Slacker Logo



Offering a complex form of metal that combined the sweeping adventurism of math rock, the oddball tempos of experimental jazz, and the stunning brutality of thrash metal, Meshuggah raised the bar for metal bands everywhere upon their debut. The roots of Swedish metal band Meshuggah were planted in 1985; originally named Metallien, the founding lineup included frontman Roger Olofsson, guitarists Peder Gustafsson and Fredrik Thordendal, bassist Janne Wiklund, and drummer Örjan Lundmark. After a few demos made the rounds, Metallien broke up and Thordendal continued the band with a different lineup and a different name. The original lineup of Meshuggah also included vocalist Jens Kidman, guitarist Johan Sjögren, bassist Jörgen Lindmark, and drummer Per Sjögren. A handful of demos followed before Kidman left the group to form a new outfit Calipash, with guitarist Torbjörn Granström, bassist Peter Nordin, and drummer Niclas Lundgren; the surviving members of Meshuggah soon disbanded, and when Granström left Calipash, Thordendal assumed guitar duties in the new band. Kidman and Thordendal then agreed to reclaim the Meshuggah name, and in 1989, the band released a three-song mini-LP. After signing to Nuclear Blast (and swapping Lundgren for new drummer Tomas Haake), they issued the full-length Contradictions Collapse in 1991. Second guitarist Mårten Hagström was recruited for 1993's None EP, followed two years later by Selfcaged; in the interim, however, the group was forced to maintain a low profile -- first Thordendal severed a finger in a carpentry accident, then Haake injured his hand in a mysterious grinder mishap. Destroy Erase Improve appeared later in 1995, and won over critics with its heady tempos and abstract approach. In 1997, Meshuggah returned with The True Human Design EP; that same year, Thordendal's side project, Special Defects, released their LP Sol Niger Within. Meshuggah reunited for 1998's Chaosphere, a thunderous album that was unbearably dense in its songwriting and scope. Several successful tours followed, and their incredible abilities were starting to be recognized by mainstream music magazines, especially those dedicated to particular instruments. Once they left the touring circuit, Meshuggah were surprisingly quiet, cooking up new material for a few years while a rarities disc marked the time. But in the summer of 2002, they released Nothing, a masterpiece of atmosphere that added psychedelic touches to their ever-tightening sound. Unique in almost every way, the album didn't make much of a mainstream impact but had metal fans banging their heads to 7/4 tempos and esoteric lyrics. A good word from Ozzy Osbourne's son Jack scored them a spot on the annual Ozzfest tour, where they flourished on the second stage, often stealing the show with their original and savage math metal. After a brief break, Meshuggah released the I EP in 2004. Composed of a single epic track, the complex arrangements of I were just a hint of what was to follow. Their next album, Catch Thirty-Three, was released the following year and proved to be their most ambitious to date. A remastered re-release of Nothing with a bonus DVD arrived in 2006. The same year, Meshuggah returned to the studio to record the album that would become obZen, their sixth, which was released in March of 2008 in advance of a world tour that began in the United States with the band in the opening slot for Ministry's final jaunt before moving to Europe, Asia, and Australia as a headliner. Their seventh album, Koloss, was issued in 2012 followed by the single and video for "I Am Colossus" and "Pitch Black" b/w "Dancers to a Discordant System (Live)," the following year. The Ophidian Trek, live audio and video packages were released in 2014. In the summer of 2016, the band and Nuclear Blast released 25 Years of Musical Deviance, an anniversary vinyl boxed set limited to 1,000 copies. It was a precursor to the band's new studio offering, The Violent Sleep of Reason, in the fall. ~ Jason Ankeny & Bradley Torreano
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

    Metal Mosh Pit

    Metal Mosh Pit
    10 songs

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Bleed
  3.   Future Breed Machine
  4.   Beneath
  5.   Do Not Look Down
  6.   Obzen
  7.   Dehumanization
  8.   Suffer in Truth
  9.   Glints Collide
  10.   Pineal Gland Optics
  11.   Inside What's Within Behind
  12.   Perpetual Black Second
  13.   Vanished
  14.   Transfixion
  15.   Soul Burn
  16.   Lethargica
  17.   Shed
  18.   Spasm
  19.   Electric Red
  20.   Mind's Mirrors
  21.   Sane
  22.   This Spiteful Snake
  23.   Concatenation
  24.   I Am Colossus
  25.   Demiurge
  26.   I
  27.   Sickening
  28.   Into Decay
  29.   Re-Inanimate
  30.   Rational Gaze
  31.   Humiliative
  32.   Nostrum
  33.   MonstroCity
  34.   Born in Dissonance
  35.   The Last Vigil
  36.   Dancers to a Discordant System
  37.   The Paradoxical Spiral
  38.   Stengah
  39.   Ayahuasca Experience
  40.   War
  41.   Qualms of Reality
  42.   Erroneous Manipulation
  43.   Paralyzing Ignorance
  44.   Sublevels
  45.   Terminal Illusions
  46.   The Mouth Licking What You've Bled
  47.   Neurotica
  48.   Aztec Two-Step
  49.   Ritual
  50.   Ivory Tower
  51.   Clockworks
  52.   Mind's Mirrors/In Death - Is Life/In Death - Is Death
  53.   Swarmer
  54.   Swarm
  55.   Break Those Bones Whose Sinews Gave It Motion
  56.   Marrow
  57.   The Hurt That Finds You First
  58.   Combustion
  59.   Sum
  60.   In Death - Is Death
  61.   Disenchantment
  62.   Autonomy Lost
  63.   Nebulous
  64.   By Emptyness Abducted
  65.   Debt of Nature
  66.   Sovereigns Morbitity
  67.   Internal Evidence
  68.   Gods of Rapture
  69.   Futile Bread Machine
  70.   New Millennium Cyanide Christ
  71.   Corridor of Chameleons
  72.   The Exquisite Machinery of Torture
  73.   Our Rage Won't Die
  74.   Stifled
  75.   By the Ton
  76.   Obsodian
  77.   Behind the Sun
  78.   The Demon's Name Is Surveillance
  79.   Pravus
  80.   Suffer in Thruth
  81.   Personae Non Gratae
  82.   Entrapment
  83.   Imprint of the Un-Saved
  84.   Obsidian
  85.   Straws Pulled at Random
  86.   Closed Eye Visuals
  87.   Don't Speak
  88.   Cadeverous Mastication
  89.   We'll Never See the Day
  90.   Abnegating Cecity
  91.   Elastic
  92.   Acrid Placidity
  93.   Greed
  94.   Violent Sleep of Reason
  95.   Pitch Black
  96.   Choirs of Devastation
  97.   Organic Shadows