Slacker Logo


Hercules & Love Affair

The project of producer Andrew Butler, Hercules & Love Affair combines disco, house and techno in ways that bridge the gap between indie and dance and highlight the passion behind his music. Butler began DJ'ing at a leather bar as a teen in his native Denver, Colorado. After a move to New York, he became further immersed in club culture as a party promoter and began to make his own music. Butler's first 12" for the DFA label, 2007's "Classique"/"Roar" -- a co-production with Tim Goldsworthy -- featured vocals from close associate Kim Ann Foxman and friend Antony Hegarty, bearing his deep affinity for electro-disco and early Chicago house. "Blind," an early-2008 follow-up, preceded a self-titled full-length released on DFA that March. A year later, Butler assembled Sidetracked, a DJ mix heavy on late-'80s and early-'90s house favorites, for the Renaissance label. His group's second album, the relatively low-key Blue Songs, was issued on Moshi Moshi in early 2011. An expanded version featuring a bonus disc of remixes followed that August. Butler then provided a mix for !K7's long-running DJ-Kicks series, released in November 2012. After taking second album Blue Songs on tour, Butler decamped to Vienna and found himself an analog studio to put down ideas for his third album. Opting this time for a dirtier sound -- by mixing elements of rough house and techno -- Butler joined forces with Haze Factory and Blue Songs collaborator Mark Pistel (Consolidated) to complement the raw direction that he had decided to take. The Feast of the Broken Heart, featuring lead vocal turns from the likes of John Grant, Krystle Warren, and Rouge Mary, was released in May 2014. A handful of remixes -- for Sylvan Esso, Róisín Murphy, and Citizenn, among others -- appeared the following year. For Hercules & Love Affair's fourth album, Butler drew inspiration from his struggles with substance abuse and his path back to sobriety. The result was 2017's Omnion, which featured collaborations with Sharon Van Etten, the Horrors' Faris Badwan, and Icelandic vocalist Sísý Ey. ~ Andy Kellman & Rich Wilson
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Hercules & Love Affair

    House Mix

    House Mix
    1 song

Albums by
Hercules & Love Affair

Top Songs by
Hercules & Love Affair

  1.   Song
  2.   Blind
  3.   Controller by Faris Badwan
  4.   Do You Feel the Same?
  5.   Are You Still Certain?
  6.   Athene
  7.   Easy
  8.   5:43 to Freedom
  9.   Iris
  10.   Wildchild
  11.   The Light
  12.   Think
  13.   True/False, Fake/Real
  14.   This Is My Love
  15.   Time Will
  16.   Rejoice
  17.   Epilogue
  18.   Through Your Atmosphere
  19.   My Curse and Cure
  20.   Lies
  21.   Running
  22.   Rejoice
  23.   Raid
  24.   The Key
  25.   Liberty
  26.   I Try to Talk to You
  27.   My Offence
  28.   Hercules Theme 2014
  29.   Roar
  30.   Hercules Theme
  31.   You Belong
  32.   Raise Me Up
  33.   Fools Wear Crowns
  34.   I'm Telling You
  35.   That's Not Me
  36.   Classique #2
  37.   Omnion by Sharon Van Etten
  38.   My House

Artists Related to Hercules & Love Affair

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |