Slacker Logo



Formed in 1980 by Dennis Stratton (guitar) on his exit from Iron Maiden, he was joined in this crusade by vocalist Jess Cox (b. England, ex-Tygers Of Pan Tang), Frank Noon (Next Band/ Def Leppard) on drums, Steve Mann (Liar) on guitar and Rocky Newton (Wildfire) on bass. They made their highly impressive debut one Saturday night at the Marquee, London, but suffered from bad press thanks to criticism of Cox. This led to the cancellation of the next two appearances and saw Cox replaced by Reuben Archer (Lautrec). Noon quit in 1981 to join Paul Di’Anno’s band before setting off for Waysted. The nucleus of Stratton, Mann and Newton continued with various line-ups that included drummers Les Binks (Judas Priest) and Clive Edwards (Grand Prix). In 1982 they signed to Heavy Metal Records but only managed to release one track, on the Heavy Metal Heroes, Vol. 2 compilation. That track, ‘Lionheart’, remains the only representative recording of their early sound, as they later changed their style significantly. With the addition of Chad Brown on vocals and session drummer Robert Jenkins, they went on to record an album with producer Kevin Beamish (REO Speedwagon). This was a slick, Americanized effort that failed to capture the old fans’ interest or that of their target audience in the USA. In 1985 the band continued with drummer Andy Bierne and Phil Lanzon (keyboards), who had been playing with re-formed glam rockers Sweet. After a while, Lanzon also left and was replaced by Steve Mann from Stratus and new vocalist Keith Murrell. They eventually split up in 1986, with Bierne going into management, Murrell to Mama’s Boys and Newton and Mann joining MSG. Stratton later found fame in Japan as part of the British All Stars/ Praying Mantis line-up, which featured a number of ex-New Wave Of British Heavy Metal musicians.
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Brothers Keeper
  3.   Trial by Fire
  4.   Wasteland by Travis Pacheco
  5.   The Bend Before The Break
  6.   The Unfathomable: A robyn, gentyl robyn
  7.   Lifer
  8.   Te Sanctum Dominum
  9.   Rest In Power
  10.   Rat
  11.   Keep Talkin'
  12.   Hard Times
  13.   Rewind
  14.   Pange Melos Lacrimosum
  15.   Condimentum Nostre Spei
  16.   Leaves of the Same Tree
  17.   Diffusa Est Gratia
  18.   The Beloved: I. Quam Pulcra Es
  19.   The Truth
  20.   Hail Mary
  21.   Undisputed
  22.   The Unfathomable: I. Adew Mes Amours
  23.   The Triumphant: Anima mea liquefacta est
  24.   Love Don't Live Here
  25.   Still Bitter Still Cold
  26.   The Triumphant: III. Beata Dei Genitrix
  27.   The Unfathomable: iff I had wytt for to endyght
  28.   By Any Means
  29.   Introducing
  30.   What Doesn't Kill You
  31.   Mens Fidem / Encontre / In Odorem
  32.   Can't Hold Us Down
  33.   New Enemies
  34.   Bury Me
  35.   The Beloved: IV. Who Shall Have My Fayre Ladye
  36.   Going Back to the Bay
  37.   Still
  38.   Relentless
  39.   Better Days
  40.   That's Real
  41.   The Desired: IV. Blow Thi Horne Hunter
  42.   This Means War
  43.   The Only Life I Know
  44.   LHHC
  45.   Reprisal
  46.   Gaude Maria Virgo
  47.   Virtutum Thronus Frangitur
  48.   Calling You Out
  49.   No Way Out
  50.   Veris Ad Imperia
  51.   It's Too Late
  52.   How I Was Raised
  53.   The Desired: I. Tota Pulcra Es
  54.   Betrayed
  55.   Procurans Odium
  56.   Ave Maria Fons Letitie
  57.   Never Break
  58.   Built On Struggle
  59.   Pain
  60.   The Desired: III. And I War a Maydyn
  61.   With Honor
  62.   Mundus Vergens
  63.   This Is Who I Am
  64.   The Will to Survive
  65.   Filled with Hate
  66.   Letting Go
  67.   Nowhere
  68.   At Your Door
  69.   Concrete
  70.   From Nothing
  71.   John the Revelator, a mass for 6 voices, string quartet & organ~Agnus Dei by Phil Kline
  72.   Lock Jaw
  73.   Mors Vite Propitia
  74.   Olim Sudor Herculis
  75.   Through Hell And Back
  76.   Witness
  77.   Wasteland
  78.   Pure Anger
  79.   Buried Alive
  80.   The Desired: II. Up Y Arose
  81.   The Beloved: Ibo michi ad montem mirre
  82.   Ave Virgo Virginum
  83.   The Maternal: Quid petis o fili?
  84.   F.T.W.
  85.   The Beloved: V. Salve Regina Misericordie
  86.   Escalante
  87.   Dead Wrong
  88.   The Hand That Feeds
  89.   What I've Become
  90.   I'm Already Dead
  91.   End of My Rope
  92.   I Am Forever
  93.   Don't Speak My Name
  94.   Breves Dies Hominis
  95.   The Triumphant: II. O Regina Mundi Clara