Slacker Logo


Minus the Bear

With catchy song titles like "Hey, Wanna Throw Up? Get Me Naked," "Monkey!!! Knife!!! Fight!!!," and "Lemurs, Man, Lemurs," it's hard not to be at least a little bit curious about this Seattle-based quintet. Featuring members of Botch, Kill Sadie, and Sharks Keep Moving, Minus the Bear emerged on Seattle's music scene in 2001 with the release of their six-song EP This Is What I Know About Being Gigantic. The band comprised guitarist Dave Knudson, vocalist/guitarist Jake Snider, drummer Erin Tate, and bassist Cory Murchy. Though the bandmembers entered the studio before they ever played a show, they toured aggressively in support of the EP, then returned to the studio to record 2002's Highly Refined Pirates, their first full-length album. Both the EP and LP were released by Seattle-based Suicide Squeeze Records. Though the song titles may lead one to believe that they're a novelty act, Minus the Bear provide polished, shrewdly arranged songs. Finger-tapped guitar riffs mixed with catchy melodies and unexpected time changes keep listeners interested and entertained. Minus the Bear issued two EPs in 2004: Bands Like It When You Yell "Yar!" at Them on Suicide Squeeze and They Make Beer Commercials Like This on Arena Rock. Their next full-length, the self-produced Menos el Oso (Spanish for Minus the Bear), appeared in August 2005; the remix album Interpretaciones del Oso followed in early 2007. The full-length Planet of Ice arrived later that year. In 2009 the band went into the studio with My Morning Jacket producer Joe Chiccarelli, and the following year released the album Omni through Dangerbird Records. Their fifth album, Infinity Overhead, followed on the label in 2012. Two years later, Minus the Bear returned with Lost Loves, a B-sides and rarities collection featuring songs culled from the recording sessions of their previous three studio albums. Voids, the group's much-anticipated sixth studio album, dropped in 2017. ~ Laurel Greenidge
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring
Minus the Bear

    Top Indie

    Top Indie
    1 song

Albums by
Minus the Bear

Top Songs by
Minus the Bear

  1.   Song
  2.   Pachuca Sunrise
  3.   Hooray
  4.   Hey! Is That a Ninja Up There?
  5.   Knights
  6.   My Time
  7.   Throwin' Shapes
  8.   Fine + Two Pts.
  9.   Drilling
  10.   Invisible
  11.   When We Escape
  12.   Last Kiss
  13.   Women We Haven't Met Yet
  14.   Absinthe Party at the Fly Honey Warehouse
  15.   Animal Backwards
  16.   Spritz Spritz
  17.   Monkey Knife Fight
  18.   Lemurs, Man, Lemurs
  19.   Lighthouse
  20.   Tame Beasts
  21.   Get Me Naked 2: the Electric Boogaloo
  22.   Drilling [P.O. S Redo]
  23.   Ice Monster
  24.   Silver
  25.   Let's Play Clowns
  26.   Summer Angel
  27.   Steel and Blood
  28.   Michio's Death Drive
  29.   Memphis & 53rd
  30.   Empty Party Rooms
  31.   Intro
  32.   Toska
  33.   Memphis + 53rd [Fog Remix]
  34.   This Ain't a Surfin' Movie
  35.   Lies and Eyes
  36.   Just Kickin’ It Like a Wild Donkey
  37.   Booyah Achieved
  38.   South Side Life
  39.   Excuses
  40.   The Game Needed Me
  41.   I'm Totally Not Down with Rob's Alien
  42.   Double Vision Quest
  43.   Listing
  44.   Hey, Wanna Throw Up?
  45.   Fulfill the Dream
  46.   Part 2
  47.   White Mystery
  48.   Cold Company
  49.   Walk on Air
  50.   You Kill Bugs Good, Man
  51.   Broken China
  52.   Fulfill the Dream [Old Italy Remix Tyondai Braxton]
  53.   Hooray [Dark Baby Remix]
  54.   Potato Juice & Liquid Bread