Slacker Logo



Siblings Elizabeth and Arejay Hale, the core members of the hard rock band Halestorm, began the group in late 1997 near York, Pennsylvania, with Arejay on drums and Elizabeth on vocals and keyboard. Wanting to expand their sound, the duo invited their father, Roger, to play bass for Halestorm. Soon after their first professional gig in 1998 at the Blue Mountain Coffee House in Hershey, Pennsylvania, the band added various guitar players and released an EP, 1999's (Don't Mess with The) Time Man. More lineup changes occurred, but Halestorm finally solidified with Elizabeth (who was by then going by Lzzy) on vocals and guitar, Josh Smith on bass, Arejay on drums, and Joe Hottinger on guitar. The band caught the attention of producer David Ivory as well as Atlantic Records, both of whom were involved in the band's major-label debut, 2006's One and Done, a five-song EP recorded live at a show in Philadelphia. They would finally make their full-length studio debut in 2009 with the eponymous Halestorm, all the while maintaining a rigorous touring schedule that would see them playing upwards of 250 shows a year. The following year, Halestorm released the concert recording Live in Philly 2010, and Reanimate: The Covers EP appeared in 2011, featuring the band's takes on songs by Heart, Guns N' Roses, and Lady Gaga. Their sophomore album, The Strange Case Of..., followed in 2012, and the single "Love Bites (So Do I)" earned the group a Grammy Award for Best Hard Rock/Metal Performance. Reanimate 2.0 was released in 2013, this time finding the band tackling Fleetwood Mac, Daft Punk, and Marilyn Manson. The band's eclectic third studio long-player, the Jay Joyce-produced Into the Wild Life, was released in April 2015, and was preceded by the single "Apocalyptic." ~ Marisa Brown
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    Xtreme Alt Rock

    Xtreme Alt Rock
    8 songs

    Top 50 Breakout Artists of 2013

    Top 50 Breakout Artists of 2013
    1 song

    Hard Rock

    Hard Rock
    8 songs

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   I Miss the Misery
  3.   Love Bites (So Do I)
  4.   Freak Like Me
  5.   I Get Off
  6.   It's Not You
  7.   I Am the Fire
  8.   Apocalyptic
  9.   Amen
  10.   Mayhem
  11.   Bad Romance
  12.   Familiar Taste of Poison
  13.   Here's to Us
  14.   Gold Dust Woman
  15.   Slave to the Grind
  16.   Shoot Thrill
  17.   I Like It Heavy
  18.   Mz. Hyde
  19.   [CD-Rom Track]
  20.   All I Wanna Do Is Make Love to You
  21.   Get Lucky
  22.   Innocence
  23.   Bet U Wish U Had Me Back
  24.   I'm Not an Angel
  25.   You Call Me a Bitch Like it's a Bad Thing
  26.   Dirty Mind
  27.   Scream
  28.   Better Sorry Than Safe
  29.   Dear Daughter
  30.   Dirty Work
  31.   Daughters of Darkness
  32.   Gonna Get Mine
  33.   Love/Hate Heartbreak
  34.   Beautiful With You
  35.   Straight Through the Heart
  36.   Break In
  37.   Private Parts
  38.   Sick Individual
  39.   In Your Room
  40.   The Reckoning
  41.   What Were You Expecting
  42.   Bad Girl's World
  43.   Rock Show
  44.   Nothing to Do With Love
  45.   Hell Is for Children
  46.   Hate It When You See Me Cry
  47.   American Boys
  48.   Conversation Over
  49.   Hunger Strike
  50.   What Sober Couldn't Say
  51.   Unapologetic
  52.   New Modern Love
  53.   Jump the Gun
  54.   Out Ta Get Me
  55.   Don't Know How to Stop
  56.   Dissident Aggressor
  57.   1996
  58.   Empire State of Mind
  59.   Show Me
  60.   Takes My Life
  61.   Boom City
  62.   The Hand
  63.   Blue Eyes
  64.   I Want You (She's So Heavy)
  65.   Interesting
  66.   Tell Me Where It Hurts
  67.   Intro
  68.   As the Eagle Flies
  69.   No Clue
  70.   Time Man
  71.   Wings
  72.   You and I Could Fly

Artists Related to Halestorm