Slacker Logo


Joell Ortiz

Brooklyn-born rapper Joell Ortiz, long one of the most critically acclaimed unsigned talents on the East Coast hip-hop scene, has gone a long way toward earning that reputation. A dedicated and accomplished student through his early years, and always a person to whom language came easily, Ortiz was an impressive rapper by his early teens. As he reached high school, family strife and his urban environment turned his attentions from his studies and rap career to street life and the drug trade. After a short time, however, Ortiz turned his attentions back to his life-giving pursuit of excellence in his music. Thanks to his natural talent and serious work ethics, opportunity soon found Ortiz, and he began to gain recognition. An appearance in The Source magazine and winning Chairman's Choice from XXL magazine earned Ortiz credibility and buzz that resulted in his appearance on the NBA Live 2005 soundtrack. Jermaine Dupri's So So Def label offered Ortiz a contract that year, a deal which quickly went sour, creating bad blood between Ortiz and one of the industry's most powerful players. Since that time, Ortiz continued to record and write actively, collaborating with artists like KRS-One and Kool G Rap. He is also an emcee with Slaughterhouse and is the founder of Roseville Music Group. His best-known albums include Brock: Bodega Chronicles from 2008, 2010's Free Agent, and 2014's House Slippers. Two tracks on the latter featured collaborations with New Jersey producer !llmind. In early 2015, the pair teamed for the album Human, with guests Emilio Rojas, Bodega Bamz, Chris Rivers, and Father Dude. The full-length was released in July. ~ Evan C. Gutierrez
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Joell Ortiz

Albums by
Joell Ortiz

Top Songs by
Joell Ortiz

  1.   Song
  2.   Block Royal
  3.   House Slippers
  4.   So Hard by Anna Yvette & the Ohms
  5.   Cold World featuring Lee Carr
  6.   Phone
  7.   Say Yes
  8.   Music Saved My Life featuring B.o.B.
  9.   Hip Hop
  10.   Oh! by Iffy
  11.   Caught Up
  12.   Feel So Good
  13.   Dream On
  14.   Good Man Is Gone by Royce da 5'9
  15.   Keep on Callin' by Akon
  16.   125, Pt. 4 (Finale)
  17.   125, Pt. 3 (Connections) featuring Gab Gotcha
  18.   Another Struggle
  19.   Brothers Keeper featuring Crooked I
  20.   Crack Spot
  21.   Get Down
  22.   Call Me
  23.   On Da Spot
  24.   Sing Like Bilal by Fat Joe
  25.   Killed for Less Intro featuring Jadakiss
  26.   Intro
  27.   Checkin for You
  28.   Call Me (She Said) by Novel
  29.   Bqe featuring Alex "BQE" Santiago
  30.   Latino by La Bruja
  31.   Time Is Money by Styles P
  32.   Brooklyn B*******
  33.   125, Pt. 1 (The Bio)
  34.   Battle Cry by Just Blaze
  35.   Candy by Mally Stakz
  36.   Q & A
  37.   125, Pt. 2 (Fresh Air)
  38.   One Shot (Killed for Less) by Fat Joe
  39.   Night in My P's by Big Noyd
  40.   Brooklyn Remix featuring Big Daddy Kane
  41.   Modern Day Slavery by Immortal Technique
  42.   Air Yall
  43.   Cocaine
  44.   Put Some Money on It featuring Jadakiss
  45.   Better Than featuring Kaydence
  46.   Phone Skit
  47.   Money Makes the World Go Round
  48.   Finish What Yo Start by Royce da 5'9
  49.   Nursery Rhyme
  50.   125 Pt 5 Man I M
  51.   Memories
  52.   Nights in My P S
  53.   Lil Fun
  54.   4 in the Clip
  55.   Stomp Thru
  56.   Chyna White
  57.   50 Shots (Rip Sean Bell)
  58.   Relax
  59.   Ups and Downs
  60.   Letter to Obama
  61.   Here the Next
  62.   Changes
  63.   Legend of Big Pun
  64.   Doing It
  65.   Warfare
  66.   Brooklyn Let S Go
  67.   Summertime in BK
  68.   You Lose
  69.   We Run NY
  70.   Brooklyn
  71.   Industry Enemy #1
  72.   Brooklyn Remix featuring Big Daddy Kane
  73.   125 Part 3 (Connections) featuring Gab Gotcha
  74.   It's Time
  75.   The Word
  76.   Last Man Standing
  77.   Fall Back by Billy Danze
  78.   Reppin N.Y. featuring Kool G Rap
  79.   Kill at Will by Token
  80.   Say What I Want by Chris Rivers
  81.   Precious by Raven Felix
  82.   Trouble by Zooka Joe
  83.   Walk With Me featuring Doo Wop