Slacker Logo


Major Lazer

A conceptual EDM act based around a fictional character, Major Lazer launched in 2008 as the digital reggae/dancehall project of Diplo, the globetrotting, taste-making DJ/producer whose previous collaborations included work for M.I.A. and Santigold. Recorded at Jamaica's Tuff Gong studios, Major Lazer's debut album, Guns Don't Kill People... Lazers Do, featured producer Switch as a member. Vocal contributions came from noted dancehall stars including Vybz Kartel, Busy Signal, Mr. Vegas, and Turbulence, as well as Santigold, Nina Sky, and rapper Amanda Blank. Much anticipation and online chatter were fueled in part by the novelty video/song "Zumbi," featuring the comedian Andy Milonakis, the frenetic, legitimate lead single "Hold the Line," and a goofy, invented back-story about a renegade Jamaican commando with prosthetic laser arms who was allegedly a Zombie War veteran and vampire-fighting C.I.A. operative (but was demonstrably a rampant Twitter user). The album was released in June of 2009 as a joint venture between Downtown Records and Diplo's Mad Decent label. Lazers Never Die, an EP with two new songs and three remixes, followed in 2010, along with Lazerproof, a collaborative mixtape with the English electropop duo La Roux. In 2012, Snoop Dogg joined Diplo for the digital reggae single "La La La," released under the name Snoop Lion, while Switch announced he was leaving the project. Likewise, hype man Skerrit Bwoy left in order to pursue religion. Diplo carried on with producer Jillionaire, joining the group for Free the Universe, the group's sophomore album. The 2013 release featured Wyclef, Bruno Mars, Vybz Kartel, and Shaggy on its long guest list. Sean Paul and Pharrell Williams joined the party for the 2014 EP Apocalypse Soon, which was also the first Major Lazer release to include Walshy Fire, who had replaced Skerrit Bwoy as the group's live MC. The 2015 album Peace Is the Mission featured the massive hit "Lean On," plus chart-topping guests like Ariana Grande, Ellie Goulding, and 2 Chainz. It was also supported by an animated series that aired on the FXX cable television network. An extended edition of Peace Is the Mission appeared in November of 2015, sporting five bonus songs. In 2016, Major Lazer scored their biggest pop hit yet with "Cold Water" (featuring Justin Bieber and MØ), which topped the charts in over a dozen countries. The first single from their forthcoming 2017 LP, "Cold Water," was followed in late 2016 by "Believer," which featured production by the Dutch duo Showtek. "Run Up," the album's third single, arrived in early 2017 and was a collaboration with Nicki Minaj and PartyNextDoor. The six-song EP Know No Better appeared in June; its title track featured Travis Scott, Camila Cabello, and Quavo. Other guests on the release included Sean Paul, Busy Signal, Konshens, and Jidenna. ~ K. Ross Hoffman
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Major Lazer

    Pop Latino

    Pop Latino
    2 songs

    Pop Remixes

    Pop Remixes
    2 songs

    Dance Pop

    Dance Pop
    2 songs

    Scratch DJ Academy Mixtape

    Scratch DJ Academy Mixtape
    1 song

    Reggaeton Urbano

    4 songs

    Kids Pop

    1 song

    Love Songs

    1 song

    Party Hits

    2 songs

    Top Dance

    2 songs

    Lite Hits

    2 songs

    Teen Pop

    2 songs

    Electronic Chill

    2 songs


    1 song

Albums by
Major Lazer

Top Songs by
Major Lazer

  1.   Song
  2.   Lean On
  3.   Cold Water
  4.   Light It Up
  5.   Get Free by Amber Coffman
  6.   Powerful
  7.   Bubble Butt
  8.   Pon De Floor
  9.   You're No Good featuring Danielle Haim
  10.   Watch Out for This (Bumaye)
  11.   Hold the Line
  12.   Original Don by The Partysquad
  13.   Know No Better by Travis Scott
  14.   Aerosol Can
  15.   All My Love
  16.   Jah No Partial
  17.   Buscando Huellas
  18.   Run Up
  19.   Night Riders
  20.   Jump
  21.   Roll the Bass
  22.   Be Together
  23.   Come on to Me
  24.   Front of the Line
  25.   When You Hear the Bassline
  26.   Sua Cara
  27.   Jet Blue Jet featuring Biggy
  28.   Lost by
  29.   Come on to Me
  30.   Lazer Theme
  31.   Anything Goes by Turbulence
  32.   Lose Yourself
  33.   Shell It Down
  34.   Bubble Butt by Bruno Mars
  35.   You're No Good featuring Santigold
  36.   Bubble Butt featuring 2Chainz
  37.   Baby
  38.   Blaze Up the Fire
  39.   Dale Asi
  40.   Mashup the Dance
  41.   Scare Me featuring Peaches
  42.   Jump Up
  43.   Can't Stop Now
  44.   Bruk Out
  45.   Leg Over by Mr. Eazi
  46.   Get Free featuring Amber Coffman
  47.   Thunder & Lightning by Gent & Jawns
  48.   Boom featuring Kranium
  49.   Too Original
  50.   Sound Bang
  51.   Good Enuff
  52.   Keep It Goin' Louder
  53.   Mary Jane
  54.   Cash Flow
  55.   Sound of Siren featuring Busy Signal
  56.   Sweat featuring Laidback Luke
  57.   Keep Cool featuring Shaggy
  58.   Jessica by Ezra Koenig
  59.   Wind Up by Elephant Man
  60.   Anything Goes
  61.   Christmas Trees
  62.   What U Like
  63.   Reach for the Stars by Wyclef Jean
  64.   Playground featuring Arama
  65.   Zumbie
  66.   Wave by Kali Uchis
  67.   Particula
  68.   Love Life