Slacker Logo


Grizzly Bear

Grizzly Bear began as a home recording project for Boston-bred experimentalist Edward Droste, the son of an elementary school teacher, who laid the groundwork for the band's otherworldly debut album on a small hand-held tape recorder while holed up for 15 months in his Greenpoint, Brooklyn, apartment. His homespun D.I.Y. effort took on new life with the help of multi-instrumentalist Christopher Bear, a Chicago native who had worked in a diverse range of musical projects ranging from laptop electronica to free jazz, who added additional instrumentation and vocals to Droste's stripped-down sonic blueprints. The resulting album, Horn of Plenty -- a pet project originally meant only for Droste's friends -- eventually circulated through New York's underground music scene, with its unique blend of acoustic instruments, layered vocals, and found sounds earning comparisons to alt-rock heavy-hitters such as Sigur Rós, Sufjan Stevens, and Animal Collective. Originally released to little fanfare in 2004, the album gained momentum thanks to copious touring, with Chris Taylor joining the band on reeds and electronics, and Daniel Rossen providing additional guitar and vocals. It was reissued in 2005 as a two-CD set featuring remixes by Dntel (of the Postal Service), Final Fantasy, Solex, and the Soft Pink Truth (aka Drew Daniel of Matmos). An album of Droste's early demo recordings, Sorry for the Delay, was released in 2006 as the band finished up recording Yellow House, its second proper full-length album. Warp signed the band that spring and released Yellow House that fall. A year later, the Friend EP, which featured cameos from Beirut, CSS, and Band of Horses, arrived. For 2009's elaborate Veckatimest, the band collaborated with contemporary classical composer/conductor Nico Muhly, Beach House vocalist Victoria LeGrand, the Acme String Quartet, and the Brooklyn Youth Choir. The album would be a resounding success for the band, debuting at number eight on the Billboard 200 and making the band a ubiquitous entry on critical year-end lists. The band eventually followed up three years later with its 2012 effort, Shields. ~ Bret Love
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Grizzly Bear

    '00s Indie

    '00s Indie
    3 songs

    Indie Chill

    Indie Chill
    2 songs

    Late Night Mix

    Late Night Mix
    1 song

    Top Alternative

    Top Alternative
    1 song

    Alternative Mix

    1 song

    Pop Rock

    1 song

    Adult Alternative

    1 song

    Adult Rock

    1 song

    Top Indie

    2 songs

    Indie Rock Mix

    2 songs

    Indie Party

    2 songs

Albums by
Grizzly Bear

Top Songs by
Grizzly Bear

  1.   Song
  2.   Two Weeks
  3.   Knife
  4.   Yet Again
  5.   While You Wait for the Others
  6.   On a Neck, on a Spit
  7.   Sleeping Ute
  8.   Southern Point
  9.   Deep Blue Sea
  10.   Foreground
  11.   Don't Ask
  12.   Shift
  13.   Little Brother
  14.   All We Ask
  15.   Central and Remote
  16.   A Good Place
  17.   Gun-Shy
  18.   Ready, Able
  19.   Knife by Atlas Sound
  20.   Sun in Your Eyes
  21.   Merge
  22.   Will Calls
  23.   Speak in Rounds
  24.   Slow Life
  25.   Owner of a Lonely Heart
  26.   Particular to What?
  27.   Sure Thing
  28.   I Live With You
  29.   Hold Still
  30.   Cheerleader
  31.   Plans
  32.   Easier
  33.   Reprise
  34.   La Duchess Anne
  35.   This Song
  36.   Showcase
  37.   [Untitled]
  38.   What's Wrong?
  39.   Granny Diner
  40.   Alligator
  41.   Service Bell
  42.   Deep Sea Diver
  43.   Smothering Green
  44.   Listen and Wait
  45.   Taken Down
  46.   Half Gate
  47.   A Simple Answer
  48.   The Hunt
  49.   Adelma
  50.   Fragments
  51.   A Leader Always Carries a Stick
  52.   Sorry for the Delay
  53.   Fine for Now
  54.   Blackcurrrant Jam
  55.   Plans
  56.   Eavesdropping
  57.   Fix It
  58.   Campfire
  59.   Dory
  60.   Everyone I Know
  61.   August March
  62.   Disappearing Act
  63.   Marla
  64.   Lullabye
  65.   Colorado
  66.   He Hit Me
  67.   About Face

Artists Related to Grizzly Bear


Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |