Slacker Logo


Jurassic 5

Though there's actually six of them, Jurassic 5 got everything else right on their self-titled debut EP. Part of the new rap underground of the late '90s (along with Company Flow, Mos Def, Dr. Octagon, and Sir Menelik), the sextet -- rappers Marc 7even, Chali 2na, Zaakir, and Akil, plus producers Cut Chemist and DJ Nu-Mark -- came together in 1993 at the Los Angeles café/venue named the Good Life. The six members were part of two different crews, Rebels of Rhythm and Unity Committee; after collaborating on a track, they combined into Jurassic 5 and debuted in 1995 with the "Unified Rebellion" single for TVT Records. At the tail end of 1997, the Jurassic 5 EP appeared and was hailed by critics as one of the freshest debuts of the year (if not the decade). Both Cut Chemist and Chali 2na are also part of the Latin hip-hop collective Ozomatli, while Chemist himself recorded several mixtapes plus the wide-issue album Future Primitive Soundsession (with Shortkut from Invisibl Skratch Piklz). The year 2000 found the group on tour with Fiona Apple and on the Warped Tour, just in time for the release of Quality Control that summer. Live work continued during 2000-2001, and a second record (Power in Numbers) appeared by the end of 2002. Jurassic 5 earned new fans -- many outside of hip-hop -- by playing some unconventional venues, including Lollapalooza, Bonnaroo, and the Warped Tour. By 2006, Cut Chemist had left the group to pursue his production and DJ ambitions; the remaining quintet enlisted producers including Salaam Remi, Scott Storch, and Exile (as well as in-house talent DJ Nu-Mark) to record their third full LP, Feedback, released in July 2006. Less than a year later, however, the group called it quits, citing "musical differences." They reunited in spring 2013, playing Coachella and later announcing a full summer tour. ~ John Bush
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Jurassic 5

    '00s Hip-Hop

    '00s Hip-Hop
    1 song

    West Coast Hip-Hop

    West Coast Hip-Hop
    1 song

Albums by
Jurassic 5

Top Songs by
Jurassic 5

  1.   Song
  2.   What's Golden
  3.   High Fidelity
  4.   Quality Control
  5.   Jayou
  6.   Concrete Schoolyard
  7.   Swing Set
  8.   Lausd
  9.   Work It Out
  10.   Canto de Ossanha
  11.   Jurass Finish First
  12.   Get It Together
  13.   Improvise
  14.   World of Entertainment (Woe Is Me)
  15.   After School Special
  16.   React
  17.   Jayou
  18.   Thin Line
  19.   If You Only Knew
  20.   Ignition Sequence
  21.   Acappella
  22.   A Day at the Races
  23.   Break
  24.   Contribution
  25.   Red Hot
  26.   Sausage Gut
  27.   Wake Up Promo
  28.   Jayou Remix
  29.   The Joint Promo
  30.   (Who's Gonna Be The) Next Victim
  31.   Rubber Tires
  32.   Where We At
  33.   In the House
  34.   Gotta Understand
  35.   Radio
  36.   Back 4 U
  37.   Sum of Us
  38.   Remember His Name
  39.   Hey
  40.   One of Them
  41.   Without A Doubt
  42.   Power 106
  43.   The Joint Freestyle
  44.   The Rhythm
  45.   Lesson Four: The Radio
  46.   Ghetto Diplomat
  47.   Long Road To Glory
  48.   TV Version
  49.   Instrumental
  50.   End Up Like This
  51.   Turn It Out
  52.   J Resume (Skit)
  53.   Future Sound
  54.   Baby Please
  55.   Brown Girl (Suga Plum)
  56.   Linguistics
  57.   Lesson 6 (Reprise)
  58.   Blacktop Beat
  59.   DDT by Kool Keith
  60.   Freedom
  61.   This Is
  62.   Acetate Prophets
  63.   I Am Somebody
  64.   Verbal Gunfight
  65.   Ducky Boy
  66.   Unified Rebelution
  67.   Concrete and Clay
  68.   The Game
  69.   Contact
  70.   Great Expectations
  71.   How We Get Along
  72.   Twelve
  73.   Action Satisfaction
  74.   Setup
  75.   Lesson 6: The Lecture
  76.   Quality Control, Pt. 2
  77.   In the Flesh
  78.   Monkey Bars
  79.   Album Version
  80.   The Influence

Artists Related to Jurassic 5

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |