Slacker Logo



A French-named yet Japanese rock act, L'Arc-en-Ciel came together in 1991, formed by bassist Tetsuya Ogawa. The original lineup went astray with two members departing in 1992, but Ogawa (aka Tetsu) was able to rope in new members and continue the band. The band released their full-length debut in April 1993. Entitled Dune, the album reached number one on the independent charts and helped get them a major-label deal with Sony in 1994. In addition to stepping up to the majors, 1994 also saw the band release its second album, Tierra. With momentum in their favor, L'Arc-en-Ciel released their next two albums in as many years, 1995's Heavenly and 1996's True. A 1997 drug bust involving drummer Sakura created a sales backlash against the band, and L'Arc-en-Ciel took a break from the spotlight. With new drummer Yukihiro in tow, the band made a successful comeback with a sellout show in Tokyo later in 1997. The band, back to full strength, returned to the forefront with 1998 album release Heart. A new high-water mark was hit when, in 1999, two L'Arc-en-Ciel albums hit the streets on the same day: Ark and Ray, which occupied the top two spots on the album chart upon their release. 2000's Real would be the band's cue to take a much needed break, with members going off and exploring solo projects and remix work. The band returned in 2003, and by 2004 found themselves at their first North American gig, at a Baltimore anime convention. The American show was eventually released on DVD, and the band went on to sign a U.S. deal with HMV in 2007. While 2005 saw the release of the album Awake and its subsequent tour, L'Arc-en-Ciel went back on hiatus for two years, with members again focusing on solo aspirations. L'Arc-en-Ciel regrouped in 2007, released the album Kiss, and began a tour that was to last from December of that year to February 2008. ~ Chris True
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Lost Heaven
  3.   Killing Me
  4.   Living in Your Eyes (Hitomi No Jyunin)
  5.   Feeling Fine
  6.   Forever (Eien)
  7.   Kiss (Kuchizuke)
  8.   My Dear
  9.   Trust
  10.   Spirit Dreams Inside
  11.   Revelation
  12.   Coming Closer
  13.   New World
  14.   Lover Boy
  15.   Twinkle, Twinkle
  16.   Time Goes On
  17.   [Untranslated]
  18.   Winter Fall
  19.   Ibara No Namida
  20.   Voice
  21.   Sell My Soul by Arc en Ciel Musica
  22.   Milky Way
  23.   The Black Rose by Arc en Ciel Musica
  24.   Pretty Girl by Arc en Ciel Musica
  25.   Ophella
  26.   Neo Universe
  27.   Ready Steady Go
  28.   Kasou
  29.   Shi No Hai
  30.   Entichers
  31.   Taste of Love
  32.   Shine
  33.   Bless
  34.   I Love Rock'n Roll
  35.   drink it down
  36.   Good-Morning Hide
  37.   The Fourth Avenue Cafe
  38.   I Wish
  39.   Anemone
  40.   Snow Drop by Arc en Ciel Musica
  41.   Cradle
  42.   All Year Around Falling in Love
  43.   Spiral by Arc en Ciel Musica
  44.   Existence
  45.   Driver's High
  46.   Honey
  47.   Nexus 4
  48.   Fare Well
  49.   Caress of Venus
  50.   Dearest Love
  51.   Perfect Blue
  52.   Butterfly's Sleep
  53.   A Silent Letter
  54.   Birth!
  55.   Shout at the Devil
  56.   Lies and Truth
  57.   Flower
  58.   Dive to Blue
  59.   Stay Away
  60.   Pieces
  61.   Blurry Eyes
  62.   Ushinawareta Nagame
  63.   Kaze Ni Kienaide
  64.   The Silver Shining by Arc en Ciel Musica
  65.   Lose Control by Arc en Ciel Musica
  66.   L' Heure by Arc en Ciel Musica
  67.   It's the End by Arc en Ciel Musica
  68.   What Is Love
  69.   Forbidden Lover
  70.   Time Slip
  71.   Route 666
  72.   Bravery
  73.   Anata
  74.   Niji
  75.   Singin' In the Rain
  76.   Hurry Xmas by Arc en Ciel Musica
  77.   Alone en La Vida by Arc en Ciel Musica
  78.   Seventh Heaven by Arc en Ciel Musica
  79.   As One
  80.   Heaven's Drive
  81.   As If in a Dream
  82.   Be Destined
  83.   Round and Round
  84.   Trick by Arc en Ciel Musica
  85.   Finale
  86.   Love Flies
  87.   Get out from the Shell
  88.   Spirit Dreams Inside (from Final Fantasy)~Spirit Dreams Inside
  89.   Fate
  90.   Loreley
  91.   Tsuioku no Jyokei
  92.   Dune
  93.   Floods of Tears
  94.   Larva
  95.   The Nepenthes
  96.   Promised Land
  97.   Shutting from the Sky