Slacker Logo


Lil' Kim

After making her presence known on Junior M.A.F.I.A.'s debut album, Conspiracy, Lil' Kim launched a solo career in 1996 with the release of her first record, Hard Core. As the album's title implies, Kim was a rarity among female rappers -- one who not only concentrated on edgy hardcore rap but also explicit sexuality, two territories that had long been the province of male rappers. Of course, Kim's near-pornographic sexuality and hard-edged rhythms made her an anomaly within hip-hop, but Hard Core proved that she was no novelty, as it garnered positive reviews and strong sales. A native of Bedford-Stuyvesant, Brooklyn, Lil' Kim was raised by her parents until they split up when she was nine years old. Following their separation, she lived with her father, yet he threw her out of the house when she was a teenager. As a teen, she lived with her friends and, occasionally, on the streets. Eventually, she and her rhyming skills came to the attention of Biggie Smalls, who helped her cultivate her career. Smalls helped her become a member of Junior M.A.F.I.A., and Kim was a key part of the group's hit debut single, "Player's Anthem." Kim also made a big impression on the remainder of Junior M.A.F.I.A.'s 1995 debut album, Conspiracy. Following the release of Conspiracy, Kim appeared on records by Mona Lisa, the Isley Brothers, Total, and Skin Deep. For her debut album, she worked with a variety of producers, including Sean "Puffy" Combs, High Class, Jermaine Dupri, and Ski. The result, entitled Hard Core, was released in late 1996. Kim's marketing campaign for the album was quite provocative -- she was dressed in a skimpy bikini and furs in the advertisements, as well as the album covers -- but instead of resulting in a backlash, the album became a hit, debuting at number 11 on the pop charts. The first single from the album, "No Time," a duet with Sean "Puffy" Combs, became a number one rap single. The long-awaited Notorious K.I.M. followed in 2000, and then came La Bella Mafia in 2003. Two years later Kim was in court defending herself against a perjury charge. She was eventually convicted of lying to a federal grand jury about her knowledge of a 2001 shooting outside of New York's influential radio station Hot 97 FM. Kim had claimed she wasn't aware that her manager and a friend were present, but surveillance cameras proved the two were there. In September of that year, the new album The Naked Truth appeared while its "Lighters Up" single was dominating urban radio. Documenting the rapper's preparations for incarceration, the BET reality show Lil' Kim: Countdown to Lockdown first aired in March 2006 and became the most watched series debut in the network's history. On July 3, 2006, she was released on good behavior after serving ten months of her 12-month sentence. Kim exited the prison in a silver Rolls-Royce. She quickly returned to the music scene in 2007, participating in a number of remixes, collaborations, and concert appearances with the likes of Diddy, Keyshia Cole, Missy Elliott, and 50 Cent, among others. The following year, Kim released Ms. G.O.A.T. (Greatest Of All Time), which was produced by Mister Cee, Lance Rivera, the Trackmasters, and DJ Whookid. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Lil' Kim

    '90s Hip-Hop

    '90s Hip-Hop
    3 songs

    '00s Hip-Hop

    '00s Hip-Hop
    3 songs

Albums by
Lil' Kim

Top Songs by
Lil' Kim

  1.   Song
  2.   Magic Stick by 50 Cent
  3.   How Many Licks?
  4.   Crush on You
  5.   Not Tonight
  6.   Big Momma Thang
  7.   The Jump Off by Mr. Cheeks
  8.   Drugs
  9.   No Time
  10.   Queen B@$#H
  11.   Download
  12.   Lighters Up
  13.   Hold On
  14.   Notorious Kim
  15.   Suck My D**K
  16.   Single Black Female
  17.   Black Friday
  18.   Queen Bitch, Pt. 2
  19.   No Matter What They Say
  20.   Don't Mess with Me
  21.   Whoa
  22.   Heavenly Father by Big Hill
  23.   Aunt Dot
  24.   Dreams
  25.   She Don't Love You
  26.   Thug Luv by Twista
  27.   Doing It Way Big
  28.   Hold It Now
  29.   M.A.F.I.A. Land
  30.   Migo
  31.   Identity Theft (Nicki Minaj Diss)
  32.   Pissin on Em
  33.   Can't F*** With Queen Bee
  34.   Quiet
  35.   I Know You See Me
  36.   Slippin
  37.   Spell Check
  38.   Came Back for You
  39.   Tha Beehive
  40.   (When Kim Say) Can You Hear Me Now? by Missy Elliott
  41.   This Is a Warning
  42.   This Is Who I Am featuring Mashonda
  43.   Do What You Like
  44.   Who's Number One?
  45.   Player Haters
  46.   Intro in a-Minor
  47.   Real Sick by Jadakiss
  48.   Suicide by French Montana
  49.   Work the Pole
  50.   Haterz
  51.   Stadium Music by Yo Gotti
  52.   Kimmie Blanco
  53.   Pussy Callin by Lil' Boosie
  54.   Cheatin
  55.   Gimme Brain
  56.   Clap Clap
  57.   Faded by Rick Ross
  58.   Buy U Music by Keri Hilson
  59.   Get Yours
  60.   Winners and Losers
  61.   Kitty Box
  62.   Durty
  63.   All Good
  64.   Shut Up B***h
  65.   Get in Touch With Us by Styles P
  66.   Shake Ya Bum Bum
  67.   Hollyhood Skit
  68.   Can't F**k With Queen Bee featuring Full Force
  69.   Custom Made (Give It to You)
  70.   Lil' Drummer Boy
  71.   **** You
  72.   Take It!
  73.   Answering Maching Skit 2
  74.   Spend a Little Doe
  75.   Whenever You See
  76.   Trendsetter
  77.   IRS
  78.   Hustle Hard
  79.   Grindin Makin Money featuring Birdman
  80.   Lights Camera Action