band. Originally issued on indie label Will Records, 1997's acclaimed full-length Under the Western Freeway proved to be Grandaddy's creative breakthrough, and the following year the album was reissued on major-label V2, with "Summer Here Kids" earning Single of the Week honors in the pages of the NME. The Broken Down Comforter Collection, a compilation of singles tracks, preceded the 1999 Signal to Snow Ratio EP, which heralded a movement toward the vintage electronic textures further in evidence on 2000's superb Sophtware Slump. In 2002, the group released another odds-n-sods collection, Concrete Dunes, which paved the way for a busy 2003. That spring, Grandaddy released the Floating Debris EP as well as their fourth full-length, Sumday, and spent the rest of the year touring, making appearances at festivals such as Glastonbury. In 2005, they resurfaced with the Excerpts from the Diary of Todd Zilla EP, and a full-length album (Just Like the Fambly Cat) followed in 2006. The latter release was essentially a solo project for frontman Jason Lytle, however, as the group disbanded during the recording process. Lytle subsequently relocated from California to Montana. He resurfaced in 2009 with his first proper solo release, Yours Truly, the Commuter, on Anti-. After releasing an album of improvised piano pieces titled Merry X-Mas 2009 at the end of the year, Lytle's next move was to form Admiral Radley with former Grandaddy bandmate Burtch, plus Aaron Espinoza and Ariana Murray of Earlimart. Their first album, I Heart California, was released on Espinoza's The Ship label in July of 2010. Lytle next returned to his own songs and began recording his second album. Meanwhile, he was recruited by Fairchild to put Grandaddy back together for some 2012 festival appearances. The group played the U.K.'s End of the Road Festival, San Francisco's Outside Lands, and Paris' Rock en Seine Festival, as well as some warmup dates. Plans for an album were kicked around, but before that could happen, Lytle released Dept. of Disappearance in October of 2012, again for Anti-. In 2015, Lytle hinted that a new Grandaddy album was on the way. Fans of the group had to wait until the summer of 2016, during another reunion tour that featured an old-school lineup of Burtch, Dryden, Fairchild, and Garcia alongside Lytle, to hear the confirmation that Grandaddy's fifth studio record was indeed in the pipeline. The band signed to Brian "Danger Mouse" Burton's 30th Century Records label and released Last Place in March of 2017. Despite getting the band back together for live shows, the album was written and performed by Lytle only, with just a bit of drumming from Burtch. ~ Jason Ankeny
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    Indie Party

    Indie Party
    4 songs

    Top Indie

    Top Indie
    4 songs

    Indie Rock Mix

    Indie Rock Mix
    4 songs

    '90s Indie

    '90s Indie
    3 songs

    Indie Chill

    2 songs

    Relax Trax

    1 song

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   So You'll Aim Toward the Sky
  3.   The Crystal Lake
  4.   Alan Parsons in a Winter Wonderland
  5.   Evermore
  6.   Way We Won't
  7.   The Warming Sun
  8.   A.M. 180
  9.   Underneath the Weeping Willow
  10.   Hewlett's Daughter
  11.   A Lost Machine
  12.   Elevate Myself
  13.   Miner at the Dial-A-View
  14.   Everything Beautiful Is Far Away
  15.   He's Simple, He's Dumb, He's the Pilot
  16.   Broken Household Appliance National Forest
  17.   I'm on Standby
  18.   Nature Anthem
  19.   Lawn & So On
  20.   Now It's On
  21.   Saddest Vacant Lot in All the World
  22.   The Boat Is in the Barn
  23.   Laughing Stock
  24.   Discarded Pilot Intro
  25.   [Untitled Hidden Track]
  26.   El Caminos in the West
  27.   Beautiful Ground
  28.   I Don't Wanna Live Here Anymore
  29.   At My Post
  30.   Wives of Farmers
  31.   Summer Here Kids
  32.   Jed the 4th
  33.   This Is the Part
  34.   Rear View Mirror
  35.   Love Hurts
  36.   That's What You Get for Gettin' Outta Bed
  37.   She-Deleter
  38.   Jed the Humanoid
  39.   Clear Your History
  40.   Ghost of 1672
  41.   XD-Data II
  42.   Chartsengrafs
  43.   The Go in the Go-For-It
  44.   Poisoned at Hartsy Thai Food
  45.   Street Bunny
  46.   Skateboarding Saves Me Twice
  47.   50%
  48.   Wonder Why In L.A.
  49.   Disconnecty
  50.   E. Knievel Interlude (The Perils of Keeping It Real)
  51.   Rode My Bike to My Stepsister's Wedding
  52.   Oxygen/Aux Send
  53.   F**k the Valley Fudge
  54.   Nonphenomenal Lineage
  55.   Guide Down Denied
  56.   Collective Dreamwish of Upperclass Elegance
  57.   A Valley Son (Sparing)
  58.   Brush With the Wild
  59.   Stray Dog and the Chocolate Shake
  60.   Goodbye?
  61.   This Is How It Always Starts
  62.   Campershell Dreams
  63.   O.K. with My Decay
  64.   Jeez Louise
  65.   Where I'm Anymore
  66.   Go Progress Chrome
  67.   Jed's Other Poem (Beautiful Ground)
  68.   The Animal World
  69.   Summer...It's Gone
  70.   What Can't Be Erased
  71.   Lost on Yer Merry Way
  72.   Revolution
  73.   What Happened...
  74.   Our Dying Brains
  75.   Moe Bandy Mountaineers
  76.   N. Blender
  77.   Cinderland
  78.   The Final Push to the Sum
  79.   Florida
  80.   Air Conditioners in the Woods
  81.   First Movement/Message Sent
  82.   Pull the Curtains
  83.   Aisle Seat 37-D
  84.   L.F.O.
  85.   I Don't Want to Record Anymore
  86.   "Yeah" Is What We Had
  87.   The Group Who Couldn't Say
  88.   Oh She Deleter :(
  89.   Why Took Your Advice
  90.   Chek Injin
  91.   Under the Western Freeway
  92.   Songbird Son