Slacker Logo


Little Texas

One of the most popular country bands of the early '90s, Little Texas was influenced by modern country outfits like Alabama and Restless Heart, as well as country-rock groups like the Eagles. The band came together in pairs. Porter Howell and Duane Propes started playing together in high school in 1983, and they both moved to Nashville to go to college. Tim Rushlow and Dwayne O'Brien first performed together in Arlington, Texas, in 1984. Rushlow moved to Nashville, and O'Brien followed a couple years later after finishing his degree. Del Gray and Brady Seals had performed together with Josh Logan, and they all came together in November of 1988. Finally settling on the name Little Texas, the group landed a contract with Warner Bros. in 1989 and toured heavily to help build an audience. Their debut single, "Some Guys Have All the Love," was released in 1991 and quickly hit the Top Ten, as did its follow-up, "First Time for Everything." Finally, the group's debut album, also titled First Time for Everything, was released in 1992. It spawned three further hits in "You and Forever and Me" (their first Top Five single), "What Were You Thinkin'?," and "I'd Rather Miss You." Their 1993 follow-up album, Big Time, was a smash, selling nearly three million copies and spinning off two Top Five country hits in "What Might Have Been" and "God Blessed Texas." The third single, the Seals-sung "My Love," became Little Texas' first number one hit, though all three eventually reached number one on the Nashville Radio and Records chart. Released in 1994, Kick a Little was another platinum success, with two Top Five singles including the title track and "Amy's Back in Austin." In 1994, Seals departed for a solo career and was replaced by multi-instrumentalist Jeff Huskins, formerly of Clint Black's band; in 1995, the band issued Greatest Hits, which featured the newly recorded Top Five single "Life Goes On." Little Texas took a bit of a break in 1996, only playing about 100 shows that year as opposed to the 300-plus dates they'd been doing for years. They also recorded their third album, Little Texas, during this time, but the years of touring had already taken their toll on the band, and in 1997 they decided to go on hiatus. After several years, the bandmembers reunited and recruited vocalist Steven Troy. The newly reassembled group launched the Hello Again tour in 2004. Three years later, Little Texas released The Very Best of Little Texas: Live and Loud, a new live album containing their greatest-hits, and it was soon followed by the brand-new studio effort Missing Years. The band spent the last few years touring but returned in 2015 with Young for a Long Time. ~ Steve Huey & Sean Westergaard
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Little Texas

    '90s Country

    '90s Country
    6 songs

    Southern Rock

    Southern Rock
    1 song

    Classic Country

    Classic Country
    2 songs

Albums by
Little Texas

Top Songs by
Little Texas

  1.   Song
  2.   God Blessed Texas
  3.   What Might Have Been
  4.   Kick a Little
  5.   My Love
  6.   First Time For Everything
  7.   You and Forever and Me
  8.   Life Goes On
  9.   Amy's Back in Austin
  10.   Peaceful Easy Feeling
  11.   A Night I'll Never Remember
  12.   Some Guys Have All the Love
  13.   Country Crazy
  14.   I'd Hold on to Her
  15.   Ain't No Time to Be Afraid
  16.   Living in a Bullseye
  17.   Loud and Proud
  18.   Take This Walk with Me
  19.   Can't Get in a Hurry Here
  20.   Hello Again
  21.   When He's Gone
  22.   Your Woman
  23.   Redneck Like Me
  24.   Hit Country Song
  25.   Inside
  26.   Yesterday's Gone Forever
  27.   All in the Line of Love
  28.   Long Way Down
  29.   Party Life
  30.   Missing Years
  31.   Stop on a Dime
  32.   Gotta Get Me Down Home
  33.   This Hot in Texas
  34.   Kings of This Town
  35.   Rednecks Do Exist
  36.   Why I Brought My Boots
  37.   A Reason
  38.   Medley: You and Forever and Me/I'd Rather Miss You
  39.   Rebel
  40.   Knees
  41.   She's Cool
  42.   Southern Grace
  43.   Help!
  44.   This Time It's Real
  45.   My Town
  46.   Love and Learn
  47.   Only Thing I'm Sure Of
  48.   Forget About Forgetting You
  49.   I'd Rather Miss You
  50.   What Were You Thinkin'
  51.   Yeah Yeah Yeah
  52.   Medley: Some Guys Have All the Love/My Love/First Time for Everything
  53.   Get Back
  54.   Slow Ride Home
  55.   You Gotta Wanna Win
  56.   How Many Chances
  57.   Nothin' You Can Do
  58.   Texas 101
  59.   Your Blues
  60.   So Long
  61.   Your Days Are Numbered
  62.   If I Don't Get Enough of You
  63.   The Call
  64.   Bad for Us
  65.   Cry On
  66.   Better Way
  67.   Down In The Valley
  68.   Dance
  69.   You Ain't Seen Me Lately
  70.   Your Mama Won't Let Me
  71.   Just One More Night
  72.   Party Life - Dance Mix
  73.   Cutoff Jeans
  74.   Young for a Long Time
  75.   Here Comes Santa Claus

Artists Related to Little Texas

Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |