Slacker Logo



The Oakland-based Hieroglyphics are an underground rap collective who, at their best, combine an offbeat sensibility with a strong grounding in battle rhyming, freestyling, and other hip-hop traditions. All the members enjoy their own separate careers -- founder Del tha Funkee Homosapien, Casual, the Souls of Mischief, Extra Prolific, producer/manager Domino, Pep Love, and producer Jay Biz (the latter two of whom have also worked together as the Prose). Most of the members had known each other since high school (or earlier), and after Del scored a record deal with his cousin Ice Cube's help, much of the Hieroglyphics crew wound up with major-label contracts of their own. Del, Souls of Mischief, and Casual, in particular, earned strong cult followings, but Hieroglyphics never produced a breakout mainstream star, and all the members wound up dropped from their respective labels by the mid-'90s despite their generally high-quality work. The crew regrouped with their own label, Hieroglyphics Imperium, which provided not only a platform for their future releases, but total creative control. In addition, the entire collective teamed up for the first album under the Hieroglyphics name, Third Eye Vision, in 1998. Several self-released compilations also appeared, and the proper Hieroglyphics follow-up, Full Circle, dropped in 2003. In 2007 the crew treated fans to a collection of rare B-sides and remixes from all the members, entitled Over Time. Five years later the crew reunited for The Kitchen, the first proper Hieroglyphics album in a decade. ~ Steve Huey
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    Underground Hip-Hop

    Underground Hip-Hop
    4 songs

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   You Never Knew
  3.   G.U.O.M.D.
  4.   At the Helm
  5.   The Who
  6.   All as Above So Below
  7.   Gun Fever
  8.   Oakland Blackouts
  9.   Fantasy Island
  10.   After Dark
  11.   If You Must featuring Del the Funky Homosapien
  12.   Heat
  13.   The Scandle
  14.   Intro
  15.   All Things
  16.   Heebie Jeebies
  17.   Passing Fads
  18.   Golden
  19.   It's About Time by Del the Funky Homosapien
  20.   Cyberpunks featuring Del the Funky Homosapien
  21.   Greed by A+
  22.   Phoney Phranchise by Del the Funky Homosapien
  23.   Leroy
  24.   The Last One
  25.   Casual
  26.   Shores Galore
  27.   It's Partly Me
  28.   Exciting
  29.   Immortals
  30.   Nutrition
  31.   That Merch
  32.   The Mayor
  33.   Don't Hate the Player
  34.   Battle of the Shadow featuring Del the Funky Homosapien
  35.   Fight Club
  36.   Soundscience by Souls of Mischief
  37.   Masterminds featuring Del the Funky Homosapien
  38.   Throw It in Ya Grill
  39.   Respect Deez
  40.   Think Again
  41.   Hydra
  42.   No Nuts
  43.   See Delight
  44.   Dune Methane
  45.   Phesto D
  46.   Tajai
  47.   Nano Salt
  48.   Livin' It Up
  49.   Opio
  50.   Mics of the Roundtable
  51.   Pep Love
  52.   Indonesia Interlude
  53.   Indonesia
  54.   The Kitchen Intro
  55.   Prose Officially featuring Jay Biz
  56.   Del
  57.   A-Plus
  58.   Miles to the Sun
  59.   Highway Five
  60.   Off the Record
  61.   One Life One Love
  62.   Unseen Hand by Souls of Mischief
  63.   Prelude
  64.   Powers That Be
  65.   Make Your Move by Goapele
  66.   Shift Shape
  67.   Classic
  68.   Chicago
  69.   Heatish
  70.   Halo
  71.   Love Flowin'
  72.   100,000 Indi by Abstract Rude
  73.   Let It Roll
  74.   Maggie May (R.I.P. Faith)
  75.   Jingle Jangle
  76.   Full Circle by Goapele
  77.   7 Sixes
  78.   Full Circle Tour
  79.   Catch a Bad One
  80.   If You Must
  81.   Dum Dum
  82.   Gotta Get Down
  83.   93 Til Infinty
  84.   What the Funk
  85.   Shout It Out
  86.   [Untitled Track]
  87.   Thats When Ya Lost
  88.   Go the Length
  89.   Full Circle Tour
  90.   What the Funk Remix
  91.   Soweto
  92.   One Hundred Thousand Indi
  93.   Masterminds featuring Del the Funky Homosapien
  94.   Prose Officially featuring Jay-Biz
  95.   Battle of the Shadow featuring A+ Plus
  96.   Wshores Galore