Slacker Logo



Japandroids are an indie garage rock duo from Vancouver comprised of Brian King (guitar) and David Prowse (drums), who share singing duties. Founded in 2006, the band self-released a pair of five-track EPs, All Lies (2007) and Lullaby Death Jams (2008), before making its full-length album debut with Post-Nothing (2009) on the Canadian label Unfamiliar Records. Though Japandroids were more or less unknown at the time of their album debut, Post-Nothing got a big boost from the taste-making website Pitchfork, which championed the album as one of its "Best New Music" selections. In 2010, Polyvinyl released a compilation that lumped together All Lies and Lullaby Death Jams, titled No Singles. This singles-mindedness continued in 2011 as the band released a series of 7"s in five installments. They also debuted new material during a late summer tour, and upon returning to the studio, aimed for songs that stadium crowds would feel. The results, aptly titled Celebration Rock, followed in June 2012. Celebration Rock turned into Japandroids' breakthrough album, popping up in the Top 10 of many 2012 year-end lists. The group supported the record with an extensive tour that wrapped up in early 2013, after which the pair entered a three-year hibernation. Late in the summer of 2016, the duo divulged plans that they'd be playing live dates at the end of the year and in October, they announced they signed with Anti and the label would be releasing their third album in 2017. Near to the Wild Heart of Life appeared on January 27, 2017. ~ Jason Birchmeier
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    Top Indie

    Top Indie
    2 songs

    Indie Rock Mix

    Indie Rock Mix
    2 songs

    Indie Party

    Indie Party
    2 songs

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   The House That Heaven Built
  3.   Near to the Wild Heart of Life
  4.   The Nights of Wine and Roses
  5.   Young Hearts Spark Fire
  6.   No Known Drink or Drug
  7.   Wet Hair
  8.   Fire's Highway
  9.   North East South West
  10.   Midnight to Morning
  11.   Younger Us
  12.   Arc of Bar
  13.   Darkness on the Edge of Gastown
  14.   I'm Sorry (For Not Finding You Sooner)
  15.   Crazy/Forever
  16.   In a Body Like a Grave
  17.   Heavenward Grand Prix
  18.   Lucifer's Symphony
  19.   Heart Sweats
  20.   True Love and a Free Life of Free Will
  21.   Continuous Thunder
  22.   Adrenaline Nightshift
  23.   For the Love of Ivy
  24.   Evil's Sway
  25.   Jack the Ripper
  26.   Sexual Aerosol
  27.   Lovers/Stangers
  28.   Coma Complacency
  29.   Racer-X
  30.   Art Czars
  31.   The Boys Are Leaving Town
  32.   Sovereignty
  33.   Rockers East Vancouver
  34.   Couture Suicide
  35.   Sex and Dying in High Society
  36.   To Hell With Good Intentions
  37.   Avant Sleepwalk
  38.   No Allegiance to the Queen
  39.   Shame
  40.   I Quit Girls
  41.   Press Corps

Artists Related to Japandroids

The xx

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |