Slacker Logo



The Savannah, Georgia-based Kylesa are, fundamentally, a metal group, but they are otherwise difficult to categorize: elements of hardcore punk, psychedelic stoner rock, technical speed metal, and good old-fashioned Black Sabbath sludge appear in their music. Also, with a front line consisting of three very different singers instead of a single focal point, Kylesa have a musical variety lacking from many of their more monochromatic peers. Kylesa formed in Savannah in 2001, taking their unusual name from "kilesa mara," what Buddhist teachings term demons of defilement and delusion. Guitarist and singer Phillip Cope and bassist Brian Duke were former members of the Savannah grindcore act Damad, which had released two albums in the '90s; the original lineup was completed with the addition of guitarist and singer Laura Pleasants and drummer Brandon Baltzley. After the release of a single and a split EP with Memento Mori, sessions for Kylesa's debut album were tragically cut short when Duke died during an epileptic seizure. Replacing Duke with bassist and singer Corey Barhorst, the band completed its self-titled debut, released in late 2002. More singles and a placeholder EP, 2004's No Ending 110 Degree Heat Index, followed before Kylesa signed with the indie metal label Prosthetic Records and released their second proper album, To Walk a Middle Course, in 2005. Following the release of that album, Baltzley left the group, replaced by a pair of drummers, Jeff Porter and Carl McGinley. Kylesa's third album, Time Will Fuse Its Worth, was released on Halloween 2006, followed by Static Tensions in 2009. The following year, Kylesa dove even deeper into the psychedelic waters they'd been exploring with Spiral Shadow, which arrived on Season of Mist. The trend continued on their more melodic and expansive sixth album, 2013's Ultraviolet. But Cope and Pleasants never stopped writing. They stockpiled riffs, melodies, and production ideas before embarking on a grueling bout of touring that would last into 2014. When the pair reentered the studio, it was with new drummer Carl McGinley. They delved into their stash for source material. In July of 2015, they announced the imminent release of the album The Exhausting Fire with first single "Lost and Confused." Recorded at the Jam Room in Columbia, South Carolina and produced by Cope, the set compiled and compounded virtually every sound that Kylesa had explored on earlier records as well as some new ones. The Exhausting Fire was issued on October 2. ~ Stewart Mason
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Only One
  3.   Said and Done
  4.   Unknown Awareness
  5.   Cocaine Pinata by Cream Abdul Babar
  6.   Between Silence and Sound
  7.   Crusher
  8.   Hollow Severer
  9.   Drum Jam
  10.   Lost and Confused
  11.   Shiss by Cream Abdul Babar
  12.   To Forget
  13.   Tired Climb
  14.   Crowded Road
  15.   Inverse
  16.   Fractured
  17.   Vulture's Landing
  18.   Steady Breakdown
  19.   Long Gone
  20.   Wavering
  21.   Bottom Line II
  22.   Spiral Shadow
  23.   Back and Forth
  24.   Troy:Sailor by Cream Abdul Babar
  25.   Rose in the Mouth by Cream Abdul Babar
  26.   Curse of Lost Days, The I by Cream Abdul Babar
  27.   What Becomes an End
  28.   Where the Horizon Unfolds
  29.   Curse of Lost Days, The V by Cream Abdul Babar
  30.   Bass Salts
  31.   End Truth
  32.   Nature's Predators
  33.   Out of My Mind
  34.   Falling
  35.   Shaping the Southern Sky
  36.   Paranoid Tempo
  37.   Train of Thought
  38.   Blood Moon
  39.   Night Drive
  40.   Moving Day
  41.   Inward Debate
  42.   Curse of Lost Days, The III by Cream Abdul Babar
  43.   Drifting
  44.   Quicksand
  45.   Low Tide
  46.   What Does It Take
  47.   We're Taking This
  48.   Unspoken
  49.   Forsaken
  50.   Drop Out
  51.   Don't Look Back
  52.   Distance Closing In
  53.   Almost Lost
  54.   Interstellar Overdrive
  55.   Intro
  56.   Intermission
  57.   Identity Defined
  58.   Ignoring Anger
  59.   Phantoms
  60.   Shatter the Clock
  61.   Bottom Line
  62.   Welcome Mat to an Abandoned Life
  63.   Insomnia for Months
  64.   Cheating Synergy
  65.   In Memory
  66.   111 Degree Heat Index
  67.   Paranoid
  68.   Drained
  69.   Curse of Lost Days, The II by Cream Abdul Babar
  70.   The Warning
  71.   Eyes Closed From Birth
  72.   Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun
  73.   Perception
  74.   Scapegoat
  75.   Growing Roots
  76.   Curse of Lost Days, The IV by Cream Abdul Babar
  77.   Outro
  78.   Exhale
  79.   Motion and Presence
  80.   Running Red
  81.   Grounded
  82.   To Walk Alone
  83.   Dust
  84.   Crashing Slow
  85.   No Remorse
  86.   Ceaseless Becoming
  87.   The Scarab
  88.   Point of Stillness
  89.   Testing the Good of Man
  90.   Descend Within
  91.   Dream of the Freedom to Come
  92.   Parent's Song
  93.   No Ending
  94.   A 100° Heat Index
  95.   Delusion on Fire
  96.   Clutches (Nausea)
  97.   Left to Stawrve
  98.   DVD
  99.   Pain and Suffering by Victims
  100.   III Degree Heat Index
  101.   Grouded

Artists Related to Kylesa