Slacker Logo


Los Campesinos!

Celebrating a bratty, tongue-in-cheek viewpoint and a spunky indie punk style similar to Art Brut while applying an assortment of instruments akin to Architecture in Helsinki, the seven-piece group Los Campesinos! (a Spanish name that roughly translates to "the Peasants") formed in 2006 in Cardiff, Wales. The lineup took shape around Cardiff University students Aleksandra (keyboard, horn), Ellen (bass), Gareth (glockenspiel), Harriet (violin, keyboard), Neil (guitar), Ollie (drums), and Tom (guitar), all of whom began sharing vocals (as well as the last name of Campesinos!). Los Campesinos! played their first show at a college function in May 2006; by the following August, they had built enough of an audience to secure an opening gig for Broken Social Scene. Later that year, they signed to the U.K.-based label Wichita Recordings, which released the band's first single in early 2007. A North American contract with Arts & Crafts followed several months later, and Los Campesinos! expanded their catalog that summer by issuing recordings on both labels, including a second single from Wichita and an EP from Arts & Crafts titled Sticking Fingers into Sockets. The full-length Hold on Now, Youngster... followed in early 2008. After a long tour that took up much of the year (and included a stop in Seattle to record new songs), Los Campesinos! issued their second album, We Are Beautiful, We Are Doomed, in November. Another round of touring followed, including the band's first performance in South America. By early 2009, though, Los Campesinos! had decamped to Connecticut to record another album, Romance Is Boring, which arrived in early 2010. During the recording of the album, Aleksandra left the band to be replaced later in the year by Gareth's sister Kim. At this time Rob was added to Los Campesinos! as well, adding extra instruments to their live show. The lineup merry-go-round spun again in June of 2010 when drummer Ollie was asked to leave, and the band's merch guy Jason took over. At this time, an EP titled All's Well That Ends, featuring new versions of songs from Romance Is Boring, was released. The revamped band headed to Spain to record its fourth album, again using producer John Goodmanson. Hello Sadness was released in November of 2011. Just one month before it came out, violinist Harriet announced she was leaving the band to resume her studies. Bassist Ellen was the next to split; she left in late 2012 to pursue other avenues. The remaining members of the group went back to work with Goodmanson on their next record. Their fifth record, No Blues, was released by Wichita and Turnstile in late 2013. After laying low for most of 2014, the group returned just in time for the holidays with their EP, A Los Campesinos! Christmas. ~ Kenyon Hopkin
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Los Campesinos!

    New Indie First

    New Indie First
    1 song

    Top Indie

    Top Indie
    1 song

    Indie Rock Mix

    Indie Rock Mix
    1 song

    Indie Party

    Indie Party
    1 song

Albums by
Los Campesinos!

Top Songs by
Los Campesinos!

  1.   Song
  2.   You! Me! Dancing!
  3.   It Started with a Mixx
  4.   Death to Los Campesinos!
  5.   By Your Hand
  6.   I Broke Up in Amarante
  7.   We Are Beautiful, We Are Doomed
  8.   Hello Sadness
  9.   There Are Listed Buildings
  10.   Romance Is Boring
  11.   My Year in Lists
  12.   The Sea Is a Good Place to Think of the Future
  13.   Songs About Your Girlfriend
  14.   Don't Tell Me to Do the Math(s)
  15.   The International Tweexcore Underground
  16.   Straight in at 101
  17.   Heart Swells/Pacific Daylight Time
  18.   Straight In At 101/It's Never Enough
  19.   To Tundra
  20.   Glue Me
  21.   Police Story
  22.   Frontwards
  23.   The Trains Don't Run (It's Christmas Day)
  24.   Let It Spill
  25.   All Your Kayfabe Friends
  26.   The Holly & The Ivy
  27.   Who Fell Asleep In
  28.   Clunk-Rewind-Clunk-Play-Clunk
  29.   Drop It Doe Eyes
  30.   Broken Heartbeats Sound Like Breakbeats
  31.   C Is the Heavenly Option
  32.   Miserabilia
  33.   Lonely This Christmas
  34.   For Flotsam
  35.   We Throw Parties, You Throw Knives
  36.   Little Mouth
  37.   Avocado, Baby
  38.   Life Is a Long Time
  39.   Every Defeat a Divorce (Three Lions)
  40.   In Medias Res
  41.   I Warned You: Do Not Make an Enemy of Me
  42.   You'Ll Need Those Fingers For Crossing
  43.   We Are All Accelerated Readers
  44.   Knee Deep at ATP
  45.   Selling Rope (Swan Dive To Estuary)
  46.   ...And We Exhale and Roll Our Eyes in Unison
  47.   What Death Leaves Behind
  48.   The End Of The Asterisk
  49.   We've Got Your Back
  50.   I Just Sighed. I Just Sighed. Just so You Know
  51.   It'S Never That Easy Though, is It? (Song For the Other Kurt)
  52.   Plan A
  53.   As Lucerne/the Low
  54.   Documented Minor Emotional Breakdown #1
  55.   When Christmas Comes
  56.   Heart Swells/100-1
  57.   Sweet Dreams, Sweet Cheeks
  58.   Allez Les Blues
  59.   Letters From Me To Charlotte (RSVP)
  60.   A Portrait of the Trequartista As a Young Man
  61.   The Time Before the Last Time
  62.   200-102
  63.   A Doe to a Deer
  64.   Baby I Got the Death Rattle
  65.   Light Leaves, Dark Sees, Pt. 2
  66.   The Black Bird, the Dark Slope
  67.   This Is How You Spell "Hahaha, We Destroyed the Hopes and Dreams of a G
  68.   Coda: A Burn Scar in the Shape of the Sooner State
  69.   [Untitled Hidden Track]
  70.   Ways To Make It Through The Wall
  71.   A Heat Rash in the Shape of the Show Me State; Or, Letters from Me to Charlotte
  72.   This Is a Flag. There Is No Wind
  73.   Between An Erupting Earth And An Exploding Sky
  74.   Kindle a Flame in Her Heart
  75.   Hate for the Island
  76.   Cemetery Gaits
  77.   [Untranslated]
  78.   2007, The Year Punk Broke (My Heart)
  79.   Bonus Material
  80.   In Accordance To Natural Law
  81.   The Eyebright Bugler
  82.   Yr Boyfriend
  83.   Death to the Campesinos!
  84.   You'll Need Those Fingers Crossing
  85.   Tour Documentary
  86.   Renato Dall'Ara (2008)
  87.   Sad Suppers
  88.   A Slow, Slow Death
  89.   The Fall of Home