Slacker Logo



Justice, a Parisian dance production duo comprising Gaspard Augé and Xavier de Rosnay, generated an international buzz with "D.A.N.C.E.," a catchy single whose video and MP3 spread like wildfire across the Internet in summer 2007. Before "D.A.N.C.E." became an online sensation, Justice had released a couple singles ("Never Be Alone," "Waters of Nazareth") on Ed Banger Records, a Parisian dance label whose roster also includes DJ Mehdi, Mr. Flash, and Uffie. "Never Be Alone" (aka "We Are Your Friends") is particularly notable; based upon vocal samples from "Never Be Alone" by the British band Simian, the song was licensed in 2004 by International Deejay Gigolo Records, a German techno label helmed by DJ Hell, and consequently became popular in England and Germany, in addition to France. Augé and de Rosnay were prolific remixers as well, with high-profile credits including N.E.R.D.'s "She Wants to Move" (2004), Britney Spears' "Me Against the Music" (2005), Death from Above 1979's "Blood on Our Hands" (2005), Fatboy Slim's "Don't Let the Man" (2005), Daft Punk's "Human After All" (2005), Soulwax's "NY Excuse" (2005), Franz Ferdinand's "The Fallen" (2006), and Mr. Oizo's "Nazis" (2006). The sensational popularity of "D.A.N.C.E." in summer 2007 was driven initially by trend-setting Internet bloggers, who were quick to champion the song, in particular its video, which featured animated T-shirts. Vice Records helped fan the flames, posting numerous MP3 remixes -- for free download on its blog. All of the Internet activity set the stage perfectly for Justice's debut full-length, † (aka Cross), which was released first in France by Because Music, then in the U.S. by Vice Records shortly thereafter. The live album A Cross the Universe landed in 2008 and helped tide fans over until Audio, Video, Disco arrived in 2011. This official sophomore release was filled with prog rock sounds, guitars, and plenty of new wave-era influences. Arriving in 2013, Access All Arenas acted as another live stopgap as fans eagerly awaited the duo's next outing. New music from the duo finally appeared in 2016, with a pair of singles (July's "Safe and Sound" and September's "Randy") arriving ahead of the full-length Woman that November. Described by Justice as their most joyful music yet, the album featured the London Contemporary Orchestra as well as vocalists including Morgan Phalen, Romuald, and Zoot Woman's Johnny Blake. ~ Jason Birchmeier
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring


    2 songs


    1 song

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   D.A.N.C.E.
  3.   DVNO
  4.   Genesis
  5.   Waters of Nazareth
  6.   Alakazam !
  7.   On'n'On
  8.   Fire
  9.   New Lands
  10.   Phantom
  11.   Civilization
  12.   Tthhee Ppaarrttyy
  13.   Phantom, Pt. 2
  14.   Audio, Video, Disco
  15.   Stress
  16.   Randy
  17.   Safe and Sound
  18.   Newjack
  19.   Helix
  20.   Valentine
  21.   Let There Be Light
  22.   Water of Nazareth
  23.   One Minute to Midnight
  24.   Parade
  25.   We Are Your Friends
  26.   Pleasure
  27.   Final
  28.   Ohio
  29.   Horsepower
  30.   Canon
  31.   Brianvision
  32.   NY Excuse
  33.   East Side Centre DJ Pulse's Mix
  34.   Carpates
  35.   Chorus
  36.   Hallways
  37.   No Other Way
  38.   Find a Way
  39.   Different Love
  40.   Presence
  41.   Cold Getting Dumb
  42.   Phantom, Pt. 1
  43.   Intro
  44.   Encore
  45.   D.A.N.C.E., Pt. 2
  46.   Phantom II
  47.   Phantom, Pt. 1.5
  48.   Close Call
  49.   Love S.O.S.
  50.   Heavy Metal
  51.   Two Minutes to Midnight
  52.   Stop
  53.   Steamulation

Artists Related to Justice


Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |