Slacker Logo


Job For A Cowboy

Unleashing a relentless fusion of hardcore and death metal with the precision guitar attack of progressive metal, Job for a Cowboy was formed in Glendale, Arizona in 2002. The group was founded by vocalist Jonny Davy, guitarists Ravi Bhadriraju and Andrew Arcurio, bassist Chad Staples, and drummer Andy Rysdam, and the band cut their first demo CD in 2004. Later that year, Staples and Rysdam left Job for a Cowboy, with Brent Riggs and Elliott Sellers stepping in as bassist and drummer, respectively. In 2005, the band recorded a six-song EP, Doom, which attracted the attention of Arizona independent label King of the Monsters, who distributed the disc after an initial self-released pressing by the band. Doom earned a potent buzz in metal circles, enhanced by extensive touring, and Metal Blade signed the band in 2006, reissuing Doom with a bonus track. Also in 2006, Arcurio dropped out of Job for a Cowboy, and new guitarist Bobby Thompson joined the group. While Job for a Cowboy were writing material for their first full-length album, Sellers left the band, and Jon "The Charm" Rice became their new percussionist. Recorded between road trips with producer Andy Sneap at the controls, the group's first album, Genesis, was released in May 2007 by Metal Blade. Ravi Bhadriraju left the group the following year to focus on his medical studies, and was replaced by Despised Icon guitarist Al Glassman, who made his studio debut (along with Jon Rice) on 2009's Ruination. More personnel shifts followed in 2011 with the departures of bassist Brent Riggs and guitarist Bobby Thompson, who were replaced by Nick Schendzielos (Cephalic Carnage) and Tony Sannicandro, both of whom appeared on that year's digital-only Gloom EP, and on the band's 2012 long-player Demonocracy. Rice left the fold in 2013, leaving drumming duties for the band's fourth full-length album to session drummer Danny Walker. The resulting Sun Eater arrived the following year. ~ Mark Deming
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Job For A Cowboy

    Death Metal

    Death Metal
    4 songs

Albums by
Job For A Cowboy

Top Songs by
Job For A Cowboy

  1.   Song
  2.   Unfurling a Darkened Gospel
  3.   Regurgitated Disinformation
  4.   Entombment of a Machine
  5.   Sun of Nihility
  6.   The Stone Cross
  7.   Lords of Chaos
  8.   To Detonate and Exterminate
  9.   Martyrdom Unsealed
  10.   Knee Deep
  11.   Buried Monuments
  12.   Signature of Starving Power
  13.   The Deity Misconception
  14.   Embedded
  15.   Black Discharge
  16.   Butchering the Enlightened
  17.   Relinquished
  18.   A Global Shift
  19.   Imperium Wolves
  20.   [Untitled]
  21.   Reduced to Mere Filth
  22.   Upheaval
  23.   Suspended by the Throat
  24.   Bearing the Serpents Lamb
  25.   Catharsis for the Buried
  26.   Encircled By Mirrors
  27.   The Celestial Antidote
  28.   Execution Parade
  29.   Plastic Idols
  30.   Misery Reformatory
  31.   Tarnished Gluttony
  32.   The Manipulation Stream
  33.   The Matter of Splatter
  34.   Summon the Hounds
  35.   Ruination
  36.   Constitutional Masturbation
  37.   Psychological Immorality
  38.   Blasphemy
  39.   The Rising Tide
  40.   Coalescing Prophecy
  41.   Altered from Catechization
  42.   Tongueless and Bound
  43.   March to Global Enslavement
  44.   Eating the Visions of God
  45.   Strings of Hypocrisy
  46.   Worming Nightfall
  47.   The Divine Falsehood
  48.   Fearmonger
  49.   The Synthetic Sea by George "Corpsegrinder" Fisher
  50.   Nourishment Through Bloodshed
  51.   Children of Deceit

Artists Related to Job For A Cowboy

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |