Slacker Logo



Best known as Puff Daddy's favorite sidekick, Mase secured his place as a Bad Boy label favorite through a series of guest appearances on hit singles by other artists. By the time he issued his debut album, the Bad Boy promotional machine had effectively already made him a star. His flow was slow and relaxed, and his raps often unabashedly simple, which helped make him especially popular with the younger segment of Puff Daddy's pop-rap audience (they could understand him and rap along). Of course, he was never much of a critical favorite for exactly the same reason, but that became a moot point when, just before the release of his second album, he announced his retirement from rap to pursue a career in the ministry. Mase was born Mason Durrell Betha in Jacksonville, FL, on August 27, 1977. His family moved to Harlem when he was five, but at age 13, he was sent back to Florida amid concerns that he was falling in with the wrong crowd. He returned to New York two years later, and began rapping to entertain the other members of his school basketball team. He was a good enough basketball player to win a scholarship to SUNY, but hip-hop soon grew to be more important; under the name Mase Murder, he joined a rap group called Children of the Corn, which disbanded when one of its members died in a car accident. Mase went solo and started making connections around New York's hip-hop club scene. In 1996, he traveled to Atlanta for a music conference, hoping to hook up with Jermaine Dupri; instead, he met Sean "Puffy" Combs, who signed him to Bad Boy after hearing him rap. Mase debuted on Combs' remix of the 112 single "Only You," and quickly became a near-ubiquitous guest rapper on Bad Boy releases and other Combs-related projects. He was a credited featured guest on the Puff Daddy smashes "Can't Nobody Hold Me Down" and "It's All About the Benjamins," handled the first verse of the Notorious B.I.G.'s number one hit "Mo' Money, Mo' Problems," and made prominent appearances on Mariah Carey's "Honey," Brian McKnight's "You Should Be Mine (Don't Waste My Time)," Junior M.A.F.I.A.'s "Young Casanova," and Busta Rhymes' "The Body Rock," among others. By showcasing Mase in such high-profile settings, not to mention spotlighting him in several videos as well, Combs ensured that by the time Mase actually released his own album, every hip-hop fan in America would already know who he was. Thus, when Mase's debut album, Harlem World, appeared in late 1997, it was an instant smash, spending its first two weeks of release on top of the Billboard album charts. It was a star-studded affair, naturally featuring Combs (both rapping and producing) and a galaxy of guests: Busta Rhymes, Jay-Z, DMX, Lil' Kim, Monifah, 112, the L.O.X., Eightball & MJG, Black Rob, and Lil' Cease, not to mention additional production by the Hitmen, Jermaine Dupri, and the Neptunes, among others. Reviews of the record were mixed; some critics praised Mase's unique rapping style, but others were far more harsh (this writer is fairly sure it was Ira Robbins who called Mase "the luckiest no-talent sidekick since Ed McMahon"). Nonetheless, Harlem World was a smash hit, eventually going platinum four times over; its first single, "Feels So Good" (which also appeared on the soundtrack of Money Talks), was a Top Five pop hit, and the follow-up "What You Want" was a fast-selling success as well. In the meantime, Mase's string of guest spots continued unabated, with appearances on Brandy's "Top of the World," Puff Daddy's "Lookin' at Me," Cam'ron's "Horse and Carriage," 112's "Love Me," and the Rugrats soundtrack collaboration with Blackstreet and Mya, "Take Me There." In April 1998, Mase made headlines with his arrest in New York on disorderly conduct charges (he had initially been accused of soliciting a prostitute, which he denied). But the controversy was short-lived, and by year's end Mase had put together his own group of protégés, also dubbed Harlem World, who issued its debut album, The Movement, in early 1999. With Puffy's Bad Boy empire still riding high, Mase's second album, Double Up, looked to be another blockbuster. But shortly after it was completed (and before it was released), Mase stunned close associates and observers alike by announcing his immediate retirement from the music business, calling it incompatible with his new calling to the ministry (he'd experienced a vision of himself leading people into Hell). He refused to promote Double Up with any live performances, although he did give interviews on its behalf. Perhaps it was the lack of promotional support, or perhaps audiences gave up their investment in him, but Double Up made a disappointing chart debut at number 11 upon its summer 1999 release, and only reached gold sales status. Mase worked extensively with inner-city youth, became an in-demand inspirational speaker on the religious circuit, and published a memoir titled Revelations: There's a Light After the Lime. He returned with a new album, Welcome Back, in 2004. ~ Steve Huey
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    '90s Hip-Hop

    '90s Hip-Hop
    4 songs

    '00s Hip-Hop

    '00s Hip-Hop
    1 song

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Feel So Good
  3.   What You Want
  4.   Lookin' at Me
  5.   Welcome Back
  6.   Love U So
  7.   Breathe, Stretch, Shake
  8.   24 Hrs. To Live
  9.   What You Want
  10.   Gat Man
  11.   All I Ever Wanted
  12.   Do You Wanna Get $?
  13.   Niggaz Wanna Act
  14.   Nothing by Eric Bellinger
  15.   Money Comes and Goes
  16.   Jealous Guy
  17.   Jail Visit (Interlude)
  18.   The Player Way
  19.   I Wanna Go
  20.   Blood Is Thicker
  21.   Make Me Cry
  22.   Get Ready
  23.   Watch Your Back (Interlude)
  24.   I Need to Be
  25.   Puff's Intro
  26.   Mixtape Tour Skit
  27.   They Don't Bother Me by 50 Cent
  28.   Kamakazi by 50 Cent
  29.   Harlem Skit
  30.   Sorry Mr Pop Off by G-Unit Radio
  31.   Sorry Pop Off
  32.   Check Cleared
  33.   Do You Remember
  34.   Into What You Say
  35.   The Love You Need
  36.   Gotta Survive
  37.   Keep It On
  38.   Gettin' It
  39.   From Scratch
  40.   You Ain't Smart
  41.   Another Story to Tell
  42.   Do It Again
  43.   F#! * Me, F#! * You
  44.   If You Want to Party
  45.   No Matter What
  46.   Awards Show (Interlude)
  47.   Stay out of My Way by Total
  48.   Intro
  49.   I Really Like It featuring Harlem World
  50.   Crew of the Year by Harlem World
  51.   You Made Me featuring Carl Thomas
  52.   Wanna Hurt Mase?
  53.   Cheat on You featuring Jay Z
  54.   Take What's Yours
  55.   Mad Rapper (Interlude)
  56.   Will They Die 4 You?
  57.   White Girl (Interlude)
  58.   Hater (Interlude)
  59.   Got My Nine
  60.   One Big Fiesta by Harlem World
  61.   Pop off Skit
  62.   Goin' Bck to Atl Interlude
  63.   Throw Back
  64.   From the A Now
  65.   Wasting My Time
  66.   I Owe
  67.   My Harlem Lullaby
  68.   Same N#! *#!
  69.   We Both Frontin' featuring Harlem World
  70.   Meaning of Family featuring Harlem World
  71.   Phone Conversation (Interlude)
  72.   Majesty
  73.   A Change Is Gon' Come featuring Harlem World
  74.   Going' Back to Harlem
  75.   Lets Go
  76.   Wanna Act by Busta Rhymes
  77.   Don't Need Security
  78.   Same Niggas
  79.   10 Years of Hate

Artists Related to Mase


Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |