Slacker Logo


Joyce Manor

Based out of Torrance, California, Joyce Manor got its start in late 2008, conceived as the acoustic pop-punk duo of Barry Johnson (vocals, guitar) and Chase Knobbe (guitar). That idea didn't last long, however, and the band ultimately expanded, with friends coming and going until the lineup settled down a year later with the addition of Kurt Walcher (drums) and Matt Ebert (bass, vocals). Joyce Manor released a split 7" with fellow Californians Summer Vacation in the fall of 2010 via Muy Autentico Records; that same year the five-song Constant Headache demo surfaced as well. It was easy to hear the influence of Jawbreaker in Joyce Manor's music, and the group claimed other influences like early Weezer and Guided by Voices. Songs rarely went past the two-minute mark and their raw yet accessible nature helped to build their name among punk fans. 6131 Records soon took notice thanks to the band's friends in Touché Amoré, who passed their music along to the label. It then only took seeing the group live to get them totally hooked, and in the summer of 2010, Joyce Manor -- representing a departure for the primarily hardcore label -- became an official part of the 6131 family. Their self-titled, full-length debut was released in 2011 to a host of critical and fan praise, and it landed the band on many year-end best-of lists. A split with Oakland's Big Kids followed, as did a bunch of nationwide touring. Joyce Manor moved over to Asian Man Records for their next album; Of All Things I Will Soon Grow Tired appeared in April 2012, boasting an efficient nine songs in just over 13 minutes. When it came time to do the next album, the band -- with Asian Man's blessing -- jumped to Epitaph Records. The ten-song, 20-minute album, Never Hungover Again, was produced by Joe Reinhart, mixed by Tony Hoffer (Beck, Belle and Sebastian) and saw release in summer of 2014. After a long stretch of touring, during which their demands for stage diving free shows alienated some fans but drew raves from others, the band began work on another record. First, they replaced Walcher with new drummer Jeff Enzor, then they hooked up with producer Rob Schnapf, who had worked with artists like Elliott Smith, Guided by Voices, and Rancid. Schnapf taught Johnson the tricks of stretching one-minute songs into three-minute songs, and introduced the band to a real recording studio for the first time. The resulting album, 2016's Cody, was their most professional-sounding effort yet and featured guest vocals from singer/songwriter Phoebe Bridgers and Fun.'s Nate Ruess. ~ Corey Apar
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Joyce Manor

    Punk U

    Punk U
    1 song

Albums by
Joyce Manor

Top Songs by
Joyce Manor

  1.   Song
  2.   Call Out (Laundry)
  3.   Make Me Dumb
  4.   Fake I.D.
  5.   Last You Heard of Me
  6.   Schley
  7.   Heart Tattoo
  8.   Leather Jacket
  9.   Done Right Discount Flooring
  10.   5 Beer Plan
  11.   Angel in the Snow
  12.   Ashtray Petting Zoo
  13.   This Song Is a Mess But So Am I
  14.   Stairs
  15.   Over Before It Began
  16.   Bride
  17.   Tame
  18.   Heated Swimming Pool
  19.   Falling in Love Again
  20.   I'm Always Tired
  21.   Violent Inside
  22.   These Kind of Ice Skates
  23.   DFHP?
  24.   Famous Friend
  25.   Derailed
  26.   Constant Nothing
  27.   Constant Headache
  28.   Catalina Fight Song
  29.   In the Army Now
  30.   Reversing Machine
  31.   Do You Really Want to Not Get Better?
  32.   If I Needed You There
  33.   Victoria
  34.   The Jerk
  35.   Holiday Heart
  36.   Bride of Usher
  37.   Comfortable Clothes
  38.   New In This Light
  39.   Chumped
  40.   End of the Summer
  41.   My Elise
  42.   Midnight Service At The Mutter Museum
  43.   Drainage
  44.   Eighteen
  45.   21st Dead Rats
  46.   Christmas Card
  47.   See How Tame I Can Be?
  48.   Beach Community
  49.   Video Killed the Radio Star
  50.   Orange Julius

Artists Related to Joyce Manor

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |