Slacker Logo




Top Related Artists

  1. Finntroll
  2. Ensiferum
  3. Týr
  4. Eluveitie
  5. Turisas
Finnish folk-metal ensemble Korpiklaani (Forest Clan) formed in 2002 after the members of Shaman decided to update both their sound and name. Taking cues from both the Scandinavian metal scene and the burgeoning progressive folk movement, vocalist/guitarist Jonne Järvelä, violinist Jaakko Lemmetty, drummer Matti "Matson" Johansson, bass player Arto Tissari, guitarist Toni Honkanen, and percussionist Ali Määttä released their debut, Spirit of the Forest, on Napalm Records in 2003. The group gained a new member, accordion player Juho Kauppinen, in 2004, but lost Määttä, Honkanen, and Tissari after 2005's Voice of Wilderness. Guitar player Kalle "Cane" Savijärvi and new bassist Jarkko Aaltonen added to the cacophony for 2006's Tales Along This Road, another fine collection of whiplash folk and folk-inspired hedonism that rocked harder than most conventional metal acts. The similarly themed Tervaskanto arrived in 2007. The band then made a move to Nuclear Blast, where they released Korven Kuningas in 2008, as well as Karkelo in 2009. In 2011, Jaakko Lemmetty announced he would be leaving the band for health reasons, appearing on the band's seventh album, Ukon Wacka, before being replaced by Tuomas Rounakari. Another album, Manala, arrived in 2012, but was followed the next year by another departure, this time accordion player Juho Kauppinen, who was replaced by Sami Perttula. The band's ninth album, Noita, appeared in May 2015, featuring a cover of the Tommy James chestnut "Mony Mony." ~ James Christopher Monger
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Viima
  3.   Päät Pois Tai Hirteen
  4.   Korpiklaani
  5.   A Man With a Plan
  6.   Keep on Galloping
  7.   Journey Man
  8.   Jouni Jouni
  9.   Kunnia
  10.   Vaarinpolkka
  11.   Vesilahden Veräjillä
  12.   Cottages & Saunas
  13.   Sahti
  14.   The Steel
  15.   Vodka
  16.   Sulasilmä
  17.   Let`S Drink
  18.   Running With the Wolves
  19.   Hunting Song
  20.   Antaja
  21.   Kohmelo
  22.   Väkirauta
  23.   Veriset Äpärät
  24.   FC Lahti