Slacker Logo


Lords of the Underground

Though their name might imply violent gangsta rap, Lords of the Underground match socially conscious raps with hard-hitting beats. Newark, NJ's Doitall and Mr. Funke met Cleveland-native DJ Lord Jazz at Shaw University in North Carolina; since the two were looking for a DJ, they hooked up with Jazz. A friend of Doitall's introduced the group to legendary producer Marley Marl, who invited them to record at his studio with help from K-Def. Before their debut album (Here Come the Lords) even appeared, the Lords placed three hit singles ("Psycho," "Funky Child," "Chief Rocka") on the rap charts. By the end of 1993, the Lords had received an award from BET as best rap group of the year. Keepers of the Funk, released in 1994, failed to keep the momentum going, and there was a five-year wait before third album Resurrection dropped in 1999. ~ John Bush
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Lords of the Underground

    '90s Hip-Hop

    '90s Hip-Hop
    2 songs

Albums by
Lords of the Underground

Top Songs by
Lords of the Underground

  1.   Song
  2.   Chief Rocka
  3.   Funky Child
  4.   Here Come the Lords
  5.   Chief Rocker
  6.   Lord Jazz Hit Me One Time (Make It Funky)
  7.   If You...
  8.   Grave Digga
  9.   Tic Toc
  10.   Belly of the Beast
  11.   Excuse Me
  12.   Haters
  13.   One Day by Da Brat
  14.   Take Dat
  15.   What's Goin' On
  16.   Sleep For Dinner -
  17.   Psycho
  18.   Flow on (New Symphony)
  19.   Intro
  20.   He's a Machine
  21.   What I'm After by Keith Murray
  22.   RadioActivated
  23.   BonFire
  24.   Bumpin Loud
  25.   Like a Drug
  26.   Magic
  27.   All I Ever Wanted
  28.   Neva Faded by Supreme C
  29.   Hennessey: Part II by Sah-B
  30.   Hennessey: Part I
  31.   What is a Mic
  32.   Slick Talk
  33.   Rocka
  34.   What Is a MC
  35.   What Y'all Wanna Know
  36.   Certified
  37.   The Clinic
  38.   No Pass
  39.   Say My Name
  40.   Hum It Out
  41.   Ready or Not
  42.   Keepers of the Funk
  43.   Steam From da Knot
  44.   What I'm After
  45.   Faith
  46.   Neva Faded
  47.   No Pain
  48.   Frustrated
  49.   Yes Y'All
  50.   What U See
  51.   Outro
  52.   From da Bricks
  53.   Keep It Underground
  54.   Check It
  55.   Lord's Prayer
  56.   Madd Skillz
  57.   L.O.T.U.G. (Lords of the Underground)
  58.   Burn Rubber
  59.   Retaliate
  60.   Path of the Righteous Man
  61.   Earth, Wind, & Fire by Joya
  62.   Imposter
  63.   Hennessey, Pt. 1
  64.   Funk for Ya Mama
  65.   Infinite featuring Joe Bananas
  66.   Blow Your Mind
  67.   Nasty Natti
  68.   Hennessey, Pt. 2 by Sah-B
  69.   Exodus
  70.   Faith by Deniece Williams
  71.   Neva Faded by Supreme C
  72.   What I'm After
  73.   Jelly /What I'm After
  74.   Remember Me
  75.   Fab 3
  76.   Yes We're Fresh
  77.   LG'z Up Intro
  78.   To Love Me
  79.   I Love Hip Hop
  80.   English Mami

Artists Related to Lords of the Underground