Slacker Logo



Known for their theatrical live show and the black masks that most of their members wear on-stage, Mushroomhead are one of the more unique and adventurous alternative metal outfits that emerged in the 1990s. And the Cleveland band's music is as interesting as its image; Mushroomhead's forceful yet melodic alterna-metal incorporates elements of hip-hop, punk, and goth rock as well as industrial and techno. The members of Mushroomhead have been performing incognito since 1993, when drummer Skinny founded the band. At first, Mushroomhead were only meant to be a side project. Their members were playing in various local bands at the time, and they wore the blacks masks (which look like a cross between S&M/bondage masks and World War I gas masks) so that people wouldn't recognize them. The only Mushroomhead member who doesn't wear a black mask opts for Kiss-like clown makeup instead. After a few years, Mushroomhead became one of Cleveland's top local attractions -- and the bandmembers kept wearing the masks when they saw how intriguing people found them to be. Mushroomhead's self-titled debut album was released independently in 1995, followed by Superbuick in 1996 and M3 in 1999. The Midwesterners signed with Eclipse in 2000, and their next album, XX, came out the following year. In 2001, Mushroomhead's members included drummer/founder Skinny, lead vocalists J-Mann and Jeffrey Nothing, guitarists Bronson and Gravy, keyboardist Shmotz, bassist Pig Benis, and sample provider Stitch when they signed to Universal Records to re-release XX. Their first proper effort for the label was 2003's dynamic XIII, but the band soon parted ways with not only Universal, but also vocalist J-Mann during a subsequent tour. Undeterred, Mushroomhead pressed on with their D.I.Y. ethos intact and welcomed new frontman Waylon, formerly of 3 Quarters Dead, into the fray. The DVD Mushroomhead, Vol. 1 followed in mid-2005 before the guys returned in September 2006 with Savior Sorrow, released through New York-based indie Megaforce Records. Beautiful Stories for Ugly Children, the band's seventh studio album, arrived in 2010, followed in 2014 by The Righteous & the Butterfly. ~ Alex Henderson
Read More Read Less

Stations Featuring

Albums by

Top Songs by

  1.   Song
  2.   Solitaire Unraveling
  3.   Simple Survival
  4.   Come On
  5.   Qwerty
  6.   Out of My Mind
  7.   Bwomp
  8.   Save Us
  9.   Indifferent
  10.   Rumor Has It
  11.   The Feel
  12.   12 Hundred
  13.   43
  14.   [Untitled Hidden Track]
  15.   We Are the Truth
  16.   The New Cult King
  17.   Before I Die
  18.   These Filthy Hands
  19.   Just Pretending
  20.   Xeroxed
  21.   The Need
  22.   Slow Thing
  23.   Worlds Collide
  24.   The Harm You Do
  25.   Burn
  26.   Never Let It Go
  27.   Son of 7
  28.   Our Apologies
  29.   Do I Know You?
  30.   The Fallen
  31.   Too Much Nothing
  32.   This Cold Reign
  33.   I'll Be Here
  34.   Darker Days
  35.   Flattened
  36.   Idle Worship
  37.   Embrace the Ending
  38.   Born of Desire
  39.   The Wrist
  40.   Holes in the Void
  41.   Your Soul Is Mine
  42.   Cut Me
  43.   Mommy
  44.   Childlike
  45.   Devils Be Damned
  46.   Conflict-The Argument Goes On...
  47.   Slaughterhouse Road
  48.   Fear Held Dear
  49.   Big Brother
  50.   Erase the Doubt
  51.   Ego Tripp
  52.   For Your Pleasure
  53.   Portraits of the Poor
  54.   Chancre Sore
  55.   Elevation
  56.   How Many Times
  57.   Everyone's Got One
  58.   Beauteous
  59.   Inevitable
  60.   Your Demise
  61.   Harvest the Garden
  62.   Burn the Bridge
  63.   Damage Done
  64.   Tattoo
  65.   Simpleton
  66.   Casualties in B Minor
  67.   Intermission
  68.   Graveyard du Jour
  69.   Dark and Evil Joe
  70.   2nd Thoughts
  71.   Episode 29
  72.   Snap
  73.   Exploiting Your Weakness
  74.   The Final Act
  75.   Inspiration

Artists Related to Mushroomhead


Loading Sliders...
  1. + -



Casting to |