Slacker Logo


Leela James

Like almost all other musicians hit with the neo-soul and retro-soul tags, the primary inspirations of singer and songwriter Leela James are classic artists who arrived no later than the early '70s. Aretha Franklin, Chaka Khan, and Tina Turner were among the vocalists to whom the gritty-voiced Los Angeles, California native was likened. After James was showcased on an uplifting track off Pete Rock's Soul Survivor II, "No Tears," she made her proper debut on Warner Bros. with a throwback-oriented set titled A Change Is Gonna Come (2005). Featuring a cover of Sam Cooke's song of the same title, as well as one of No Doubt's "Don't Speak," the album involved assistance from major figures including Kanye West, Raphael Saadiq, James Poyser, and Chucky Thompson. It entered the Billboard 200 at number 148 and was followed with an appearance on Ray Charles' posthumous Genius & Friends, as well as nominations for Soul Train Music and NAACP Image awards. After splitting from Warner Bros., the singer landed on the roster of Shanachie and recorded one of the label's more inspired all-covers sets, Let's Do It Again (2009). The same year, she contributed to "Walk with Me," a highlight on Moby's Wait for Me album. The singer switched to Stax for My Soul (2010), which featured some of her own songwriting and peaked in Billboard's R&B/hip-hop Top Ten. A return to Shanachie yielded Loving You More...In the Spirit of Etta James (2012), a release more adventurous than the title indicated. She switched to J&T for her fifth album, Fall for You (2014), home to her three highest-charting Hot Adult R&B tracks, such as the Anthony Hamilton duet "Say That." Around the same time, James began a two-season stint on the reality television series R&B Divas: Los Angeles. Did It for Love (2017), James' BMG-supported sixth album, offered her most refined mix of vintage and contemporary sounds to that point. ~ Andy Kellman
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Leela James

    R&B Smooth Jams

    R&B Smooth Jams
    1 song

    R&B and Soul Mix

    R&B and Soul Mix
    4 songs


    3 songs

    Smooth Jazz

    Smooth Jazz
    1 song

    New Smooth Jazz

    1 song

Albums by
Leela James

Top Songs by
Leela James

  1.   Song
  2.   Don't Want You Back
  3.   Fall For You
  4.   A Change Is Gonna Come
  5.   Set Me Free
  6.   Tell Me You Love Me
  7.   Say That by Anthony Hamilton
  8.   Soul Food
  9.   Music
  10.   Take Me
  11.   When You Love Somebody
  12.   Do Me Right
  13.   This Day Is for You
  14.   Hard for Me
  15.   Save Me
  16.   My Joy
  17.   Don't Mean a Thang
  18.   So Good
  19.   Nobody Loves You Like Me
  20.   Damn Your Eyes
  21.   I Want To Know What Love Is
  22.   Baby I'm Scared Of You
  23.   Prayer
  24.   Intro
  25.   Good to Love You
  26.   I Remember
  27.   Everything
  28.   Soul Will Never Die
  29.   So Cold
  30.   If It's Wrong
  31.   Miss You
  32.   It's Alright
  33.   Don't Speak
  34.   Didn't I
  35.   Our Love
  36.   Say That
  37.   Give It
  38.   Old School Kind of Love
  39.   I'd Rather Go Blind
  40.   Something's Got a Hold on Me
  41.   The Fact Is
  42.   Supa Luva
  43.   Party All Night
  44.   Mr. Incredible Ms. Unforgettable
  45.   It's Over
  46.   Simply Beautiful
  47.   Let's Do It Again
  48.   It's A Man's Man's Man's World
  49.   I'd Rather Be With You
  50.   Clean Up Woman
  51.   Good Time
  52.   Did It for Love
  53.   There 4 U
  54.   Real Talk: Relationships (Interlude)
  55.   All Over Again
  56.   Stay with Me
  57.   Who's Gonna Love You More
  58.   I'm Loving You More Every Day
  59.   Let It Roll
  60.   I Ain't New to This
  61.   You Know How To Love Me
  62.   Nobody Knows You When You're Down And Out
  63.   I Try
  64.   Long Time Coming
  65.   Rain
  66.   Ghetto
  67.   At Last
  68.   Sunday Kind of Love
  69.   I Want to Ta-Ta You Baby
  70.   I Want It All
  71.   Mistreating Me
  72.   It Hurts Me So Much

Artists Related to Leela James

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |