Slacker Logo



Lostprophets frontman Ian Watkins and guitarist Mike Lewis grew up together in the Cardiff satellite town of Pontypridd. They began blending musical genres as members of the band Public Disturbance. Watkins was a drummer at the time, but he moved to vocals when the pair first started experimenting as Lozt Prophetz. Watkins and Lewis flirted with ska and hip-hop at first, then came to an aggressive style of rock that mixed together their longtime love of metal and pop. They also changed the spelling to Lostprophets and added Lee Gaze (guitar), Stuart Richardson (bass), and Mike Chiplin (drums) to the lineup. After Lostprophets' demo was featured in Kerrang! magazine, U.K. independent label Visible Noise offered them an album deal in 2000. That year's The Fake Sound of Progress was recorded over the course of a week for roughly $4,000. Hitting the road to promote the album, the band played support slots with Linea 77, Taproot, Pitchshifter, Linkin Park, and the Deftones, and a huge show at the 2001 Reading Festival helped the fan base grow. Keyboardist Jamie Oliver joined the band to expand its sound, and Sony signed the band in the U.S., releasing a different version of The Fake Sound of Progress in 2001, one that had been remixed and "retooled" by famed producer Michael Barbiero. A North American tour followed. The album's successor, 2004's Start Something, proved that all the gigging had paid off. It debuted at number five on the U.K. charts and reached number 33 on the Billboard Top 200 despite having been leaked early on the Internet. More touring followed, including a sold-out show at the giant Cardiff International Arena and a main-stage performance at the 2004 Reading Festival. In 2005 the bandmembers were considering different producers for their third effort before deciding on Bob Rock, the man responsible for Metallica's self-titled "Black Album." Drummer Chiplin departed so Rock and the band recruited drummer Josh Freese -- who had worked with A Perfect Circle, Rob Zombie, and many others -- for recording sessions. The completed album, Liberation Transmission, was released at the beginning of summer 2006. The Betrayed arrived in 2010, followed by the group's fifth studio album, Weapons, in 2012. ~ David Jeffries
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Last Train Home
  3.   Rooftops (A Liberation Broadcast)
  4.   Shinobi Vs. Dragon Ninja
  5.   Make a Move
  6.   Still Laughing
  7.   What You Do
  8.   Can't Catch Tomorrow (Good Shoes Won't Save You This Time)
  9.   Burn, Burn
  10.   Kobrakai
  11.   Never Know
  12.   Heart on Loan
  13.   For All These Times Son, For All These Times
  14.   Broken Hearts, Torn Up Letters & The Story of a Lonely Girl
  15.   Can't Stop, Gotta Date with Hate
  16.   The New Transmission
  17.   A Town Called Hypocrisy
  18.   Last Summer
  19.   Lucky You
  20.   ...and She Told Me to Leave
  21.   Save Yourself
  22.   If You Don't Stand For Something, You'll Fall For Anything
  23.   Can't Get Enough
  24.   We Bring an Arsenal
  25.   A Little Reminder That I'll Never Forget
  26.   Jesus Walks
  27.   Another Shot
  28.   Bring 'Em Down
  29.   Next Stop, Atro City
  30.   Dirty Little Heart
  31.   A Better Nothing
  32.   Still Falling
  33.   Always All Ways (Apologies, Glances & Messed Up Chances)
  34.   4: Am Forever
  35.   Everybody's Screaming!!!
  36.   Sway
  37.   Start Something
  38.   Goodbye Tonight
  39.   Ode to Summer
  40.   For Sure
  41.   A Thousand Apologies
  42.   The Fake Sound of Progress
  43.   Where We Belong
  44.   The Light That Shines Twice as Bright...
  45.   For He's a Jolly Good Felon
  46.   Dstryr/Dstryr
  47.   A Million Miles
  48.   To Hell We Ride
  49.   Five Is a Four Letter Word
  50.   Weapons
  51.   The Dead
  52.   Somedays
  53.   A Song for Where I'm From
  54.   Every Song
  55.   Streets of Nowhere
  56.   It's Not the End of the World, But I Can See It from Here
  57.   If It Wasn't for Hate, We'd Be Dead by Now
  58.   Darkest Blue
  59.   Distances
  60.   Love
  61.   Heaven for the Weather, Hell for the Company
  62.   Everyday Combat
  63.   We Are Godzilla You Are Japan
  64.   Hello Again
  65.   I Don't Know
  66.   We Still Kill the Old Way
  67.   Directions
  68.   The Lesson, Pt. 1
  69.   The Handsome Life of Swing
  70.   Awkward
  71.   Better Off Dead
  72.   10/10 Vision
  73.   Big Fish
  74.   Big in America
  75.   Consolidation
  76.   Freaks & Outcasts
  77.   Gotta Start Something
  78.   Intro
  79.   Remix City
  80.   Sounds of the Suburbs
  81.   That Difficult Sound Album
  82.   The Future Looks Tense

Artists Related to Lostprophets

Loading Sliders...