Slacker Logo


Holy Ghost!

Friends since attending elementary school on the Upper West Side of Manhattan, Alex Frankel and Nick Millhiser were members of Automato, a rap group whose last releases, including a self-titled album released in 2003, were produced by the DFA's James Murphy and Tim Goldsworthy. After Automato dissolved, Murphy and Goldsworthy encouraged Frankel and Millhiser to continue pushing toward dance music. Push they did; Frankel and Millhiser co-produced the warm and melodic “Hold On” with the DFA -- settling on the Bar-Kays-referencing Holy Ghost! just prior to the vinyl pressing stage -- and released it on the DFA label in October 2007. "I Will Come Back," their second single, didn’t come out until 2009 but made an impact with its video -- a remake of the indelible clip for New Order's “Confusion,” a snapshot of New York’s clubbing scene (with producer Arthur Baker reprising his role). The four-track Static on the Wire EP followed in 2010, continuing the duo’s uncanny ability to evoke the colorful, layered sound of early- to mid-‘80s club music. In 2011, Holy Ghost! released a self-titled album that included some of their previously released songs, as well as a guest appearance from the Michael McDonald on the closing "Some Children." By that point, Holy Ghost! had also become one of the more prolific remix teams; they had re-worked (in some cases technically covering) tracks by MGMT, Moby, Cut Copy, Phoenix, the Juan MacLean, and Murphy's LCD Soundsystem. Their second album, Dynamics, was released on DFA in 2013. ~ Andy Kellman
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Holy Ghost!


    1 song

Albums by
Holy Ghost!

Top Songs by
Holy Ghost!

  1.   Song
  2.   Wait and See
  3.   Hold On
  4.   It Gets Dark
  5.   Do It Again
  6.   Some Children
  7.   Crime Cutz
  8.   Dumb Disco Ideas
  9.   Hold My Breath
  10.   Okay
  11.   I Know, I Dub
  12.   I Will Come Back
  13.   On Board
  14.   Teenagers in Heat
  15.   It Must Be the Weather
  16.   Say My Name
  17.   I Know I Hear
  18.   Footsteps
  19.   Compass Point
  20.   Stereotype
  21.   Cheap Shots
  22.   In the Red
  23.   Don't Look Down
  24.   Bridge and Tunnel
  25.   It's Not Over
  26.   Jam for Jerry
  27.   I Wanna Be Your Hand
  28.   1 For Edgar
  29.   Dance a Little Closer
  30.   Changing of the Guard
  31.   Static On the Wire
  32.   Slow Motion

Artists Related to Holy Ghost!

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |