Slacker Logo




Top Related Artists

  1. Finntroll
  2. Ensiferum
  3. Týr
  4. Turisas
  5. Eluveitie
Finnish folk-metal ensemble Korpiklaani (Forest Clan) formed in 2002 after the members of Shaman decided to update both their sound and name. Taking cues from both the Scandinavian metal scene and the burgeoning progressive folk movement, vocalist/guitarist Jonne Järvelä, violinist Jaakko Lemmetty, drummer Matti "Matson" Johansson, bass player Arto Tissari, guitarist Toni Honkanen, and percussionist Ali Määttä released their debut, Spirit of the Forest, on Napalm Records in 2003. The group gained a new member, accordion player Juho Kauppinen, in 2004, but lost Määttä, Honkanen, and Tissari after 2005's Voice of Wilderness. Guitar player Kalle "Cane" Savijärvi and new bassist Jarkko Aaltonen added to the cacophony for 2006's Tales Along This Road, another fine collection of whiplash folk and folk-inspired hedonism that rocked harder than most conventional metal acts. The similarly themed Tervaskanto arrived in 2007. The band then made a move to Nuclear Blast, where they released Korven Kuningas in 2008, as well as Karkelo in 2009. In 2011, Jaakko Lemmetty announced he would be leaving the band for health reasons, appearing on the band's seventh album, Ukon Wacka, before being replaced by Tuomas Rounakari. Another album, Manala, arrived in 2012, but was followed the next year by another departure, this time accordion player Juho Kauppinen, who was replaced by Sami Perttula. The band's ninth album, Noita, appeared in May 2015, featuring a cover of the Tommy James chestnut "Mony Mony." ~ James Christopher Monger
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Korpiklaani
  3.   Petoeläimen kuola
  4.   Mettänpeiton Valtiaalle
  5.   With Trees
  6.   Soil of the Corpse
  7.   Crows Bring the Spring
  8.   Hullunhumppa
  9.   Vodka
  10.   Rauta
  11.   Sen Verran Minäkin Noita
  12.   Lempo
  13.   Off to the Hunt
  14.   Ievan polkka
  15.   Before the Morning Sun
  16.   Fields In Flames
  17.   Ämmänhauta
  18.   Kylästä Keväinen Kehto
  19.   Luontoni
  20.   Sahti
  21.   Pilli On Pajusta Tehty
  22.   Ieva's Polka
  23.   Predator's Saliva
  24.   Honor
  25.   Ruumiinmultaa
  26.   Dolorous
  27.   Vaarinpolkka
  28.   Tuoppi Oltta
  29.   Surma
  30.   Päät Pois Tai Hirteen
  31.   Korvesta Liha
  32.   Vesaisen Sota
  33.   Sulasilmä
  34.   Kultanainen
  35.   Kohmelo
  36.   Juodaan Viinaa
  37.   Isku Pitkästä Ilosta
  38.   Huppiaan Aarre
  39.   Bring Us Pints of Beer (If You Don't Drink, You Can Leave)
  40.   Tapporauta