Slacker Logo


Minus the Bear

With catchy song titles like "Hey, Wanna Throw Up? Get Me Naked," "Monkey!!! Knife!!! Fight!!!," and "Lemurs, Man, Lemurs," it's hard not to be at least a little bit curious about this Seattle-based quintet. Featuring members of Botch, Kill Sadie, and Sharks Keep Moving, Minus the Bear emerged on Seattle's music scene in 2001 with the release of their six-song EP This Is What I Know About Being Gigantic. The band comprised guitarist Dave Knudson, vocalist/guitarist Jake Snider, drummer Erin Tate, and bassist Cory Murchy. Though the bandmembers entered the studio before they ever played a show, they toured aggressively in support of the EP, then returned to the studio to record 2002's Highly Refined Pirates, their first full-length album. Both the EP and LP were released by Seattle-based Suicide Squeeze Records. Though the song titles may lead one to believe that they're a novelty act, Minus the Bear provide polished, shrewdly arranged songs. Finger-tapped guitar riffs mixed with catchy melodies and unexpected time changes keep listeners interested and entertained. Minus the Bear issued two EPs in 2004: Bands Like It When You Yell "Yar!" at Them on Suicide Squeeze and They Make Beer Commercials Like This on Arena Rock. Their next full-length, the self-produced Menos el Oso (Spanish for Minus the Bear), appeared in August 2005; the remix album Interpretaciones del Oso followed in early 2007. The band released the full-length Planet of Ice later that year. In 2009 the band went into the studio with My Morning Jacket producer Joe Chiccarelli, and the following year released the album Omni through Dangerbird Records. Their fifth album, Infinity Overhead, followed on the label in 2012. Two years later Minus the Bear returned with Lost Loves, a B-sides and rarities collection featuring songs culled from the recording sessions of their previous three studio albums. ~ Laurel Greenidge
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Minus the Bear

    Top Indie

    Top Indie
    2 songs

    Indie Rock Mix

    Indie Rock Mix
    2 songs

    Indie Party

    Indie Party
    2 songs

    New Indie First

    New Indie First
    1 song

Albums by
Minus the Bear

Top Songs by
Minus the Bear

  1.   Song
  2.   Pachuca Sunrise
  3.   Hooray
  4.   Hey! Is That a Ninja Up There?
  5.   Knights
  6.   Last Kiss
  7.   My Time
  8.   Throwin' Shapes
  9.   Fine + Two Pts.
  10.   Invisible
  11.   Drilling
  12.   When We Escape
  13.   Women We Haven't Met Yet
  14.   Absinthe Party at the Fly Honey Warehouse
  15.   Animal Backwards
  16.   Spritz Spritz
  17.   Ice Monster
  18.   Lemurs, Man, Lemurs
  19.   Get Me Naked 2: the Electric Boogaloo
  20.   Let's Play Clowns
  21.   Monkey Knife Fight
  22.   Drilling [P.O. S Redo]
  23.   Michio's Death Drive
  24.   Memphis & 53rd
  25.   Summer Angel
  26.   Steel and Blood
  27.   Just Kickin’ It Like a Wild Donkey
  28.   Into the Mirror
  29.   Dayglow Vista Rd.
  30.   Zeros
  31.   South Side Life
  32.   Fooled by the Night
  33.   Pantsuit...Ugghhh
  34.   Invented Memory
  35.   Cat Calls & Ill Means
  36.   Patiently Waiting
  37.   Electric Rainbow
  38.   Heaven Is a Ghost Town
  39.   Listing
  40.   Toska
  41.   The Thief
  42.   Hold Me Down
  43.   Excuses
  44.   El Torrente [J. Clark Remix]
  45.   Michio's Death Drive [Michio A.K.A. Monostereo Remix]
  46.   Pachuca Sunrise [Alias Remix]
  47.   The Fix [Plan B Remix]
  48.   Burying Luck
  49.   Part 2
  50.   The Game Needed Me
  51.   Fulfill the Dream
  52.   The Fix
  53.   Houston, We Have Uh-Oh
  54.   Drop It Like It's Hot
  55.   Andy Wolff
  56.   I Lost All My Money At The Cock Fights
  57.   Hey, Wanna Throw Up?
  58.   Thanks For The Killer Game Of Criscor Twister
  59.   Broken China
  60.   Intro
  61.   Walk on Air
  62.   Fulfill the Dream [Old Italy Remix Tyondai Braxton]
  63.   This Ain't a Surfin' Movie
  64.   El Torrente
  65.   This and a Surgin' Movie [Iqu 06 Mix]
  66.   Dr. L'Ling
  67.   The Pig War
  68.   The Pig War [O. Hunter Remix]
  69.   The Lucky Ones
  70.   Booyah Achieved
  71.   Cold Company
  72.   Pony Up!
  73.   Potato Juice & Liquid Bread
  74.   Hey Wanna Throw Up? Get Me Naked
  75.   Lonely Gun
  76.   The Game Needed Me [The Oktopus Remix]
  77.   Hooray [Dark Baby Remix]
  78.   Damn Bugs Whacked Him, Johnny
  79.   Your Private Sky
  80.   You Kill Bugs Good, Man
  81.   I'm Totally Not Down with Rob's Alien
  82.   We Are Not A Football Team
  83.   Lies and Eyes
  84.   Untitled
  85.   Surf-N-Turf
  86.   Diamond Lightning
  87.   You're Some Sort of Big, Fat, Smart-Bug, Aren't You?
  88.   Double Vision Quest
  89.   Let's Play Guitar In A Five Guitar Band
  90.   Dog Park
  91.   Lotus
  92.   Secret Country
  93.   Empty Party Rooms
  94.   Memphis + 53rd [Fog Remix]
  95.   White Mystery