Slacker Logo


Jonny Lang

Modern blues in the '90s had a weird phenomenon of teenage blues guitarists rocketing to popularity with their first album. The entire trend culminated with Jonny Lang, a guitarist from Fargo, North Dakota, who released his solo debut album, Lie to Me, when he was 15. At the age of 12, he had attended a show by the Bad Medicine Blues Band and began playing with the group. Several months later he became the leader, and the newly renamed Kid Jonny Lang & the Big Bang relocated from Fargo to Minneapolis and released their debut album, Smokin', in 1995. The LP became a regional hit, leading to a major-label bidding war and culminating in Lang's signing to A&M Records in 1996. Early in 1997, his major-label debut, Lie to Me, was released to mixed reviews; the stronger effort, Wander This World, followed late the next year. Lang's next release, Long Time Coming, arrived in 2003 and garnered often withering critiques for its turn toward over-produced hard rock mixed with sometimes heavy-handed religiosity; 2006's gospel-informed Turn Around was more favorably received. Live at the Ryman was issued by Concord Records in 2010. After a seven-year hiatus, he announced details of his sixth studio album, Fight for My Soul which was scheduled for release in September 2013. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Jonny Lang

    Modern Blues

    Modern Blues
    6 songs

    Electric Blues

    Electric Blues
    6 songs

    Southern Rock

    Southern Rock
    3 songs

    All Blues

    All Blues
    3 songs

    Oldies Holiday

    1 song

Albums by
Jonny Lang

Top Songs by
Jonny Lang

  1.   Song
  2.   Lie to Me
  3.   Santa Claus Is Back in Town
  4.   Still Rainin'
  5.   Good Morning Little Schoolgirl
  6.   Rack 'Em Up
  7.   Matchbox
  8.   Hit the Ground Running
  9.   Angel of Mercy
  10.   Blew Up (The House)
  11.   Red Light
  12.   Bump in the Road
  13.   Breakin' In
  14.   A Quitter Never Wins
  15.   Wander This World
  16.   Breakin' Me
  17.   Still Wonder
  18.   Only a Man
  19.   My Love Remains
  20.   Hide Your Love
  21.   Cherry Red Wine
  22.   Walking Away
  23.   Back for a Taste of Your Love
  24.   When I Come to You
  25.   I Believe by Fisk University Jubilee Singers
  26.   On My Feet Again
  27.   Dying to Live
  28.   Beautiful One
  29.   The One I Got
  30.   The Levee
  31.   I Am
  32.   Second Guessing
  33.   Louise
  34.   The Truth
  35.   We Are the Same
  36.   Anything's Possible
  37.   Darker Side
  38.   All of a Sudden
  39.   Fight for My Soul
  40.   Thankful
  41.   That Great Day
  42.   Thankful
  43.   The Other Side of the Fence
  44.   Long Time Coming
  45.   Touch
  46.   Give Me Up Again
  47.   Leaving to Stay
  48.   Smokin'
  49.   Too Tired
  50.   "E" Train
  51.   There's Gotta Be a Change
  52.   I Love You the Best
  53.   Missing Your Love
  54.   Not Right
  55.   It's Not Over
  56.   Don't Stop (For Anything)
  57.   Turn Around
  58.   One Person at a Time
  59.   Intro
  60.   To Love Again
  61.   Save Yourself
  62.   Goodbye Letter
  63.   If We Try
  64.   Get What You Give
  65.   Before You Hit the Ground
  66.   Right Back
  67.   Changes
  68.   Lovin' My Baby
  69.   Nice & Warm
  70.   Seasons
  71.   River
  72.   What You're Looking For
  73.   Outro
  74.   Last Goodbye
  75.   Happiness and Misery
  76.   It's Obdacious
  77.   Malted Milk
  78.   Livin' for the City
  79.   I'll Always Be

Artists Related to Jonny Lang

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |