Slacker Logo


Major Lazer

A conceptual EDM act based around a fictional character, Major Lazer launched in 2008 as the digital reggae/dancehall project of Diplo, the globetrotting, taste-making DJ/producer whose previous collaborations included work for M.I.A. and Santigold. Recorded at Jamaica's Tuff Gong studios, Major Lazer's debut album, Guns Don't Kill People... Lazers Do, featured producer Switch as a member. Vocal contributions came from noted dancehall stars including Vybz Kartel, Busy Signal, Mr. Vegas, and Turbulence, as well as Santigold, Nina Sky, and rapper Amanda Blank. Much anticipation and online chatter were fueled in part by the novelty video/song "Zumbi," featuring the comedian Andy Milonakis, the frenetic, legitimate lead single "Hold the Line," and a goofy, invented back-story about a renegade Jamaican commando with prosthetic laser arms who was allegedly a Zombie War veteran and vampire-fighting C.I.A. operative (but was demonstrably a rampant Twitter user). The album was released in June of 2009 as a joint venture between Downtown Records and Diplo's Mad Decent label. Lazers Never Die, an EP with two new songs and three remixes, followed in 2010, along with Lazerproof, a collaborative mixtape with the English electropop duo La Roux. In 2012, Snoop Dogg joined Diplo for the digital reggae single "La La La," released under the name Snoop Lion, while Switch announced he was leaving the project. Likewise, hype man Skerrit Bwoy left in order to pursue religion. Diplo carried on with producer Jillionaire, joining the group for Free the Universe, the group's sophomore album. The 2013 release featured Wyclef, Bruno Mars, Vybz Kartel, and Shaggy on its long guest list. Sean Paul and Pharrell Williams joined the party for the 2014 EP Apocalypse Soon, which was also the first Major Lazer release to include Walshy Fire, who had replaced Skerrit Bwoy as the group's live MC. The 2015 album Peace Is the Mission featured the massive hit "Lean On," plus chart-topping guests like Ariana Grande, Ellie Goulding, and 2 Chainz. It was also supported by an animated series that aired on the FXX cable television network. An extended edition of Peace Is the Mission appeared in November of 2015, sporting five bonus songs. In 2016, Major Lazer scored their biggest pop hit yet with "Cold Water" (featuring Justin Bieber and MØ), which topped the charts in over a dozen countries. ~ K. Ross Hoffman
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Major Lazer

    Pop Remixes

    Pop Remixes
    3 songs

    Dance Pop

    Dance Pop
    3 songs

    LGBT Pride

    LGBT Pride
    3 songs

    Top Pop

    Top Pop
    2 songs

    Pop Mix

    2 songs

    Party Hits

    2 songs

    Scratch DJ Academy Mixtape

    1 song

    Kids Pop

    1 song

    Top Dance

    4 songs

    Reggaeton Urbano

    2 songs

    Love Songs

    1 song

    Pop Latino

    1 song

    New Dance First

    1 song

    Teen Pop

    2 songs

    Lite Hits

    2 songs


    1 song

    Electronic Chill

    2 songs

Albums by
Major Lazer

Top Songs by
Major Lazer

  1.   Song
  2.   Lean On featuring DJ Snake
  3.   Bubble Butt featuring Bruno Mars
  4.   Cold Water
  5.   Watch Out for This (Bumaye) featuring Busy Signal
  6.   Powerful
  7.   Light It Up
  8.   Get Free by Amber Coffman
  9.   Pon De Floor
  10.   You're No Good featuring Danielle Haim
  11.   Hold the Line
  12.   Original Don by The Partysquad
  13.   Jah No Partial by Flux Pavilion
  14.   Aerosol Can
  15.   Run Up
  16.   All My Love
  17.   Be Together
  18.   Night Riders
  19.   Roll the Bass
  20.   Boom featuring Kranium
  21.   Come on to Me
  22.   Mary Jane
  23.   Sound of Siren
  24.   Blaze Up the Fire
  25.   Baby
  26.   You're No Good featuring Santigold
  27.   Bruk Out
  28.   Too Original
  29.   Lose Yourself
  30.   When You Hear the Bassline
  31.   Lazer Theme
  32.   Jump Up
  33.   Can't Stop Now
  34.   Keep Cool featuring Shaggy
  35.   Get Free featuring Amber Coffman
  36.   Lost by
  37.   Come On To Me
  38.   Shell It Down
  39.   Bubble Butt featuring 2Chainz
  40.   Anything Goes
  41.   Christmas Trees
  42.   Thunder & Lightning by Gent & Jawns
  43.   Jessica by Ezra Koenig
  44.   Keep It Goin' Louder
  45.   Cash Flow
  46.   What U Like
  47.   Wave by Kali Uchis
  48.   Dale Asi
  49.   Good Enuff
  50.   Sound Bang
  51.   Bubble Butt by Bruno Mars
  52.   Mashup the Dance featuring The Partysquad
  53.   Reach for the Stars by Wyclef Jean
  54.   Jet Blue Jet featuring Biggy
  55.   Zumbie
  56.   Playground featuring Arama
  57.   Sweat featuring Laidback Luke
  58.   Scare Me featuring Peaches
  59.   Anything Goes by Turbulence
  60.   Wind Up by Elephant Man

Artists Related to Major Lazer