Slacker Logo


Jason Collett

Toronto native Jason Collett has earned accolades for his solo albums and tenure with several different bands -- most notably Broken Social Scene -- but it was his association with fellow songwriter Andrew Cash that first garnered him critical acclaim. After performing in the Andrew Cash Band during the late '80s and early '90s, Collett joined up with Ursula, an alternative rock spinoff of Cash's previous group. The band toured Canada and opened up for acts such as the Odds, but after several years in the music business, Collett decided to give the profession up for several years. By the mid-'90s, however, the music bug was still in his system, and Collett teamed up with Cash and Hawksley Workman to form the alternative country outfit Bird. The group's sole album, Chrome Reflection, borrowed heavily from pop, rock, and country traditions, all of which would later resurface in Collett's solo work. Before launching his own songwriting career, though, Collett first began hosting a series of singer/songwriter performances that featured members of Blue Rodeo, 54-40, and Skydiggers, among others. A popular meeting place for local musicians, the events helped cement the growing popularity of Toronto's indie music scene. In 2001, Jason Collett released his debut album, Bitter Beauty, and continued hosting the Flood Family songwriters' forum. He also joined the Canadian supergroup Broken Social Scene, which found him playing alongside a number of his Toronto peers. Collett took a break from the band in 2005 to focus on his solo career; he issued his sophomore effort, Idols of Exile, soon after. Buoyed by the album's critical acclaim, Collett (now a father of three) found time to work on a third release, whittling down the catalog of 40-plus tunes he had amassed over the previous years. Here's to Being Here was recorded in two quick sessions during the winter of 2007, and the Toronto-based Arts & Crafts label issued the disc in early 2008. He remained with Arts & Crafts for the following album, Rat A Tat Tat, which appeared in March 2010. Pony Tricks, an all-acoustic, 11-track set of reworked songs, arrived later that year. The anxieties of an election year seeped into 2012's Reckon, which addressed the troubling state of the world and a more personal sort. After his longest gap between solo albums yet, the songwriter returned in 2016 with Song & Dance Man, named after a Bob Dylan comment in a 1965 interview ("I think of myself more as a song and dance man"). It was produced by Afie Jurvanen of Bahamas, who added a breezy touch to Collett's reflective set. ~ Jason MacNeil
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Jason Collett

    Alt Country

    Alt Country
    1 song

Albums by
Jason Collett

Top Songs by
Jason Collett

  1.   Song
  2.   I'll Bring the Sun
  3.   Out of Time
  4.   Honey I Don't Know
  5.   Love Is a Dirty Word
  6.   Nothing to Lose
  7.   Brownie Hawkeye
  8.   Super Model
  9.   It Won't Be Long
  10.   Henry's Song
  11.   When the War Came Home
  12.   Jasper Johns Flag
  13.   Don't Let the Truth Get To You
  14.   Roll on Oblivion
  15.   Singing American
  16.   No Redemption Song
  17.   Little Sparrow
  18.   Papercut Hearts
  19.   I Wanna Rob a Bank
  20.   Bitter Beauty
  21.   It Don't Matter Anymore
  22.   Little Tiger
  23.   Talk Radio
  24.   We All Lose One Another
  25.   Pink Night
  26.   Little Clown
  27.   Love Is a Chain
  28.   Cold Blue Halo
  29.   Parry Sound
  30.   Runaway
  31.   Black Oak Savanna
  32.   Long Day's Shadow
  33.   Arlington
  34.   Love Song To Canada
  35.   Pulling the Sun Down
  36.   My Daddy Was a Rock-n-Roller
  37.   Not Over You
  38.   Tinsel and Sawdust
  39.   Hangover Days
  40.   Motor Motel Love Song
  41.   Blue Sky
  42.   All I've Ever Known
  43.   Lucky Star
  44.   Stormy Woman Salty Girl
  45.   Pavement Puddle Stars
  46.   Waiting For the World
  47.   Bitch City
  48.   Winnipeg Winds
  49.   Love You Babe
  50.   Song of the Silver Haired Hippie
  51.   Ask No Questions
  52.   Long May You Love
  53.   Somehow
  54.   False Cassandra
  55.   Northern Light Letdown
  56.   Through the Night These Days
  57.   Pacific Blue
  58.   Provincial Blues
  59.   Every Night by Zeus
  60.   Too Much
  61.   Feral Republic
  62.   Vanderpool Vanderpool
  63.   Lake Superior
  64.   Sugar Sugar
  65.   Tiny Ocean of Tears
  66.   Forever Young Is Getting Old
  67.   Almost Summer
  68.   If She Don't Love Me Now
  69.   Charlyn, Angel of Kensington
  70.   Sorry Lori
  71.   Black Diamond Girl
  72.   The Slowest Dance
  73.   Song and Dance Man
  74.   Got The Glory
  75.   King James Rag
  76.   Silent One
  77.   High Summer
  78.   Staring at the Sun
  79.   Airport
  80.   Rave on Sad Songs
  81.   These Are the Days
  82.   You're Not The One and Only Lonely One
  83.   Brother
  84.   Gabe
  85.   Livin' The Dream
  86.   Rainy Day Rain
  87.   Fire
  88.   Where Does Your Love Go?
  89.   Diggin' in the Carpet
  90.   Choke Cherry
  91.   Nobody's Fool
  92.   Where Things Go Wrong
  93.   Sailor Boy
  94.   Madame Pompadour
  95.   Miss Canada
  96.   Revolution Style
  97.   Something Beautiful
  98.   It's Only Love
  99.   Gabrielle
  100.   Silent One - Japanese Bonus Track
  101.   Too Much - Japanese Bonus Track
  102.   Every Night