Slacker Logo



Kotchy is an electro-pop singer/songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, producer, and remixer from Brooklyn who generated buzz on the Internet prior to making his album debut in 2009. Born Chad Curlow and originally from Indianapolis, he launched his musical career in Brooklyn, where at first he performed as the drummer of the Epochs, a local band. On his own, he billed himself as Kotchy (a name given to him by his grandmother) and released a series of EPs and free downloads in association with the labels Civil Music in London and Seclusiasis in Philadelphia. The early EPs include She Made It Easy (2008), Sing What You Want (2008), I'd Have to Be High (2009), and Le Passion, Yo! (2009), the latter a collaboration with rapper Shunda K of the group Yo Majesty. These early EPs, along with a bounty of freely downloadable MP3s that circulated in the music blogosphere, generated ever-increasing buzz about Kotchy. Comparisons were drawn between Kotchy and contemporary pop stars such as Justin Timberlake, Pharrell Williams, and Beck, among others, and writers went to great lengths to categorize his genre-bending musical style, which draws from glitchy electronica and hip-hop in terms of production as well as pop, R&B, and rap in terms of songwriting. A high-profile remix of the Tricky single "Council Estate" (2008) also generated buzz about Kotchy. He made his full-length debut in 2009 with 89, a wide-ranging album that features most of his previously released singles. ~ Jason Birchmeier
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   A Superstar
  3.   Track 16
  4.   Check out My Keychain
  5.   She Made It Easy by Drums of Death
  6.   Raise Your Eyebrows
  7.   A Superstar by The Silent Jeff
  8.   Party Your Blues Away (feat Benni E) by Benni
  9.   You Can Have Me Right Now
  10.   Check Out My Keychain by Débruit
  11.   One For The Money by Starkey
  12.   Falling in Love
  13.   A Superstar by Hrdvsion
  14.   String Vinyl Bell
  15.   Sing What You Want by MRK1
  16.   One For The Money by Bd1982
  17.   Shake
  18.   Check Out My Keychain by Eclectic Method
  19.   Blood and Tongue
  20.   She Made It Easy
  21.   Pay Me
  22.   Gonna Have to Wait
  23.   Three Lonely Girls
  24.   One for the Money
  25.   Check Out My Keychain by Dev79
  26.   She Made It Easy by Reso
  27.   Holla
  28.   Sing What You Want
  29.   Check Out My Keychain by The Chap
  30.   Same as It Never Was
  31.   Sing What You Want by Rusko

Artists Related to Kotchy


Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |