Slacker Logo


Lily Allen

With her omnivorous musical tastes and cheeky attitude, London-based pop singer/songwriter Lily Allen made a name for herself almost as soon as she released her demos on the Internet. The daughter of comedian Keith Allen, Lily spent most of her childhood bouncing from one school to another; in fact, she attended 13 different schools between the ages of five and 15. This constant moving meant she didn't have much of a chance to make lasting friendships, so Allen entertained herself with books and, especially, music: she listened to everything from T. Rex, the Specials, and the Slits to the Happy Mondays and drum'n'bass, and even ran away to see the Glastonbury Festival when she was 14. After she left school a year later, she realized that music was the only career for her. Allen concentrated on her songwriting and singing, developing a style that was equally sweet and bratty; late in 2005, she set up a MySpace page and posted demos of her songs, as both individual tracks and as part of two limited-edition "mixtapes" that also featured tracks by Dizzee Rascal, Creedence Clearwater Revival, and Ludacris. The critical acclaim for her work fueled Allen's publicity, leading to tens of thousands of friends on MySpace, airplay on BBC Radio One, and a record deal with Regal/Parlophone before the end of 2005. Allen began working on her full-length album with producers such as Greg Kurstin, Mark Ronson (with whom she also collaborated on a cover of the Kaiser Chiefs' "Oh My God" that appeared on her second mixtape), and Futurecut, and released a limited-edition 7" of LDN as her debut single in spring 2006. Both LDN and Smile, which followed that summer, were chart successes, with the former reaching number seven on the U.K. chart and the latter hitting number one the week it debuted. Hot on the heels of Smile came Allen's first full-length, Alright, Still, which she supported with a slew of dates stretching out to the end of the year. Despite the speed of her success, Allen continued to update her MySpace page with amusing blog rants, including one about her June 2006 appearance on Top of the Pops that berated the lead singer of the Kooks for "wearing broken straw hats and dark sunglasses" indoors and Dirty Pretty Things for having "organic sliced bread on the rider." Allen rang in 2007 with more tour dates, including gigs in Japan, Australia, and the U.S., and the U.S. release of Alright, Still. She also earned nominations for British Breakthrough Act and British Female Solo for that year's Brit Awards, while "Smile" and Alright, Still were nominated for British Single and British Album, respectively. Allen spent most of 2007 touring, but also collaborated with Dizzee Rascal on Maths and English's duet "Wanna Be," and provided vocals on Basement Jaxx's Crazy Itch Radio. Allen's personal life and side projects were nearly as prominent as her music career, with her relationship with Chemical Brother Ed Simons and her subsequent miscarriage making headlines in late 2007 and early 2008. In February 2008, Allen embarked on a talk show on BBC Three, Lily Allen and Friends, which lasted through that April. That month, Allen posted two new demos on her MySpace page, including "GWB," which was about President George Bush; for her second album, she worked with producer Greg Kurstin of the Bird and the Bee, and co-wrote several songs with him instead of just providing the lyrics. She also worked on songs with Jamie Reynolds of the Klaxons and wrote a song about comedian James Corden for the 2008 Shockwaves Awards. Another new song, "Everyone's at It," debuted that fall, and Allen courted controversy again with an unauthorized cover of Britney Spears' "Womanizer" that December. It's Not Me, It's You, which covered topics like drugs, fame, family, and society, arrived early in 2009, preceded by the single "The Fear." Despite the album's success, which included platinum certification in the U.K. and a debut at the top of the charts in the U.K., Canada and Australia (and at number five in the U.S.), in September 2009 Allen did not renew her record contract and took a hiatus from making music. She remained busy, however, founding her own label In the Name Of (which included Cults on its roster), writing songs for the musical version of Bridget Jones' Diary, and starting a family with her boyfriend Sam Cooper, whom she married in June 2011. The following year, she announced that she was in the studio working on new music with longtime producer Greg Kurstin; she also sang vocals on P!nk's 2012 single "True Love," which was produced by Kurstin. Early in 2013, she gave birth to her second child. By November 2013, she had released a cover of Keane's "Somewhere Only We Know" for a holiday television commercial by U.K. retailer John Lewis. The single version promptly became her third U.K. number one single. Two subsequent singles, "Hard Out Here" and "Air Balloon," both reached the British Top Ten as well, and both appeared on her third album, Sheezus, which appeared in early May 2014. ~ Heather Phares
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Lily Allen

    Breakup Songs

    Breakup Songs
    3 songs

    Female Rock

    Female Rock
    1 song

    Hot Summer Hits

    Hot Summer Hits
    2 songs

    Coffeehouse Corner

    Coffeehouse Corner
    2 songs

    Top Alternative

    1 song

    Alternative Mix

    1 song

    Pop Rock

    1 song

    Adult Alternative

    1 song

    Adult Rock

    1 song

    '00s Indie

    1 song

    Female Focus

    1 song

Albums by
Lily Allen

Top Songs by
Lily Allen

  1.   Song
  2.   The Fear
  3.   Smile (Radio Edit)
  4.   LDN
  5.   Everything's Just Wonderful
  6.   Who'd Have Known
  7.   22
  8.   Everyone's at It
  9.   F**k You
  10.   Chinese
  11.   Somewhere Only We Know
  12.   Not Fair
  13.   Not Big
  14.   Him
  15.   Shame For You
  16.   Take What You Take
  17.   Friend of Mine
  18.   Air Balloon
  19.   Don't Get Me Wrong
  20.   Hard Out Here
  21.   Our Time
  22.   Sheezus
  23.   Litllest Things
  24.   Never Gonna Happen
  25.   I Could Say
  26.   Knock 'Em Out
  27.   Friday Night
  28.   Back to the Start
  29.   He Wasn't There
  30.   Alfie
  31.   Fuck You
  32.   Little Soldier
  33.   L8 CMMR
  34.   Life For Me
  35.   As Long As I Got You
  36.   Naïve
  37.   Holding On To Nothing
  38.   Who Do You Love?
  39.   Silver Spoon
  40.   Url Badman
  41.   Close Your Eyes
  42.   Smile Version Revisited
  43.   Miserable Without Your Love
  44.   Insincerely Yours
  45.   U Killed It
  46.   Mr Blue Sky
  47.   Nan You're A Window Shopper
  48.   Interlude
  49.   Wind Your Neck In
  50.   Take My Place
  51.   The Fear (The People vs Lily Allen) Remake
  52.   Blank Expression
  53.   Absolutley Nothing
  54.   Cheryl Tweedy
  55.   Everybody's Changing
  56.   Smile (Instrumental)
  57.   5 O'clock in the Morning (Who'd Have Known) Remix
  58.   Shelter You by Louis Eliot
  59.   Something's Not Right
  60.   [CD-Rom Track]
  61.   Don't Get Me Wrong
  62.   Absolutely Nothing
  63.   It's Not Me, It's You
  64.   LDN/Dance Wiv Me
  65.   The Count (aka Hervé) and Lily Face the Fear
  66.   Womanizer
  67.   Straight to Hell
  68.   Late Comer
  69.   [Untitled]
  70.   Why
  71.   The Count
  72.   Fag Hag
  73.   Kabul Shit