Slacker Logo



Among the neo-classic soul artists to emerge in the early 2000s, following the success of artists like D'Angelo and Lauryn Hill, Atlanta's India.Arie was poised to make a major impact. A studied songwriter and guitar player rooted in the soul and blues of the past, as well as in positive-minded contemporary hip-hop, Arie debuted with Acoustic Soul. Rich with with resonant hooks and mature lyrics -- impressive, considering she been writing songs for only five years -- the album established a remarkable career that has entailed four Grammy Awards and five consecutive placements in the Top Ten of the Billboard 200. Born in Denver to parents from Memphis and Detroit, Arie always had music in her life. The family moved to Atlanta when she was 13, and after high school she began playing guitar at the encouragement of her mother. Involvement in the fertile Atlanta music scene led to the formation of an artist's collective called Groovement and an independent label, EarthShare, which released a compilation CD featuring Arie's first songs. A second-stage slot on the 1998 Lilith Fair tour garnered major-label interest. Arie signed with Motown after she was guaranteed full artistic control. Work on Acoustic Soul dragged out over nearly two years, but Arie's pursuit of perfection and musical integrity yielded pleasing results. The album's first single, "Video," received strong radio and club play early in 2001, and the full-length followed that March. Just over a year later, Arie completed her follow-up, Voyage to India, and it appeared in September 2002. Four years later, the singer hit number one on the all-genre Billboard 200 for the first time with Testimony: Vol. 1, Life & Relationship, which also netted her three Grammy nominations. The more outward-looking Testimony: Vol. 2, Love & Politics was released through Universal Republic in February 2009 and debuted at number three on the Billboard 200. After a hiatus from the industry, she returned to Motown, where she released Songversation in June 2013. It was her fifth consecutive Top Ten album. She performed with Stevie Wonder during the Songs in the Key of Life tour and, in 2015, teamed up with Joe Sample for Christmas with Friends. ~ John Duffy
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring


    14 songs

    '00s R&B

    '00s R&B
    8 songs

    Acoustic Rock

    Acoustic Rock
    1 song

    Smooth Vocals

    Smooth Vocals
    2 songs

    Smooth Jazz

    1 song

    New Smooth Jazz

    1 song

    Coffeehouse Corner

    1 song

    Female Focus

    1 song

    Modern Gospel

    1 song

    R&B and Soul Mix

    2 songs

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Video
  3.   Brown Skin
  4.   Chocolate High
  5.   Beautiful
  6.   I Am Not My Hair
  7.   There's Hope
  8.   Purify Me
  9.   Can I Walk with You
  10.   The Heart of the Matter
  11.   Ready for Love
  12.   Favorite Time of Year featuring Joe Sample
  13.   Silent Night featuring Brandy
  14.   Good Man
  15.   Strength Courage and Wisdom
  16.   The Truth
  17.   Get It Together
  18.   Little Things
  19.   Good Mourning
  20.   Simple
  21.   I See God in You
  22.   God Is Real
  23.   I Choose
  24.   These Eyes
  25.   India' Song
  26.   Wings of Forgiveness
  27.   Mary, Did You Know?
  28.   Let It Snow
  29.   God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
  30.   Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
  31.   Talk to Her
  32.   Private Party
  33.   Interested
  34.   This Too Shall Pass
  35.   Part of My Life
  36.   A Beautiful Day
  37.   Slow Down
  38.   Beautiful Surprise
  39.   I Am Light
  40.   Just Do You
  41.   Wonderful (Stevie Wonder Dedication)
  42.   Thank You
  43.   Break the Shell
  44.   The Cure
  45.   River Rise
  46.   Intro: Loving
  47.   Strange Fruit
  48.   The One
  49.   Back to the Middle
  50.   Strength, Courage, and Wisdom - India Arie
  51.   SoulBird Reprise: Ney
  52.   Brothers' Keeper
  53.   Life I Know
  54.   Flowers
  55.   Psalms 23
  56.   Long Goodbye
  57.   Yellow
  58.   Therapy
  59.   When Love Came In featuring Lathun
  60.   Living (Interlude)
  61.   Better People
  62.   Healing
  63.   Butterfly
  64.   Pearls
  65.   Promises
  66.   Auld Lang Syne