Slacker Logo



A charismatic singer and songwriter who, for several years, was closely associated with the Neptunes, Kelis arrived at the tail-end of the '90s and left an immediate impression with her first solo single, "Caught Out There" -- a Top Ten R&B single with a frank and screamed chorus. While her other Top Ten R&B single, 2003's Grammy-nominated "Milkshake," was also something of a novelty hit -- and also produced by the Neptunes -- Kelis released some of the most creative R&B albums of the late '90s and 2000s. In the 2010s, she took left turns that defied expectations and remained a fascinating, unpredictable artist. Bred in Manhattan's Harlem neighborhood, Kelis Rogers left home at 16 and landed a deal with Virgin four years later. She appeared in August 1999 with a featured role on Ol' Dirty Bastard's Neptunes-produced single "Got Your Money." Her debut album, Kaleidoscope, was out by the end of the year, produced entirely by the Neptunes' Pharrell Williams and Chad Hugo. It peaked at only number 144 in the U.S. but went gold in the U.K. Two years later, she teamed up with the Neptunes once again for Wanderland. The album was issued in Europe only. Political reworkings within the U.S. wing of Virgin prevented a stateside release, which compelled Kelis to leave for Arista. Released in 2003, Tasty yielded the Top Ten hit "Milkshake," yet another Neptunes production. The song was nominated for a 2004 Grammy award in the category of Best Urban/Alternative Performance. After Kelis married Nas (a relationship that would last roughly four years), Kelis Was Here was released in 2006 through Jive, led by the duly assertive "Bossy" and featuring a verse from Too Short. The album spawned no other hits, and it would be her last studio work for the label, despite its nomination for a Best Contemporary R&B Album Grammy. Jive subsequently packaged The Hits, a mix of singles and album cuts that also featured some of the singer's most popular collaborations, such as "Get Your Money," N.E.R.D.'s "Truth or Dare," and Richard X's "Finest Dreams." Between 2006 and 2010, Kelis indulged her other passion, cookery -- enrolling at and eventually graduating from Le Cordon Bleu cooking school as a fully qualified chef. In 2010 she returned to music, signing to Interscope through the music group and releasing Flesh Tone (2010), an EDM-flavored set featuring productions from David Guetta, Benny Benassi, Boys Noize, Diplo, and Jean Baptiste. It peaked at number five on Billboard's club chart. The following year, she sang on Calvin Harris' single "Bounce," which hit number two on the U.K. singles chart. In 2013, Kelis announced that she had signed with Ninja Tune, a cult British label known for its electronica releases. She linked up with Dave Sitek of TV on the Radio and emerged the following year with the album Food, released in April. Compared to her earlier R&B work, the album was relatively raw with a couple stylistic diversions and a number of food-related song titles, such as the single "Jerk Ribs." Around that time, she presented the program Saucy & Sweet for the Cooking Channel. ~ MacKenzie Wilson & Andy Kellman
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    '90s Hip-Hop

    '90s Hip-Hop
    1 song

    Gay Anthems

    Gay Anthems
    4 songs

    Breakup Songs

    Breakup Songs
    1 song

    Hot Summer Hits

    Hot Summer Hits
    1 song

    '00s Hip-Hop

    1 song

    Pop Remixes

    1 song

    Dance Pop

    1 song

    '00s R&B

    1 song

    '90s R&B

    1 song


    1 song

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Milkshake
  3.   Got Your Money
  4.   Jerk Ribs
  5.   Trick Me
  6.   4th of July (Fireworks)
  7.   Bossy by Too $hort
  8.   Get Along With You
  9.   Goodbyes
  10.   Acapella
  11.   Runnin'
  12.   Millionaire
  13.   Young, Fresh N' New
  14.   Caught Out There
  15.   Mafia
  16.   Till the Wheels Fall Off
  17.   Wouldn't You Agree by Justin Vince
  18.   Like You
  19.   Good Stuff
  20.   Have a Nice Day
  21.   Blindfold Me
  22.   What's That Right There
  23.   Marathon
  24.   Sugar Honey Iced Tea
  25.   In the Morning
  26.   Suspended
  27.   Flash Back
  28.   Friday Fish Fry
  29.   Floyd
  30.   Brave
  31.   22nd Century
  32.   Lil Star by C-Lo
  33.   Circus
  34.   Stick Up
  35.   Rolling Through the Hood
  36.   Glow
  37.   In Public
  38.   Intro
  39.   Bounce
  40.   Biscuits N' Gravy
  41.   Rumble
  42.   Change
  43.   Bless the Telephone
  44.   Cobbler
  45.   Forever Be
  46.   Breakfast
  47.   Segue 6
  48.   Segue 5
  49.   Segue 4
  50.   Segue 3
  51.   Segue 2
  52.   Segue 1
  53.   Scream
  54.   Home
  55.   Emancipate
  56.   Aww S***! by Smoke
  57.   [Untitled Track]
  58.   Appreciate Me
  59.   Handful
  60.   I Don't Think So
  61.   Weekend
  62.   Trilogy
  63.   Living Proof
  64.   80's Joint
  65.   Attention
  66.   Protect My Heart
  67.   Keep It Down
  68.   Game Show
  69.   Mars
  70.   Ghetto Children
  71.   I Want Your Love
  72.   No Turning Back
  73.   Roller Rink
  74.   Popular Thug
  75.   Who's Lovin' You
  76.   Feeling Good (Intro)
  77.   Dreamer
  78.   Song for the Baby
  79.   Brass in Pocket
  80.   Hooch
  81.   Medley: Get Along with You / Good Stuff / Glow
  82.   Truth Or Dare

Artists Related to Kelis