Slacker Logo


Immortal Technique

Born Felipe Coronel in a military hospital in Lima, Peru, in 1978, Immortal Technique moved to Harlem with his parents when he was two years old. At age nine he started rapping, though he didn't start to take it more seriously until he was in high school. Despite the fact he was in and out of trouble throughout his teenage years, Tech was accepted at Penn State University, but before he could get through much of college, he was arrested and eventually ended up spending a year in prison. It was there that he began to study the lives and teachings of black and Latino revolutionaries like Che Guevara and Malcolm X, as well as to devote himself to writing songs. Out in 1999, on parole, he moved back to New York, where he spent his days working various jobs and his nights battling other rappers, a forum that allowed him the opportunity to show off his aggressive, vituperative style. Concerned that he was being pigeonholed as a one-trick pony, Tech set about writing complete tracks, finding beats to accompany them, and eventually releasing his debut, Revolutionary, Vol. 1, in 2001 (an album that was later re-released by his own company, Viper Records, in 2004 and Babygrande in 2005). The record, plus his indefatigable work ethic, earned him local recognition and a spot as The Source's "unsigned hype" in November 2002, and the following year he issued his second album, Revolutionary, Vol. 2. Although he promised his third release would see the light of day in 2005, it wasn't until the summer of 2007 that -- besides a few singles and mixtapes -- fans got any new material from Immortal Technique, coming in the form of the full-length The Middle Passage. ~ Marisa Brown
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Immortal Technique

Albums by
Immortal Technique

Top Songs by
Immortal Technique

  1.   Song
  2.   Industrial Revolution
  3.   Dance With the Devil
  4.   The Point of Now Return
  5.   Creation & Destruction
  6.   You Never Know
  7.   Peruvian Cocaine
  8.   Freedom of Speech
  9.   Harlem Streets
  10.   Internally Bleeding
  11.   Caught in the Hustle
  12.   Rich Man's World
  13.   Obnoxious
  14.   Bin Laden
  15.   The 4th Branch
  16.   Mistakes
  17.   The Cause of Death
  18.   No Mercy
  19.   One
  20.   The Poverty of Philosophy
  21.   Toast to the Dead
  22.   The Martyr
  23.   Open Your Eyes
  24.   The 3rd World
  25.   Dominant Species
  26.   Young Lords featuring CF
  27.   Crimes of the Heart
  28.   Positive Balance
  29.   Crossing the Boundary
  30.   Eyes in the Sky by Mojo
  31.   Angels Demons by Dead Prez
  32.   Watchout
  33.   The Message & the Money
  34.   Nuclear Medicine Man
  35.   Reverse Pimpology by Mojo
  36.   The War Vs. Us All By. Mumia Abu Jamal
  37.   Parole
  38.   The Illest
  39.   No Me Importa
  40.   Leaving the Past
  41.   Homeland and Hip Hop
  42.   Sign of the Times featuring Cetan Wanbli
  43.   Beatdown of Your Life
  44.   Razorblade Deathsticks
  45.   Mark of the Beast featuring Akir
  46.   Natural Beauty by Mela Machinko
  47.   New Jack Hustler
  48.   Bin Laden Feat. MosDef (Street)
  49.   Stronghold Grip
  50.   Payback
  51.   Golpe de Estado
  52.   Death March
  53.   Speak Your Mind
  54.   The Prophecy
  55.   The Getaway
  56.   Truth's Razors
  57.   Sierra Maestra
  58.   Conquerors by Dr John Henrik Clarke
  59.   Goonies Never Die featuring Diabolic
  60.   Impeach the President
  61.   Intro
  62.   Stand Still
  63.   Ultimas Palabras
  64.   Rich Mans World (1%)
  65.   Burn This
  66.   Payback featuring Diabolic
  67.   Bin Laden Remix (Street)
  68.   Rebel Arms
  69.   Reverse Pimpology
  70.   Lick Shots
  71.   Apocrypha (Interlude)
  72.   Harlem Renaissance
  73.   That's What It Is
  74.   Top of the Food Chain
  75.   Beef & Broccoli
  76.   Revolutionary
  77.   Change Gon Come
  78.   Civil War featuring Brother Ali
  79.   Hollywood Drive By
  80.   Adios Uncle Tom
  81.   Spend Some Time
  82.   Understand Why
  83.   Black Vikings featuring Poisen Pen
  84.   Running Nowhere (Interlude)
  85.   The Rebel
  86.   The War-Vs-Us All
  87.   The Point of No Return
  88.   Apocalypse featuring Akir
  89.   Cross the Boundary
  90.   Top of the Food Chain Rmx by Poison Pen
  91.   Death March Intro